Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error (4205 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
Semps
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 1 of 56 (4,205 Views)

XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

I Purchased a Xw4400 with a 2.4ghz core-duo processor at the end of last year.

I purchased a CPU upgrade for it last week (Q6600 quad core) and get a 1801 microcode update error on bootup. The bios allows me to continue booting with f1 without issue.

I would like to get this sorted if possible. I have looked at HP's support section and downloaded the latest Bios 2.03a 04/04/07 - which supposedly contains a microcode update) . But when I try to update, the flash utility says it is the same as the current bios (which I cant be as the bios update was released after I purchased the workstation).

All downloads of the bios v02.03a appear to be the previous verison (v02.03 - from 04/04/06)

I have flashed the bios with this file just in case, but it makes no difference to the 1801 error.

Any ideas?
Trusted Contributor
Greg Hughes
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎09-28-2004
Message 2 of 56 (4,205 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Where did you buy the processor?

The BIOS in the 4400 supports only the CPU models / steppings offered by HP. If you purchase a processor elsewhere, the CPU ID may not map to a known processor, and the BIOS will report an error.
Occasional Advisor
Semps
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 3 of 56 (4,205 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Ok Thanks for lett me know. Processor was purchased from our IT supplier. Not from HP.

Thanks for letting me know.

Seems to work ok anyway, just wanted to get rid of the error.

Still dont know why the Bios upgade doesnt work ... strange
Trusted Contributor
Greg Hughes
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎09-28-2004
Message 4 of 56 (4,205 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

The Release date of the BIOS is not the same as the build date. It's possible the BIOS was released to manufacturing before the web release. Compare the version number and not the date.

I would not recommend running a system with the unsupported processor, you may have sytem instability or silent data corruption with your current configuration.
Trusted Contributor
Greg Hughes
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎09-28-2004
Message 5 of 56 (4,208 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Further clarification on the BIOS. 2.03 is the latest BIOS for the xw4400. The date string 04/04/2006 is a typographical error.
Occasional Advisor
Semps
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 6 of 56 (4,208 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Ok. Thanks for letting me know
Occasional Visitor
Balazs Kocsi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-29-2007
Message 7 of 56 (4,208 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Hi Greg,

any ideas when you guys will have a BIOS update to support the Q6600. We would like to upgrade our x4400 workstations as well, we already have the processors.

I have a few other nonhp workstations that have motherboards with 975X chipset, and they all recognize and run the processor just fine. I noticed it is supported the processor on the new x4600 workstation.

Thanks in advance.
Trusted Contributor
Greg Hughes
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎09-28-2004
Message 8 of 56 (4,208 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Here is some information about identifying Quad core processors that are supported in the xw4400. There are no plans for additional xw4400 processor support as it has been replaced by the xw4600 (which supports Q6600, Q6700, and QX6850)

-----------------------
As for the supported quad-core CPU, the xw4400 supports only the B3 step (S-Spec: SL9UM). This is what the customer would have received if he had ordered a quad-core CPU for the xw4400 directly from HP. The G0 step (S-Spec: SLACR) is NOT supported. It's likely this customer has the G0 step, which is why he sees the microcode error message.

How do I verify which CPU step I actually have in this particular case? Look here:

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3066
Occasional Visitor
Glenn Pratt
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-29-2007
Message 9 of 56 (4,208 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

I'm having the same issue. This is a pretty sad state from HP.

I don't buy a workstation expecting to be locked into a certain stepping of a certain processor. I need them to be flexible, but unfortunately, I've seen time and time again HP does the bare minimum to support thier machines, almost doing thier best to prevent upgrades.

It would be one thing if upgrade kits were available at a reasonable cost, but not only are they ridiculously expensive, thier almost never available. And when I ordered these machines in the first place, I would've had to wait nearly a month to get the processor we wanted.

Also, I must stay this web forum makes me question the sanity of IT at HP. Password requirements:

* A minimum of six characters
* A maximum of eight characters
* Only the characters A-Z, a-z, and 0-9
* Include at least one letter and one number

How incredibly dense.
Occasional Visitor
Balazs Kocsi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-29-2007
Message 10 of 56 (4,208 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Thanks Greg, for the info. It's a bummer though. To be honest, I find it hard to accept that the No1 seller of PCs would be abandoning supporting customers just for marketing reasons. Every 975X based motherboard manufacturer I checked have already released BIOS updates for the G0 stepping processors. Sorry, but it's really disappointing.
Occasional Advisor
Semps
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 11 of 56 (4,206 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

No Not good at all is it?

Amplified by the fact that I cant find a B3 stepping Q6600 cpu anywhere!!
Occasional Advisor
Semps
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 12 of 56 (4,206 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Greg, with regard to a Bios update, is there no chance Hp will release an update for the G0 stepping?

Surely if the workstation accepts a Q6600 cpu then surely HP should support all steppings released? As there is now no way for me to upgrade my workstation to a Q6600 as Intel dont make the B3 steppng anymore.
Trusted Contributor
Greg Hughes
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎09-28-2004
Message 13 of 56 (4,206 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

This thread bounced around to reasonably high levels in the workstation organization. I'll attach the official statement. One thing I did not check early enough is that the Quad core processor supported in the xw4400 is the QX6700, not the Q6600. The stepping discussion does not apply to the Q6600.

See the specs at: http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/us/en/sm/WF06a/12454-12454-296719-307907-296721-3211220.html

A key core competency for HP Workstations is quality, stability, and reliability. HP conducts detailed electrical and functional characterization for every CPU/chipset/motherboard combination offered. This characterization is a sizable investment that most HP customers value and require. Practically speaking, it is not possible to deliver this high level of quality for any processor that might fit in a socket and any processor stepping that might be released by Intel/AMD. HP must carefully choose which processors and steppings to support and offer in order to strike the right balance between a robust product offering and high product quality.

For these reasons, HP's policy is to not support/offer processor upgrades of any kind for xw4400. No BIOS upgrades for xw4400 will be released to support the Q6600 (G-stepping or otherwise). I'm sorry if this policy disappoints you, but I hope these comments have helped you understand why HP takes this position.
Occasional Visitor
Glenn Pratt
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-29-2007
Message 14 of 56 (4,206 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

There surely is a G0 stepping Q6700 as well as Q6600.

Honestly, Intel tests these processors and chipsets to an extremely high level. And this is just a microcode revision issue, not some major processor redesign. Companies selling motherboards for less than $100 can afford to support their customers, but HP selling $3000+ workstations wonâ t do it.

This policy removes the benefit of owning a PCs (standardization, flexibility, compatibility). In the future, I will be strongly reconsidering HP purchases for my company.
Occasional Advisor
Semps
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 15 of 56 (4,206 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

I'm looking to change my workstation imminently due to this issue. and to be honest has put me off purchasing another HP workstation.

Unfortunately manufacturers like Hp will only start to understand if we vote with our wallets.

Very disappointed and disillusioned at the moment!
Frequent Advisor
Simon Brook Heather
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
Message 16 of 56 (4,206 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

We would also like to upgrade our xw4400 to use a quad core Q6600 processor or to at least disable the microcode error on bootup. We purchase some Dell Optiplex 745 PCs at the same time and these have been upgraded to the Q6600 without any problems at all. Our business unit always used to buy HP Business Desktop PCs but we have now been told to only purchase Dell PCs. Perhaps HP should reconsider this decision to try and restore their reputation. They used to be very good about upgrading their BIOS to support later steppings and processors.

- Simon.
Occasional Advisor
BrianB_1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-07-2005
Message 17 of 56 (4,206 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Same with my company. We buy HP exclusively and now I informed our IT guys that the 4400's we have been buying for the past 6 months are not upgradeable. They were a bit upset.

Now our sales rep says that HP will be discontinuing the 4400's in favor of the 4600's...which will support Q6600's.

As to HP's statement about picking the 1 specific quad processor(QX6700) for stability reasons...I honestly dont know what to say. The only thing special about that that specific processor is the fact it is not multiplier locked...and costs $1200+. which I would believe to make it less stable...since there are software packages that will allow you to change the clock mulitplier on the fly for unlocked procs.

It is not that hard to add the microcode for quad cores to the existing bios (less than 1 days work for a good developer).

I will keep hitting f1 at boot and get ready for my new dell system that is on order.
Occasional Visitor
chesterh
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-15-2008
Message 18 of 56 (4,206 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

I, too, have fallen into this trap. So far, aside from having to hit F1 during boot, I have seen no negative consequence to continued use of the Q6600.

I'm not knowledgeable enough to speculate on what might happen down the road. It would seem that the MB and Q6600 are at least electrically compatible, as nothing has gone up (or down) in flames.

Since the system does boot, I assume that the BIOS is defaulting to some set of operating parameters that are largely compatible with the Q6600. Is it just not possible to predict the potential downside, or is the BIOS incompatibility already likely to be reducing the system's performance or injecting an instability that will inevitably rear up?

Thanks for any insights...
Occasional Visitor
Charalampos Ferekidis
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-27-2008
Message 19 of 56 (4,206 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Dear XW4400-users,

your comments encouraged me to upgrade to a Q6600 CPU - before doing so I would like to ask if anybody has tried a Q6700 (not QX6700, since this one is support by the XW4400) and what the experience is?

Thank you for sharing your experience with me.

Lampos
Occasional Advisor
Dave Coskrey
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-15-2008
Message 20 of 56 (4,206 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Greg, I understand the stepping issues with the new quad-core processors. My XW4400 is the E6320, and I would like to possibly upgrade to the E6600 or E6700. Do you think I will have any stepping issues to deal with, and if so, can you tell me the steppings I should look for on these CPU's?

Thanks
Occasional Visitor
Willy Drucker
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 21 of 56 (4,205 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

I have encountered the same error. I find it hard to believe that HP wouldn't at least add a bypass option to the microcode error. There's obviously enough of us seeing a need for this highly common CPU.

Are their any updates on this? The Q6600 G0 CPU seems to work 100% fine, but the microcode error is a big problem for remote administration. Again, a bypass is all I ask for.

Will this model be receiving a BIOS update to address this?
Occasional Visitor
Matt Elphick
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 22 of 56 (4,205 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

I purchased an xw4300 two years ago. Reseller sent the wrong processor, but now that I've discovered this, neither HP nor the reseller will replace it. Now can't buy a Pentium 950 D anywhere. How would a "warranty" claim work for someone with the 950 D?. Thought I might buy a Q9700 instead, but after 10 e-mails + 10 phone calls to HP "support" about compatibility, and hours of wasted time I've found this thread. Sounds like I'll be wasting my time trying to fix my "future proof" machine.
Occasional Advisor
Alvaro B.
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-13-2008
Message 23 of 56 (4,205 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

Hi,

My xw4400 is using a Q6600 for some months and it is doing intensive calculation jobs. This means many days at 100% all 4 cores (under XP64). No problems have benn noticed so far.

I updated to BIOS 2.04 but the BIOS notification continued.

Noise is higher because of the 4 cores, of course, and it shouldn't be, because QX6700 Extreme Quad dissipates more heat than Q6600. HP should allow workstation users to move to newer cpu releases to save us issues like power consumption and other advantages. I bought a workstation looking for stability and speed too, but thinking in a machine for 3 years, not to be outdated in some months.

HP Solution: buy a xw4600 to have a Q6600. This is not a solution. (And of course xw4600 users will have the same problem if they want to move to newer 775 socket cpus. Isn't it?)

Nowadays it is possible to buy second hand QX6700 at reasonable prices. I will try to find a QX6700 and have some more speed than with Q6600, but I also will remember this when I decide to buy a new workstation.

Kind regards,

Alvaro
Occasional Visitor
Wang Yan
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 24 of 56 (4,205 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

I have same problem and i read all messages upon.

So, after a new series cpu used by people for about one year, for example q6600, hp say do not support it in xw4400 otherwise you buy xw4600.

If hp do things like this, i will not choice hp when i buy pc, workstation and server.
Occasional Visitor
Willy Drucker
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 25 of 56 (4,205 Views)

Re: XW4400 - 1801 microcode error

HP, when are you going to give us an update to bypass the microcode error!!! The workstation works fine with a Q6600!!! It's my hardware, let ME decide what to do with it.

Please, please, PLEASE. Give us an option to bypass the 1801 microcode error. A simple option in the BIOS, an ignore 1801 error, a continue after 30 seconds of the error... Something...
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.