Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue... (2499 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
CTS-Tech1
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-02-2012
Message 1 of 15 (4,091 Views)

t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

We just deployed several t610 Thin Clients with HP LCDs and several of them are having what seems to be video card issues.  After some use (hours or days) the display will have scrolling lines and atrifacts.  If we power cycle or auto-adjust the LCD, the issue remains.  If we power cycle the Thin Client - the issue goes away for a while, then comes back.

 

We have tried switching from VGA to DVI cables - no change.

 

Any ideas?  Are there any video or firmware updates for the t610 yet?

Valued Contributor
vgernyc
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎10-25-2010
Message 2 of 15 (4,063 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

Have you installed updated drivers from AMD.com?   The display drivers are the same for a Windows 7 Radeon HD 6000 series GPU (not sure if you have 32bit WES7 or 64bit WES7).  Do a custom install and only really need display driver and Media Foundation Codecs(for 1080p video playback)

HP Pro
Rong
Posts: 1,447
Registered: ‎10-30-2005
Message 3 of 15 (4,035 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

can you help us elaborate on the monitor models and what OS/image version running on the unit?

Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP
Occasional Visitor
CTS-Tech1
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-02-2012
Message 4 of 15 (4,026 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

These are brand new t610 Flexible Thin Clients (H1Y50AT#ABA), running Windows 7 Embedded 6.1.252.  The LCDs are HP 23" LV2311. 

Occasional Visitor
CTS-Tech1
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-02-2012
Message 5 of 15 (4,006 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...


vgernyc wrote:

Have you installed updated drivers from AMD.com?   The display drivers are the same for a Windows 7 Radeon HD 6000 series GPU (not sure if you have 32bit WES7 or 64bit WES7).  Do a custom install and only really need display driver and Media Foundation Codecs(for 1080p video playback)


I downloaded the drivers from AMD - and they are the same version:  8.910.0.0

Occasional Visitor
Saukmin
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 6 of 15 (3,721 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

Have you solved your issue? We are testing a handful of t610's with ThinPro OS and are having issues with dual monitors freezing up or resizing a VMware View connection at random times. We've updated the system to the latest releses but still experience the issue. (and updating the video driver isn't an option for this OS.)

Occasional Advisor
ECSMOR
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 7 of 15 (3,680 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

we're using t610 thin clients with win7 and wmware view 5.0. We have the screen resizing when we lock the thin clients for more then 5 min ... to resize correctly just push the fullscreen/window button of the vmware view  and it'll resize correctly.

 

According to our vmware expert this is a vmware bug that will be corrected

Occasional Visitor
usmcmem
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 8 of 15 (3,607 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

Good Day everyone,

 

We are testing the HP T610s. We run a full citrix enviroment. However, when users logon to their desktop via the T610, their dual monitors will go from extention to mirror. It will revert back after they reboot. However, when they log back in and work (after a few hours) it will go to mirror again. This is becoming a huge issue. Any ideas??

 

 

Jason Wiggs

 

Occasional Visitor
cburchell
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-29-2013
Message 9 of 15 (3,342 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

We are experiencing the same issue.

 

Brand new t610's - various units connected to variety of different monitors via DVI-VGA adapter. Screens on some of the units show horizontal black artifacts on the screen. Issue persists regardless of video connection type, use of known-good monitor, cables, etc. Issue more than likely has something to do with t610 hardware.

 

Power cycle of t610 seems to be the only way to temporarily resolve the issue.

 

HP? Are you there?

HP Pro
todd_thinclient
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-08-2013
Message 10 of 15 (3,278 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

For anyone working on the issue of the horizontal striping could you please advise the following:

 

Which mode of t610 are you using?

Which OS (Smartzero, ThinPro, WES) and version if possible.

Bios version of the unit.

 

Also please confirm is the issue happenng within your virtual connection or is it happening on the actual thin client desktop itself.

 

Please advise.  thank you.

I work for HP
Occasional Visitor
Tom_Ivone
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-29-2013
Message 11 of 15 (3,173 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

We have the same screen tearing artefacting issue with what seems to be random devices from our 70+ fleet of HP T610 WW Thin Clients

 

A reboot of the Thin Client resolves the issue most times but it does eventually re occur, video drivers have been updated to latest release.

 

Our following ICT test unit was just experiencing the issue

 

HP T610 Thin Client

 

Device Type HP t610 WW Thin Client

Device Version 6.1.7601.252 (English)

BIOS Version K30 v01.07

Device Serial Number CNW2500PP4

OS Type HP WES/XPe

Frequent Advisor
Evans Conforti
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎09-23-2010
Message 12 of 15 (3,071 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

We have also seen this video tearing issue.

Model: t610

Image Version: 6.1.7601.252

 

We are currently looking at this Driver as a solution...

Version: 8.982.8.0

Description: This package provides the HP Add-On (AMD Radeon HD 6320 Series Graphics Driver) for supported Thin Client models that are running the Microsoft Windows Embedded Standard 7 Operating System.

Link: http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12...

Fixes: Addresses issue with certain installed graphic cards displaying black bars in certain resolutions.

HP Pro
Rong
Posts: 1,447
Registered: ‎10-30-2005
Message 13 of 15 (3,022 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

You might want to contact HP Service for a new video driver that may resolve your issue.
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP
Occasional Visitor
ab1984
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-29-2013
Message 14 of 15 (2,566 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

Hi all,

 

Just wanted to know if anyone has found a fix for this issue?

Currently we have deployed 50+ Thin clients and over half of them are experiencing this monitor (Black lines) issue.

We have currently tried the following fixes:

 

updated graphics drivers to v8.982.8

updated bios to v1.16A

tested using DVI/Vga adapter and HP DP port

Installed the latest Windows version

HP has sent replacement units and still the same issue occured.

 

None of these have resolved the issue.

The last we suspect could be incompatible resolutions. We are mainly using 1280x768 and 1280x1024 (Single screen)

 

We have currently escalated this issue to HP.

 

Would be great to have some feedback of any fixes we haven't tried yet.

 

Thanks.

 

HP Pro
Andrew_S
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎08-20-2007
Message 15 of 15 (2,499 Views)

Re: t610 Thin Client Monitor Issue...

Hi,

Please ensure that your WES7 version is V286 as this has an updated video driver know to fix some issues.

 

 

I hope this is of help.

 

Regards

Anderw S.

I work for HP.

*** Click on the KUDOS star on the left to say 'Thanks' ***
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.