Re: nVidia GeForce GTX480 in a Z800 (1643 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
dave_paige
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
Message 1 of 6 (2,126 Views)

nVidia GeForce GTX480 in a Z800

I had posted this question in the thread about GTX285 power issues but didn't really see any answer.

 

I'm trying to use a PNY nVidia GeForce GTX480 in an HP Z800. This particular Z800 came with an nVidia Quadro FX 4800 installed which works fine. When I try to replace the FX 4800 with the GTX 480 the Z800 powers on and the beeps 6 times then pauses and repeats 6 beeps. There is no video display and no POST.

 

A call to HP support resulted in being told the GeForce cards are not supported and that they could provide no more help. So I'm asking here if anyone can tell me how to get the GTX 480 to work. I've tried 2 different PNY GTX480s with the same result in both a Z800 and a Z400. Thanks.

 

Dave

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
mortiis06
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-11-2011
Message 2 of 6 (1,951 Views)

Re: nVidia GeForce GTX480 in a Z800

add me to the list..

 

i just bought a secondhand workstation HP Z400. I install battlefield 2142. and even not half an hour, the monitor is blank and there are beep on workstation with siren. and also a blink red light on power button (should be blue in normal condition).

 

nVidia Quadro FX 4800 already installed when I purchase this item.

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
mortiis06
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-11-2011
Message 3 of 6 (1,643 Views)

Re: nVidia GeForce GTX480 in a Z800

i have HP Z400 with nVidia quadro fx3800. can i just replace this card with GTX 480?

 can anyone answer please.

Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
Alex Geroulaitis
Posts: 269
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Message 4 of 6 (1,628 Views)

Re: nVidia GeForce GTX480 in a Z800

When I try to replace the FX 4800 with the GTX 480 the Z800 powers on and the beeps 6 times then pauses and repeats 6 beeps. There is no video display and no POST.

 

6 beeps is a graphics card issue.  I've tested GTX-480 on a Z800 and it works.  Are you using both the 6- and the 8-pin power connectors on the GTX480?

HP VAR, Systems Integrator
(if my post was helpful, please "mark as a solution" or give "kudos" - thanks)
Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
Alex Geroulaitis
Posts: 269
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Message 5 of 6 (1,626 Views)

Re: nVidia GeForce GTX480 in a Z800

 


mortiis06 wrote:

i have HP Z400 with nVidia quadro fx3800. can i just replace this card with GTX 480?


It may work but not recommended: Z400's power supply is a bit too weak to handle GTX 480.

 

HP VAR, Systems Integrator
(if my post was helpful, please "mark as a solution" or give "kudos" - thanks)
Please use plain text.
Regular Visitor
LaurentL
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 6 of 6 (1,342 Views)

Re: nVidia GeForce GTX480 in a Z800

I have to install also a GTX 480 in a Z800, as there is only two 6 pins connectors and no 8 pins connector, how did you solve this, using an adaptor, which one? HP tells me it is not supported and that all...

Thanks

 

Laurent

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation