Re: Replace dimm (1525 Views)
Reply
Regular Advisor
Yarok
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
Message 1 of 16 (1,541 Views)
Accepted Solution

Replace dimm

Hello,

Im holding a very old HP-UX machine (B.10.20).
When Im tring to power up it nothing happens and I receive the following indications (on the small screen's machine):

FLT 7830: DIMM
replace DIMM 00

FLT 7891: DIMM
dup entry in PDT

The machine could not up.

Please advice,

Yaron.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Shibin_2
Posts: 711
Registered: ‎11-11-2005
Message 2 of 16 (1,541 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

If you have any contractual support for this machine, contact them and replace the DIMM.
Regards
Shibin
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
Yarok
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
Message 3 of 16 (1,541 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

Well, thats the problem, its expaire.
What is the DIMM?

Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
Yarok
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
Message 4 of 16 (1,541 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

Now, I succeed to bring up the system but only for several min.
I have noticed that a massege regarding lvol1 said that lvol1 is not found...
I will try to reboot the system into a single mode and run fsck.

Meanwhile the machine little screen says:

TST 3000: SYS BD
ROM checksum tst

and the machine confuses to react...

Any advice?
Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 24,784
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 5 of 16 (1,541 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

>I'm holding a very old HP-UX machine (B.10.20).

It helps to know what type of machine since you have a hardware problem.
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
Yarok
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
Message 6 of 16 (1,541 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

This is an HP-UX workstation, visulaize B2000.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Horia Chirculescu
Posts: 829
Registered: ‎07-11-2009
Message 7 of 16 (1,541 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

Hello, Yarok.

From the document:

http://bizsupport2.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/lpv38331/lpv38331.pdf

"The B2000 workstations supports 128
Mbyte, 256 Mbyte and 512 Mbyte DIMM cards."

You should be able to get from any local computer store a compatible memory (should be very cheap, around 5 USD/pcs).

Best regards from Romania,
Horia.
Best regards from Romania,
Horia.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Horia Chirculescu
Posts: 829
Registered: ‎07-11-2009
Message 8 of 16 (1,541 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

... from the same document:

"Minimum memory configuration is 256 MB,
and maximum is 2 GB."

Best regards
Horia.
Best regards from Romania,
Horia.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Horia Chirculescu
Posts: 829
Registered: ‎07-11-2009
Message 9 of 16 (1,541 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

>TST 3000: SYS BD
>ROM checksum tst

Maybe your CMOS battery is dead... The problem is that (according to the document: http://bizsupport2.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/lpv37671/lpv37671.pdf check page 113)

"The battery in the B2000 workstation is contained within the real time clock module"

So the module must be changed entirely.

Best regards
Horia.
Best regards from Romania,
Horia.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Horia Chirculescu
Posts: 829
Registered: ‎07-11-2009
Message 10 of 16 (1,541 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

You can get the module from

http://cgi.ebay.com/HP-A1658-86004-REALTIME-CLOCK-MODULE-KIT-1826-4269-NEW-/320516463734?pt=COMP_EN_...

(US company, ships outside USA)

Best regards
Horia.
Best regards from Romania,
Horia.
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
Yarok
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
Message 11 of 16 (1,525 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

Hello Horia,

Thank you for the information.
I will try both solutions and let you know.

Best regards,

Yaron
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Horia Chirculescu
Posts: 829
Registered: ‎07-11-2009
Message 12 of 16 (1,525 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

.. or ask some other company from your home country:

http://www.sinycomptrade.com

Best regards
Horia.
Best regards from Romania,
Horia.
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
Yarok
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
Message 13 of 16 (1,525 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

Hello,

I tried both option you offered:
1. DIMM cards
2. Clock module

The same status quo.

Any suggestions?

BR,

Yaron
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Robert_Jewell
Posts: 1,214
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 14 of 16 (1,525 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

> I have noticed that a massege regarding lvol1 said that lvol1 is not found...

Does this occur each time you try to boot or do you not get to the console?

-Bob
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Horia Chirculescu
Posts: 829
Registered: ‎07-11-2009
Message 15 of 16 (1,525 Views)

Re: Replace dimm

>TST 3000: SYS BD
>ROM checksum tst

This message reads out as:

"Monarch CPU 0 is testing the boot ROM integrity"

It means that it is something wrong with the boot ROM (?Hardware?).

I searched on the HP's FTP about ROM updates but it seems that this workstation does not have anymore any support files attached.

Maybe someone from HP can help you. Does not hurt to send an email.

Best regards,
Horia.
Best regards from Romania,
Horia.
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
Yarok
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
Message 16 of 16 (1,525 Views)

Re: Replace dimm


> Does this occur each time you try to boot or do you not get to the console?


Some times, I couldn't understand how, the system did come up.
This message (thelvol1 said that lvol1 is not found) comes when the os is up.

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation