1801 - Microcode Update Error (2867 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
CA1218182
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-30-2004
Message 1 of 9 (2,867 Views)

1801 - Microcode Update Error

I have one D530 with following error:
1801 - Microcode Update Error
Missing or Invalid Processor Microcode…. This error comes on the POST....
However the machine boots fine and works fine after you press F1… the processor (as far as I can tell) is functional….

I tried a Bios upgrade.. According to HP's site… but no doing…. Any other ideas I may try to get rid
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Steven Hauk_1
Posts: 9,770
Registered: ‎10-20-2002
Message 2 of 9 (2,867 Views)

Re: 1801 - Microcode Update Error

Did the BIOS update go onto the computer? Regardless, you might want to try clearing the CMOS.
Please use plain text.
HP Pro
HpBiosGuy
Posts: 1,162
Registered: ‎11-24-2004
Message 3 of 9 (2,867 Views)

Re: 1801 - Microcode Update Error

Hi Swetal,

You need to update your Intel processor microcode patch. This can be updated independently of the system BIOS. The latest microcode update for the d530 786B2:
http://h18007.www1.hp.com/support/files/hpcpqdt/us/download/21270.html

If you use this and still see the POST error message, please go into F10 Setup under System Properties and report the detailed description, including the stepping, of the processor in your system.

Hope this helps,
Scott
Thanks,
HpBiosGuy

I am an HP Employee.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Steven Hauk_1
Posts: 9,770
Registered: ‎10-20-2002
Message 4 of 9 (2,867 Views)

Re: 1801 - Microcode Update Error

Keep in mind the following quoted from the download page:

"This utility should generally be necessary only if the target machine is being serviced or upgraded with a different processor. "
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Arthur_42
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-03-2005
Message 5 of 9 (2,867 Views)

Re: 1801 - Microcode Update Error

Just as an aside, one of my users' machines just started exhibiting this error after the motherboard was replaced for a different problem. Hopefully this thread will get the problem fixed.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
CA1418047
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-29-2006
Message 6 of 9 (2,867 Views)

Re: 1801 - Microcode Update Error

Hi all,

I've just replaced my P4 2.8 non HT CPU to a HT CPU in my D530.

I've upgraded the BIOS to 2.50 and installed the latest micro code but still am getting the 1801 error.

The machine works perfectly if I press F1 to boot. The processor stepping is F25.

Is there a way to ignore these errors (Award BIOSes etc have ignore on failure settings) or is there a microcode update which has F25 in it?


Cheers

Alex.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
John Y
Posts: 8,773
Registered: ‎04-06-2003
Message 7 of 9 (2,867 Views)

Re: 1801 - Microcode Update Error

Lordsnipe, you need to start your own post, Hit .......
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
CA1418047
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-29-2006
Message 8 of 9 (2,867 Views)

Re: 1801 - Microcode Update Error

[ Edited ]

sorry .. i thought I'd save on clutter as it was a related issue. I've created a new thread here:  

 

Broken link removed on 04-04-2014 by Warren_Admin, Enterprise Business Community Manager

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
imran raza qazi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-07-2009
Message 9 of 9 (2,867 Views)

Re: 1801 - Microcode Update Error

[ Edited ]

Hello!The solution to your problem requires the following :
A formatted Floppy Disk and an Internet connection.
First of all launch the google search engine and write your PC model for example:
"Hp Compaq d530 small factor form Desktop Pc"
and then ask google for the latest Microcode Update available for your PC.For most of d530 models the latest Microcode Update is "Version 1.09".Download it and then launch the downloaded setup and install the Latest Microcode update files to any drive.Copy the files extracted by the setup and simply paste them in a new floppy drive.Now reboot your system and set Floppy Drive as your first bootable device.Finally restart your PC,a setup will automatically begin to start,follow the instruction and upgrade your Microcode to Version 1.09.Hope it will solve your problem.For furthur assistance contact me,my Yahoo ID is first2trust@yahoo.com

 

Executable file attachment removed for security reasons on 04-08-2014 by Warren_Admin, Enterprise Business Community Manager

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation