Wake On LAN over Different SubNets with HPDM (6935 Views)
Reply
Frequent Visitor
KITS-Center
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-15-2010
Message 1 of 8 (6,935 Views)

Wake On LAN over Different SubNets with HPDM

Hi everybody,

 

We are trying to Wake Up clients (t5740) on different subnets using HPDM. We get the Warning-Message “The subnet of the device in red color is not the same with its Device Management Gateway”, then we press “Yes” to send the Task anyway, but unfortunately the Client does not wake up.

 

Wake up Clients with HPDM within the same subnet works perfectly.

 

Using another WOL-Tool to wake up Clients on different subnets also works perfectly

(sending WOL-Commands to Broadcast-Address xx.xx.xx.255).

 

IP-Directed Broadcast is enabled on our routers.

 

Is there a way to make this working with HP Device Manager (HPDM) ?

 

Thks for reply

 

Christian Schalcher

HP Pro
RobertMayer
Posts: 855
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 2 of 8 (6,839 Views)

Re: Wake On LAN over Different SubNets with HPDM

Have you enabled port-forwarding between the subnets with the Ports according to the HP DM Release Notes?

Also enable UDP Port 2304.

If you are using a Cisco Switch you should add this line:
"ip forward-protocol udp 2304"

HP DM 4.2 Release:
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=US&swItem=vc-838...
------------------------------
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP

*** Click on the KUDOS star on the left to say 'Thanks' ***
Occasional Visitor
CHRIS_NEWELL41
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-16-2010
Message 3 of 8 (6,742 Views)

Re: Wake On LAN over Different SubNets with HPDM

I was told by someone in HP that this cannot be done. You have to have a Gateway on each subnet.

 

If you have this working without please let me know. We have Wake on Lan working for other things just not HPDM.

 

We have a single HPDM and gateway in out server room, but no thin clients on the server room subnet so pointless.

Advisor
ChrisKubiak
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Message 4 of 8 (6,671 Views)

Re: Wake On LAN over Different SubNets with HPDM

I hope this is not the case, as we have many different facilities many of which have different subnets per floor we would need many many dozens of gateways for that then.

Frequent Visitor
KITS-Center
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-15-2010
Message 5 of 8 (6,650 Views)

Re: Wake On LAN over Different SubNets with HPDM

We have no Ports blocked on our routers.

 

WOL over different subnets still not working with HPDM.

 

In the meantime we use an other tool to wake up the clients, which is of course not a fine solution, as we want to use HPDM for all tasks.

Advisor
ChrisKubiak
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Message 6 of 8 (6,633 Views)

Re: Wake On LAN over Different SubNets with HPDM

Care to share the name of the app you are using?

Advisor
ChrisKubiak
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Message 7 of 8 (6,600 Views)

Re: Wake On LAN over Different SubNets with HPDM

Just a heads up to anyone else looking at this I can confirm there is a 3rd party WOL tool called MC-WOL that will wake up HP ThinClients outside of the host subnet. 

Frequent Visitor
KITS-Center
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-15-2010
Message 8 of 8 (6,582 Views)

Re: Wake On LAN over Different SubNets with HPDM

WOLCMD.EXE is another (freeware) WOL-Tool which is able to wake up devices across subnets.

 

HP should modify HPDM to allow the WOL-Transmission method = "Subnet-directed broadcasts" as an option. 

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.