Re: add AHCI mode on a Z820 (195 Views)
Occasional Visitor
German_Maui
Message 1 of 3 (216 Views)

add AHCI mode on a Z820

Hello,

I bought an  individual configured Z820 1 1/2 years ago from a german reseller. Now I wanted to add an additional SSD to it as a Scratch Disk (I work in the movie business and we have a lot of data that is needed only for a short amount of time; this disk is meant for those data)

After the installation was completed and the system saw the disk I tried different Benchmarktests ( AS Bench, ATTO Bench and Samsung Magician; which also has a Benchmark Option). What really surprised me that 2 out of 3  showed really low write values (only ATTO Bench delieverd high values while reading and writting). I also noted that the AHCI option was turned off. On the internet you can read that AHCI is vital/necessary for SSDs to work properly and so that it lives longer.
I also read that you can turn this option on afterwards (changing a setting in the registry as well as in the BIOS).

Now I wanted to know if this is really necessary and if changing it can cause serious problems with my Z820 (especially with my Raid 1)? I asked some others and those said I should leave it as is but I'm not sure anymore.

I use Win7 prof and my OS is on a SSD (Samsung 830). In addition I have 2 HDDs for my media and projects configured as RAID 1. And for the last 5 days a new SSD (Samsung 840 pro) as mentioned for use as a Scratch Disk.

Thanks for your help.

Please use plain text.
Advisor
SASIKUMARR
Message 2 of 3 (208 Views)

Re: add AHCI mode on a Z820

Just curious - you said you have RAID 1 configured. If your SATA emulation in BIOS is not set to RAID/AHCI, you can't really do hardware RAID.

The registry tweak works for changing from IDE to AHCI, and it surely adds performance. But if your SATA emulation is already in RAID mode, you don't have to change anything.