Re: B2600 Doesn't boot (2184 Views)
Reply
Honored Contributor
Posts: 1,510
Registered: ‎07-17-2002
Message 1 of 15 (2,251 Views)

B2600 Doesn't boot

Hi,

We have a B2600 system with hp-ux 11i. After a reboot yesterday it is not coming up. From BCH when I try to boot it gives the following error,

"Double bit error discovered in kernel memory "

and it reboots the system. I am not able to boot the system even in single user / maintenance mode. All the DIMMs are inserted properly.

What could be the problem??

Thanks
Karthik
For a list of all the ways technology has failed to improve the quality of life, please press three. - Alice Kahn
HP Pro
Posts: 6,068
Registered: ‎04-06-1997
Message 2 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

you mean "Double bit error discovered in kernel memory " does not strike you as a hardware failure?
I would get yopur memory checked out.
My house is the bank's, my money the wife's, But my opinions belong to me, not HP!
Honored Contributor
Posts: 1,510
Registered: ‎07-17-2002
Message 3 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

Hi Melvyn,

But the from BCH, MA> IN> ME
shows all the installed DIMMs as configured .. and didn't return any error ....!!

Regards,
Karthik
For a list of all the ways technology has failed to improve the quality of life, please press three. - Alice Kahn
Honored Contributor
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎02-18-2002
Message 4 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

Hi Karthik,

Well, haven't seen that error before. Not sure where it would come from either, looks like the OS caught it rather than hardware but I assume it would mean a problem with a memory module, probably the one in the lowest slot as only this one will be active this early in boot I believe.

Apart from replacing the module, I can think of two options:

1) Turn fastboot off to see if the page is caught and deallocated.
2) In the unlikely event of a software (kernel) problem try booting from the previous kernel.

Regards,

James.
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,532
Registered: ‎12-11-2000
Message 5 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

I think that the RAM module is dying and at some
point during which the system recieves a double bit error that raised a system panic.
Fastboot ON minimizes in examining the RAM tests.
Try changing to FASTBOOT OFF.
You should examine your modules

Thanks
Honored Contributor
Posts: 1,510
Registered: ‎07-17-2002
Message 6 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

Hi,

After disabling fast boot I get the following error after the double bit error,

"rebooting the system to let the PDC correct the problem"

Unfortunately, I donot have any backup kernel. Infact it was a newly installed.

I think I should try replacing the Memory module and test it.

Regards,
Karthik
For a list of all the ways technology has failed to improve the quality of life, please press three. - Alice Kahn
Honored Contributor
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎02-18-2002
Message 7 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

Hi Karthik,

That message is normal, the important thing is what happens on the next boot. The memory is checked at the lowest level of the boot, so after turning fastbbot off you would need to reboot for the memory to be checked.

Regards,

James.
Honored Contributor
Posts: 1,510
Registered: ‎07-17-2002
Message 8 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

Hi,

After a reboot also I didn't get any memory errors. Even I tried with different memory module but the problem persists.

Planning to reinstall the OS :-(

Regards,
Karthik
For a list of all the ways technology has failed to improve the quality of life, please press three. - Alice Kahn
Honored Contributor
Posts: 3,296
Registered: ‎03-14-2002
Message 9 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

Hello all,
are you sure that kernel memory can be deconfigured or relocated? I do not think so as soon as it does not happen in this case :o(
In addition, turning fastboot off may cause workstation do not POST at all.
Kartik, if you have some DIMMs in the workstation try moving them around the slots to understand which DIMM is faulty (I guess DIMM in slot 0?). The best solution is to replace faulty memory DIMM. Call HP
Eugeny
Honored Contributor
Posts: 1,246
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 10 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

Have you tried booting into another environment? Even booting the install CD to the install program loads a minimal kernel into memory. I would think that if you can boot an Install or Support CD then the problem is not with hardware. If you still receive the same error while booting off of CD, then obviously there is a hardware issue and probably with memory.

-Bob
Honored Contributor
Posts: 1,674
Registered: ‎08-13-2001
Message 11 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

Hello,

Ok, what is a double-bit parity error?

On newer machines (your B2600 is an example of this), memory content is not relied upon, so it is checked using a powerful (or not so-powerful) check code. It can actually correct single-bit errors (how smart), but not double-bit errors... they are DETECTED but not CORRECTED. So, simply, one of your memory cards detected a double-bit error, couldn't correct it, so out comes the message for you to see.

Please tell us the exact chassis code that is coming up so that we could tell you more (like which memory DIMM is the culprit).

HTH,
Vince
Tape Drives RULE!!!
Honored Contributor
Posts: 1,510
Registered: ‎07-17-2002
Message 12 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

Hi,

After reinstallation of OS With the same memory module the system is working fine .!!

Thanks
Karthik
For a list of all the ways technology has failed to improve the quality of life, please press three. - Alice Kahn
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
Message 13 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

Hi,
We are facing the same problem ans we believe the re-installation of OS would solve this. Kindly advise the procedures for re-installation.

Thanks
Honored Contributor
Posts: 4,874
Registered: ‎09-20-2002
Message 14 of 15 (2,232 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

Hi Balti,

first - you should use your own thread for questions - of course you can insert a link to another thread if that explain your problem.

Re-installation?
Well, insert your os cd and boot from cd.
Or - if you have an ignite backup - boot from ignite (server or tape).

If you have more detailed qusetions please ask (with your own thread) in this forum:
http://forums11.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/familyhome.do?familyId=117

HTH
Volkmar
*** Say 'Thanks' with Kudos ***
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-25-2012
Message 15 of 15 (2,184 Views)

Re: B2600 Doesn't boot

To erase the error message:

 

CO                       enter

SER                     enter

PDT CLEAR        enter

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.