WoL floods WAN, HPDM 4.5 SP1 (693 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
J van der Linden
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-29-2006
Message 1 of 9 (693 Views)

WoL floods WAN, HPDM 4.5 SP1

Our freshly installed HPDM 4.5 SP1 floods the WAN. After some initial success waking up devices across the WAN I can see the gateway.exe process send as much as 10 Mbps of traffic to the broadcast address of targeted devices. It seems to occur the first time I target devices on several subnets for a wake-up job. After that any WoL-enabled task floods the network.

 

Is a fix forthcoming for this?

Occasional Advisor
J van der Linden
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-29-2006
Message 2 of 9 (675 Views)

Re: WoL floods WAN, HPDM 4.5 SP1

Still unsure what triggers the flooding; my hypothesis was wrong. Once it happens just restarting the gateway and canceling/deleting the jobs doesn't work. All subsequent tasks flood the network unless you delete the entries in C:\Program Files (x86)\Hewlett-Packard\HP Device Manager\Gateway\.task (assuming default installation folder).

Occasional Advisor
carmeloamato
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 3 of 9 (566 Views)

Re: WoL floods WAN, HPDM 4.5 SP1

we have the same problem

Version is hpdm 4.5 sp3.

For some reason that (we think) depends on the network between server and client the process Gateway.exe starts a loop and flood the network of wol packet.

The only way to stop this is to stop the process in windows task manager.
Log file report

08-02-13 16:00:11, [3852] INFO root <> - .\TaskMgmt\common\wol.cpp@165    generate_broadcast_ip (our ip address)
08-02-13 16:00:11, [3852] INFO root <> - .\TaskMgmt\common\wol.cpp@209    Send wake up package to device: F8:......successfully

 

Now we are investigating on the network because we have other client that work fine.

 

Any idea??

tks

HP Pro
RobertMayer
Posts: 855
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 4 of 9 (553 Views)

Re: WoL floods WAN, HPDM 4.5 SP1

If you want a fix for this issue please raise a Support Ticket via hp.com. If you can wait longer the fix will be integrated in one of the next releases.
------------------------------
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP

*** Click on the KUDOS star on the left to say 'Thanks' ***
Occasional Advisor
carmeloamato
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 5 of 9 (541 Views)

Re: WoL floods WAN, HPDM 4.5 SP1

tks!!

After our investigations on the network I think that we raise a ticket.

Frequent Advisor
Jweinberg
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎06-27-2012
Message 6 of 9 (529 Views)

Re: WoL floods WAN, HPDM 4.5 SP1

We had a VERY similar happening. Make sure your database of thin clients in hpdm doesn't have any that include old subnets...

Occasional Visitor
DerFlorian
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-16-2013
Message 7 of 9 (393 Views)

Re: WoL floods WAN, HPDM 4.5 SP1

Are there any news concerning that problem?

We have the same Issue. Wol in the same subnet works fine, in different subnets it floods our WAN and makes us unreachable...

We run Version 4.5.3610.17677

HP Pro
RobertMayer
Posts: 855
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 8 of 9 (388 Views)

Re: WoL floods WAN, HPDM 4.5 SP1

This issue was fixed in HP DM 4.5 SP-3.
HP DM 4.5 SP-4 is the latest version, you can download the Service Packs from this ftp directly or via hp.com:
ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/hpdm/Software/4.5/

White Papers, User Guides and Release Notes can be found here:
ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/hpdm/Documentation/
------------------------------
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP

*** Click on the KUDOS star on the left to say 'Thanks' ***
Occasional Visitor
DerFlorian
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-16-2013
Message 9 of 9 (384 Views)

Re: WoL floods WAN, HPDM 4.5 SP1

Thank you, SP4 solved the problem.

 

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.