Creating a duplicated "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation" using HP-UX B10.20 (554 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Hai_BL
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Message 1 of 6 (554 Views)

Creating a duplicated "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation" using HP-UX B10.20

Hello,

   My computer is HP B2600 Workstation, OS is HP-UX B10.20. I have a "Install tape" , now i want to create a duplicated "install tape". Could anyone help me?

Honored Contributor
Robert_Jewell
Posts: 1,238
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 2 of 6 (542 Views)

Re: Creating a duplicated "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation" using HP-UX B10.20

Your install tape is probably an Ignite backup image.  If you have Ignite installed you can use the command "copy_boot_tape".  There are options to copy from tape drive to tape drive or from tape drive to a file and then from the file to the tape drive.  See the man page.

 

if you are not sure of the contents then it may be an "it depends" answer.  Using 'dd' may be the best choice, but maybe not.

 

Search this forum for "DDS tape to tape copy" and you will see what I mean.

 

-Bob

Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,210
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 3 of 6 (523 Views)

Re: Creating a duplicate "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation using HP-UX B.10.20

>Using 'dd' may be the best choice, but maybe not.

 

I don't think dd(1) will work because you need to copy variable length records and copy the EOF marks, until EOT.

Occasional Visitor
Hai_BL
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Message 4 of 6 (498 Views)

Re: Creating a duplicate "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation using HP-UX B.10.20

Thank for your reply. I've tried with these commands and it's work:

  (insert the install tape into the tape drive)

  dd if=/dev/rmt/0mn of=/var/tmp/f1 bs=2k

  dd if=/dev/rmt/0m of=/var/tmp/f2 bs=10k

(insert blank tape now)

  dd if=/var/tmp/f1 of=/dev/rmt/0mn bs=2k

  dd  if=/var/tmp/f2 of=/dev/rmt/0m bs=10k

Honored Contributor
Robert_Jewell
Posts: 1,238
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 5 of 6 (490 Views)

Re: Creating a duplicate "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation using HP-UX B.10.20

The dd commands worked, but did you confirm that the tape works as you expect?

 

As Dennis points out variable record lengths would not be copied correctly using 'dd', so its worth checking if you have not done so.

 

-Bob

Occasional Visitor
Hai_BL
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Message 6 of 6 (472 Views)

Re: Creating a duplicate "Install Tape" on HP B2600 Workstation using HP-UX B.10.20

Hi.

   It's worked like everything i wanted. Because that tape only has 02 block size: 2k and 10k. So dd command can duplicate everything  with 2k and 10k block.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.