Does the Z1 support Ivy Bridge CPUs? (561 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
MisterTad
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Message 1 of 6 (561 Views)
Accepted Solution

Does the Z1 support Ivy Bridge CPUs?

I'm moments away from pulling the trigger on a Z1, and have noticed that there's a BIOS update in Oct 2012 with "Support for the latest Intel CPUs", which I assume means Ivy Bridge.

 

I'd like to install a 3770T when it arrives - can anyone confirm if this is supported before I go ahead and order?

HP Pro
JohnL
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎04-25-2011
Message 2 of 6 (532 Views)

Re: Does the Z1 support Ivy Bridge CPUs?

The following Ivy Bridge CPUs are supported with System BIOS v2.10.

 

Intel® Xeon® processor E3 v2 family (Z220/Z1)
1. Intel® Xeon® processor E3-1280v2, Quad-Core, 8 MB cache,3.6 GHz, up to 4.0 GHz with Intel Turbo Boost Technology
2. Intel® Xeon® processor E3-1225v2, Quad-Core, 8 MB cache,3.2 GHz, up to 3.6 GHz with Intel Turbo Boost Technology
3. Intel® Xeon® processor E3-1245v2, Quad-Core, 8 MB cache,3.4 GHz, up to 3.8 GHz with Intel Turbo Boost Technology

 

3rd generation Intel® Core™ processor family
1. Intel® Core™ i5-3470 processor, Quad-Core, 6 MB cache, 3.2GHz, up to 3.6 GHz with Intel Turbo Boost Technology

 

I work for HP but my posts and replies are my own. Please click the "Accept As Solution" button if the answers solve your problem.
Occasional Advisor
MisterTad
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Message 3 of 6 (526 Views)

Re: Does the Z1 support Ivy Bridge CPUs?

Stellar - thanks for your help - a 1245v2 is now winging its way across to me.

Occasional Advisor
svea
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-16-2013
Message 4 of 6 (477 Views)

Re: Does the Z1 support Ivy Bridge CPUs?

I got a E3-1240V2 and it will not boot, will there be a support for that cpu? Thanks

Frequent Advisor
aeneas1
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
Message 5 of 6 (431 Views)

Re: Does the Z1 support Ivy Bridge CPUs?

for hp tech support:

 

why does the z1 only support the three e3 v2 chps mentioned above (and outlined below in red) and not the other e3 v2 chips? if i understand it correctly the z1 mobo has an intel 206 chipset which, according to intel's literature, should support all of the e3 v2 chips as follows:

 

e3v2.jpg

Frequent Advisor
Curtis Olinger
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-19-2010
Message 6 of 6 (308 Views)

Re: Does the Z1 support Ivy Bridge CPUs?

[ Edited ]

I have upgraded my i5 3470 to the 3770k from Tigerdirect, great price too currently, $264.99 fastest option other than 1280v2 which is over twice the price.. One year warranty with this processor, its new oem and was a 5 minute swap, the cpu paste 90 percent was still on the heatsink added a dab of artic 5 for good luck and put it back together. The 3470 was fine but I like having hyperthreading, more cache and alil more freq, since we are somewhat limited on the gpu side of the story.

 

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=7622545

 

 

 

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.