Admin Access to HP 5570e WES7 (886 Views)
Advisor
dibbstibbs
Message 1 of 6 (886 Views)

Admin Access to HP 5570e WES7

I'm a newbie to the "Thin Client" world and am using an HP5570e Thin Client (WES7 Imaged) in conjunction with HP Device Manager 4.4.3610.13987.  I'm able to clone and send images etc. to my fleet but noticed that once these devices communicate with HPDM, most of the admin settings longer appear when logging in locally with the administrator account. 

An example of this is that I’m trying to access the NIC properties to change from DHCP to static and unable to access the "Change Adapter Settings” and unsure if this is by design since HPDM is meant to take over managing these devices or if I’m doing something wrong?  Most of the control panel options are also missing or hidden and can't seem to figure out why this is happening. 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
HP_TC_EM
Message 2 of 6 (879 Views)

Re: Admin Access to HP 5570e WES7

It sounds like your thin client is logging into the locked-down User account (which is the default behavior).  You'll want to log in as Administrator to have full control over the device locally.

Be sure to check out the quick reference guide at http://bizsupport2.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c03383051/c03383051.pdf to familiarize yourself with thin clients, their features, behaviors, etc. - it's a great reference for those new to thin clients. 

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
DeanC911
Message 3 of 6 (870 Views)