B2600 does not boot (1096 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
mvdkroef
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-25-2009
Message 1 of 6 (1,096 Views)

B2600 does not boot

Hi all,

 

My B2600 no longer boots.

On screen I get

 

HARD Booted.

 

ISL Revision A.00.43 Apr 12, 2000

 

ISL booting hpux

 

Boot

: disk(10/0/15/0.6.0.0.0.0.0;0)/stand/vmunix

10911744 + 2105344 + 1302736 start 0x1ecee8

 

After that nothing.

The front panel LCD shows SHU D000:

 

Does anyone have a clue what this means and what can be done to let this machine boot again?

 

Thanks, Martin

Honored Contributor
V. Nyga
Posts: 4,874
Registered: ‎09-20-2002
Message 2 of 6 (1,088 Views)

Re: B2600 does not boot

Hi,

 

is it the same with the changed RAM?

 

You can try to boot with the previous kernel.

Start the system, then interrupt the normal boot process, give boot command at console prompt and interact with ISL. Then at ISL prompt:
ISL > hpux /stand/vmunix.prev

 

>After that nothing.
>
The front panel LCD shows SHU D000:

 

SHU means shutdown, D000 is from 'Firmware is inititalizing  communication with system controller'

It doesn't belong together - strange.

It should be TST D000 - maybe shutdown just appears after that. Can there be firmware problems?

Was it updated?

 

You could try to disable fastboot for more tests at boot-up.

 

Do you have the manuals?

http://www.openpa.net/systems/hp-visualize_b2000_b2600.html

 

V.

*** Say 'Thanks' with Kudos ***
Occasional Contributor
mvdkroef
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-25-2009
Message 3 of 6 (1,080 Views)

Re: B2600 does not boot

V,

 

Yes it is the same machine. I tried to boot the machine to install the HWE bundle, but then it stopped dead.

I have tried to boot from the HP-UX installation CD with the same result.

Will have a go with the previous kernel and fastboot.

 

I will post the results.

 

Thanks, Martin

Honored Contributor
V. Nyga
Posts: 4,874
Registered: ‎09-20-2002
Message 4 of 6 (1,078 Views)

Re: B2600 does not boot

>I tried to boot the machine to install the HWE bundle
So this happened before you updated? Or after that?
You still have your small RAM inside?

V.
*** Say 'Thanks' with Kudos ***
Occasional Contributor
mvdkroef
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-25-2009
Message 5 of 6 (1,076 Views)

Re: B2600 does not boot

I updated the firmware to 1.4 a couple of months ago, but I am still running 512MB of RAM.

 

Martin

Honored Contributor
V. Nyga
Posts: 4,874
Registered: ‎09-20-2002
Message 6 of 6 (1,074 Views)

Re: B2600 does not boot

>I updated the firmware to 1.4 a couple of months ago

And - did a boot work after the update?
As said it could be a firmware problem.

V.
*** Say 'Thanks' with Kudos ***
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.