XW4400 - 1801 microcode error (3280 Views)
Occasional Advisor
Alvaro B.
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-13-2008
Message 26 of 56 (1,255 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Hi again,

The QX6700 arrived and it works ok with no microcode error. It is a standard "Intel in Box" processor. May be a Q6600 with B3 specification would work. QX6700 has this same B3 specification instead of the newer C0 Q6600 processors, one of those gave the error.

As a recommendation, download CoreTemp and the four core temperature. With heat dissipater that came with my original E6600, processor is not properly cooled. I solved this issue changing it by a more serious dissipater desiged for Quad Core cpus. Then you will find a new problem: HP holes for dissipater uses a not standard screw pass. So it is needed to take the motherboard out, crush the 4 metal bases for dissipater and make room to put the dissipater base that comes with any dissipater. Then everything will work ok. Dissipater fan connector is standard, but not the chassis fan. Take this in mind if you decide to change it by a less noisy unit. If chassis fan is not connected you will receive an error similar to 1801 and a stop until F1 is pressed.

I am quite happy now with my Q6700 and Asus Lion Square dissipater. My xw4400 does intensive calculations and all four cores are 100% for hours. Maximum core temperature is 75ºC and chassis fan works at intermediate speed. Quite happy at the moment. Other question I make to myself is why the ECC memory is 667 instead of 800... but this is another story.

Kind regards and good luck to everybody.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Charalampos Ferekidis
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-27-2008
Message 27 of 56 (1,255 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Hi Alvaro,

I have to disappoint everybody thinking of getting a Q6600 with B3 specification and hoping for the microcode error 1801 to disappear - I'm running such a processor for and I press F1 every morning. Only work arroun is to suspend the machine to disk instead of switching it off ... but that may cause other problems.

Sorry guys - to spoil your hopes.

BTW the standard HP-dissipater works fine with the Q6600-B3!
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Alvaro B.
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-13-2008
Message 28 of 56 (1,255 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Hi,

I forgot to explain some details. QX6700 is an Intel Extreme series processor, at 2.6 GHz. First "Kentsfield" processors were B3 specification and newer were G0. G0 allowed Q6600 to be around 5% more efficient in power consumption while in 100% cpu charge, and 3% while in low cpu charge. According to HP documentation, QX6700 is supported but not Q6600, even if you use an older Q6600 B3. It would be interesting to know if anybody checked a Q6600 B3 in xw4400. Anyway, both QX6700 and Q6600 B3 are hard to find because they are obsolete units. I found one QX6700, new, in box, at reduced price and probably it is possible to find them using Internet.

Q6600 G0 and B3 run at 2.4 GHz and G0 unit shows around 6 celsius degrees less temperature than QX6700. In my xw4400, Q6600 G0 usually runs at 2.4 GHz and goes to 1.6 from time to time, but not enough to appreciate it in CoreTemp. In the other side, QX6700 usually runs at 1.6 GHz when the computer is just doing less intensive cpu tasks like hearing music, reading email, text processing, and goes to 2.6 GHz when it is needed for intensive tasks. So, some difference exists between Q6600 and QX6700 because they do exactly the opposite in the same situation.

If you can buy a QX6700 at reasonable price, it will work fine and xw440 will be a fast machine for some more time. Just remember to change the heat dissipater because original 4 heat pipes dissipater is not enough at all for a QX6700 or a Q6600 G0.

Q6600 G0 processors are labeled as "SLACR" on the cpu surface, while B3 are labeled as "SL9UM". QX6700 is B3 and shows the same "SL9UM" on it. CoreTemp information shows cpu revision and you can easily check this information without having to look physically at the cpu connected to your computer.

Regards,
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Alvaro B.
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-13-2008
Message 29 of 56 (1,255 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Hi Charalampos Ferekidis,

May be your Q6600 B3 doesn't need to be at 100% for a long period of time, let's say more than 15 minutes. But if the situation arrives, cpu temperature will go to 80 celsius and the full chassis will be overheated. Now, with the new dissipater, normal QX6700 temperature is 49-49-45-44 (core0 to core3) and 75-75-70-69 after being at 100% for more than 15 minutes. With original dissipater, Q6600 G0 went to 80 degrees. Q6600 G0 dissipates less heat than Q6600 B3 and the difference is bigger if comparing with QX6700.

Thanks for the information about the Q6600 B3 microcode error. So, only a QX6700 is a valid solution.

Regards,
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Jonathan Rosario
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 30 of 56 (1,279 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

This thread has been invaluable. I wish i read it BEFORE i bought the Q6600. Oh well...

So... I have two users with a XW4400 & Q6600. Both Solidworks users. One with Adobe CS3 & 3D Studio Max, and the other with a 3D scanner installed (high RAM usage).

The one with Solidworks & a 3D scanner is having intermittant shut downs, where his computer will automatically restart itself. I'm convinced it's an issue with this incompatibility.

What do you all think?
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Alvaro B.
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-13-2008
Message 31 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Hi Jonathan,

Please download the freeware tool hwmonitor from the cpuid website (http://www.cpuid.com/hwmonitor.php) and check temperature for all four cores. This tool will show actual, minimum and maximum for the period of time you have the program running. It is less intrusive than CoreTemp and doesn't need any driver to be loaded. Check after a normal usage day if maximum temperature arrived to 80 celsius. Also graphic card temperature and hard disks are showed. Once the air in the chassis is hot, all components increase heat and a failure is possible from any of them.

