Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe (7332 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
Jutzi Christoph
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-08-2007
Message 1 of 18 (9,281 Views)
Accepted Solution

T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

I've done a new installation of HPDM 4.3 and am trying to create an image (without PXE) of a T5740e, WES7. After sending the job the client restarts but boots to the OS again. I have successfully updated the agent via HPDM, but no change.

The task log reports (german version):

 

Ausführen von PullImage-Task fehlgeschlagen.

Fehlercode: 14020102, Fehlerdetails: "SwitchOS.cmd ausführen"-Fehler.

Ausführen von common-Task fehlgeschlagen

Fehlercode: 14020102, Fehlerdetails: "SwitchOS.cmd ausführen"-Fehler.

 

I can't find any info on this error or the cmd in question. Any help appreciated!

 

Valued Contributor
Kite Runner
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎03-31-2010
Message 2 of 18 (9,256 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

[ Edited ]

I assume you are using a Germen version of WES7

This below should fix your issue.

Step 1:
Rename the attached file: repack.cmd2 to repack.cmd.
Step 2:
Rename “Server Repository/Tools/Imaging/HPWes7/repack.cmd" to repack.org
Copy the new repack.cmd to "Server Repository/Tools/Imaging/HPWes7/repack.cmd"
Step 3:
Synchronize Server repository with FTP repository.
To do this: open HP DM server console Tools  Repository Management at the top select Tools
On the right (server repository) mark “Imaging”, on the left choose your ftp repository and select also “Imaging”.
Click onto upload and commit
Step 4: do clone/update image.

I think this will be fixed in the next HP DM release.


Kite

If you found this helpfull please KUDOS


Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP
Occasional Contributor
Jutzi Christoph
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-08-2007
Message 3 of 18 (9,234 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

Worked perfectly, thanks!

Occasional Advisor
NickSpierings
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-04-2011
Message 4 of 18 (9,062 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

I have the same issue but a Dutch version of WES7.

 

2011-05-04 08:42:52 Successfully sent task to the Device Management Gateway

2011-05-04 08:42:56 Task has been retrieved by the Agent.

2011-05-04 08:43:15 Fail to execute PullImage task.

2011-05-04 08:43:15 ErrorCode: 14020102, Error Detail: Execute SwitchOS.cmd error.

2011-05-04 08:43:15 Fail to execute common task.

2011-05-04 08:43:15 ErrorCode: 14020102, Error Detail: Execute SwitchOS.cmd error.

 

When using your fix and use the clone image I get the following error.

 

2011-05-04 09:02:38 Successfully sent task to the Device Management Gateway

2011-05-04 09:02:40 Task has been retrieved by the Agent.

2011-05-04 09:17:08 Task has been retrieved by the Agent.

2011-05-04 09:17:59 Fail to execute PullImage task.

2011-05-04 09:17:59 ErrorCode: 14020312, Error Detail: Failed to obtain return code from returned update file from cloning.

2011-05-04 09:17:59 Fail to execute common task.

2011-05-04 09:17:59 ErrorCode: 14020312, Error Detail: Failed to obtain return code from returned update file from cloning.


Sysprep seems to work but the actually cloning process wont start.

Any help would be appreciated.

 

Nick

Advisor
Bento
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-09-2011
Message 5 of 18 (8,238 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

I have the same issue when cloning a Dutch version of WES7 SP1 with HPDM.

 

Any solutions found so far?

Occasional Advisor
RKoek
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Message 6 of 18 (8,235 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

I contacted HP about this issue.  in HPDM 4.3 and 4.4 the Repository\Tools\imaging\Clientkit\initrd file is not correct. Try upgrading to 4.4B. Or maybe just copy the initrd file from the newer hpdm version maybe that will work too.

 

Kind regards,

 

Rogier

Advisor
Bento
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-09-2011
Message 7 of 18 (8,232 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

I'm running 4.4B, the agents a're still 4.2. Does that matter?

HP Pro
RobertMayer
Posts: 850
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 8 of 18 (8,110 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

Yes, the Agent needs to be always up-to-date BEFORE capturing an image.
You should also synchronize the HP Imaging Tool in your Repository.
------------------------------
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP

*** Click on the KUDOS star on the left to say 'Thanks' ***
Occasional Advisor
coll_coll
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 9 of 18 (7,852 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Device Manager 4.4.3610.12785 Fresh Install

t5740e USB flashed latest image (6.1.7601.233)

 

I can pull non-pxe an image but get pxe fails with the 2 x Errorcode 14000052 Unsupported task (PrePXEProcess and PXETask both failed to execute.

 

When the task is sent the target client reboots, but just into windows, not dos, and the tas is then marked as failed.

 

Looking at the DM installation, there is no WES7 directory in HP Device Manager\\Server\Repository\Tools\PXEImagingTool. 

 

There is also NO version information contained in the repack.cmd - but that's only in the Imaging tools, not the PXE imaging tools.

 

NB -The pull image puts the wes7 image into the HPXPe images folder in the FTP repository - ?

 

Questions - What do I need to do to get PXE image get/send working and why is the clone image placing the image in the wrong folder?

 

Thanks

 

Craigl

Frequent Advisor
ufficioced
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-05-2012
Message 10 of 18 (7,616 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

[ Edited ]

Hi coll_coll have you solved this matter? Here still no luck

Occasional Advisor
coll_coll
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 11 of 18 (7,612 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

Hi,

 

I gave up on the PXE imaging and just use clone image. I've had up to 5 clients cloning at a time - this maxed out the network interface on the HP DM server. If you look at my post  in the thread http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Workstations-Thin-Clients/t5740e-ThinState-Capture-Not-Keeping-all-Sett...

you'll see my current process.

 

Best Regards

 

Craig

Frequent Advisor
ufficioced
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-05-2012
Message 12 of 18 (7,554 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

Hi Coll

what exactly u mean with "clone image", have you uploaded the image found on hp site?

Occasional Advisor
coll_coll
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 13 of 18 (7,542 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

Clone Image...

 

I took the latest HP image down from the web and installed onto a thin client (usb).

 

I used HP DM to update the agent version on the thin client.

 

I then modified the client as required (eg task schedule time reset)

 

I then used Template "_Clone Image" to pull the client image onto the FTP server

 

I can then use this image in the "_Update Image" process to write to the thin clients (followed by the settings etc).

 

(NB - You need to copy the image file in the repository manager to the store. This allows you to select the image in the drop down in the "Update Image" process. If you are short of disk space, rename the image file to savedfile.image - create a zero byte file in the ftp area with the correct image file name. Then copy it to the server repository using the repository manager. Now replace the ftp version with the savedfile.image. You'll end up with a zero byte imagefile in the Server repository, but the ~4Gb image version in the FTP repository).

 

BR

 

Craig 

Frequent Advisor
ufficioced
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-05-2012
Message 14 of 18 (7,540 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

 

 

Hi Coll

an thanks for your patience. I sucesfully cloned one tc but when i try to update the image i receive this error

 

2012-01-09 12:18:32 ErrorCode: 14070012, Error Detail: Failed to download BIOS update file.

 

 

 

the problem is....i dont know why it tries to download a bios image and how to upload it on my server

Frequent Advisor
ufficioced
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-05-2012
Message 15 of 18 (7,524 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

think something wrong with ftp....doing a test on a clean server
Frequent Advisor
ufficioced
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-05-2012
Message 16 of 18 (7,521 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

Worked! problem was corrupted FTP repository (missing bios files...)
Occasional Advisor
coll_coll
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 17 of 18 (7,517 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

Neat... :)

 

HPDM seems to be two steps forward, then one back.... 

 

Best Regards

 

Craig

Occasional Visitor
Iwantje
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
Message 18 of 18 (7,332 Views)

Re: T5740e Cloning job in HPDM fails -> switchos.exe

Nice to read all these issues with HPDM. :(

 

Took me a couple of days to get the hang of it, but now im stuck at the same issue as some of u guys. It's kind of a nightmare, because im heading for the deadline before rolling out  700+ T5740e's. 

 

We simply can't PXE image without the famous: 

ErrorCode: 14000052, Error Detail: Unsupported task. 

 

 

-unpack a new TC

-Dump the latest image on the box  6.1.7601.233 Rev. A 30 Nov 2011 (via USB) and let it finish.

-Via HDPM we run a discovery and find 1 TC (because were just testing with 1 box)

-remove the softwarelock and login back as admin (also tried it right from the " user" profile with TC locked. 

-Update the agent from HPDM

 

-run a  _Cloneimage job ==>  Ok

-run a _PXE imaging job ==> 14000052, Error Detail: Unsupported task. (push or pull doesnt matter)

-run a _Update image job ==>  Seems ok, still waiting for the results while typing this. 

 

We really need the PXE imaging Job...  This took us so much time already. 

 

Please Hp, fix this issue...or at least tell us what we are doing wrong. 

 

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.