I didn't experience any compatibility problems during the four months I was using the Q6600 before installing the QX6700. Did you upgrade BIOS to 2.04? This upgrade solved an important problem with all Core2 cpus, including the Quads. Other test you can do is install the original cpu and see what happens with shutdowns. All this supposing the OS is in perfect conditions, of course.

Regards,
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Willy Drucker
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 32 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Do the HP techs even monitor this?

Microcode bypass... Please.
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Simon Brook Heather
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
Message 33 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

I have just tried the latest 2.05a BIOS dated 1st October 2008 and this still doesn't support the Q6600. The release notes reference updated microcode for the latest steppings but there is no detail on what these new specific supported steppings are.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Zoplu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 34 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Hello.
I just installed an Intel QX6700 SL9UL on a HP xw4400 with Bios 2.05 Rev a. (october 2008)
It's work without any mistake (no error code)

Ref intel Product : BX80562QX6700SL9UL (box)
Date package : 06/20/07.

HP support says that it's working with every stepping of QX6700.

See you
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Allan Foskett
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-02-2009
Message 35 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

the 2.06 bios doesn't resolve this issue or allow the QX6800 to run with out the error either
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
D A King
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-12-2009
Message 36 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Has anyone tried the 6600 with the 2.06a Bios? I saw that someone tried the 6800, but saw nothing on the 6600.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Hans-Jürgen Ohler
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-18-2010
Message 37 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Hi

just want to upgrade my xw4400
Has anyone had success with qx6800, q6600 or even faster cpu's, as chipset would support them...

i have a chance to get g0 stepped qx6800 for ~100â ¬
i can live with a startup error mnessage, able to get clicked away...but surely nicer without

also i cant find the bios 2.06,maybe someone can send me that file

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Alvaro B.
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-13-2008
Message 38 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Hi,

I just continued with qx6700 2.4GHz. I changed the heat dissipater and installed a big Asus. It required some home-made work to adapt it to the motherboard, but my workstation was out of warranty anyway. It is still working well, better than new if we compare. I replaced the harddisk by WD Caviar Blue (colder than Seagate) and it gives very good performance.

I have all bios (windows based installer) since v2.02. Just leave your email and I can send 2.06 to you.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Alvaro B.
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-13-2008
Message 39 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

I forgot to say that I also use Rightmark CPU Clock v2.35 utility to maintain voltage at 1,2875 at 10x and 1,1625 at 6x. This makes the difference when running all 4 cores at 100% and temperature never exceeds 75ºC, even in summer with room at 30ºC. When cpu speed falls to 6x (1.60 GHz), temperature stands at 40-49ºC depending on the room temperature. I use XP64, but this utility is fully compatible with Vista if you disable User Account Control.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Hans-Jürgen Ohler
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-18-2010
Message 40 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

oh, this would be fine, if you could send the "lost" 2.06 bios to jo (at) pcohler.de

Have you a link to the used heatpipe from your system?

I will give the software a try (win xp)
also out of warranty

Thanks Jo
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Alvaro B.
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-13-2008
Message 41 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

I don't remember the exact model, but it is a 8 pipes dissipater by Asus, a big one. I had to fully dismount the motherboard. Then, hit the hole for the original dissipater and make room for the standard Asus plate. There is no "undo" choice, it is a final decision.
Original dissipater can not maintain cpu under 80C when using all 4 cores at 100% for hours.

I email 2.06 to you. No problem if you need a previous version.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Hans-Jürgen Ohler
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-18-2010
Message 42 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

thanks, looking forward to bios 2.06
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Hans-Jürgen Ohler
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-18-2010
Message 43 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

@Alvaro Could you please send the Bios, recieved my proc today
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Hans-Jürgen Ohler
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-18-2010
Message 44 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

I got my qx6800 today

1st it runs fine, with microcode message at begin
win xp runs smoothley

temp is surely higher with hp cooler
glad that i set idle fan speed from lowest to medium befor ein bios

after i switched to qx6800 i m now not able to get into bios any longer

has anyone suggestions for the "missing" bios menu now (beside switching back to e6700)?

hopefully i get bios 206 and it helps (from readme i found it will help in any way for another problem in my s
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Joel Cressy
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-08-2010
Message 45 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

hey, if that 2.06 bios is for the xw4400, plz send it to me. and, i dont care what i need to do, i just want to either bypass this error, or elimitate it all toghether. i'm sick of having to push F1 ON EVERY BOOT! PLEASE HP.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Raphos
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
Message 46 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

I purchased a CPU upgrade for it last week (Q6600 quad core) and get a 1801 microcode update error on bootup. The bios allows me to continue booting with f1 without issue.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Raphos
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
Message 47 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

If that 2.06 bios resolve the microcode error for the Q6600 why can't we download it in "Download drivers and software" ?!

Why is at this time the "02.05 Rev.a" the last bios update in "Download drivers and software" for the xw4400 ?!

Does the 2.06 bios already exist ?
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Allan Foskett
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-02-2009
Message 48 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

The 2.06a BIOS was originally released as sp42912. It looks like 2.05 was recently released (again?) based on the date on the website.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Hans-Jürgen Ohler
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-18-2010
Message 49 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

the recent 205 is binary same then my old downloaded one

206 is still unavailable...
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Raphos
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
Message 50 of 56 (1,282 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

It's really a shame for HP !
Like it was told in other post, the chipset support the Q6600, Q6700 and that's true http://ark.intel.com/chipset.aspx?familyID=22688

So i concluded that HP don't want to update the bios and just want to sell new computers...
This is a bad politic.
I'm working in two big international society and both are using DELL !!

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation