HP Pavilion 6755C Memory (91 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
spliterman
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-30-2006
Message 1 of 6 (91 Views)

HP Pavilion 6755C Memory

I have an old HP that I needed more mem. The stats show it max out at 512, but when I put 2 256 in it will loop on boot and I can not boot into safe mode. I test each mem module by booting each individually and they both work but not when together. any ideas?
Honored Contributor
V. Nyga
Posts: 4,874
Registered: ‎09-20-2002
Message 2 of 6 (91 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion 6755C Memory

Hi,

which mem modules do you have already in,
which one have you bought?

Type, manufakturer, ...?

Volkmar
*** Say 'Thanks' with Kudos ***
Occasional Visitor
spliterman
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-30-2006
Message 3 of 6 (91 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion 6755C Memory

Sorry-- computer model is 8755C.

I bought two mem dimms--don't know about manufacture, but they look like they are different. They are both 256 133MHz. I put them both into another computer and they worked fine so it must be something with this PC. The specs on the site show that they should work on this PC
Honored Contributor
V. Nyga
Posts: 4,874
Registered: ‎09-20-2002
Message 4 of 6 (91 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion 6755C Memory

Hi again,

could it be that it's a pre-2000 HP?
Then the maximum size of a DIMM module (for one socket) is 128 MB.
See:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=bph05592&cc=us&lc=en&dlc=en&product=59776&dlc=en〈=en

Also check your motherboard, does it looks like this:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=bph05883&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=59776〈=en

But your specs says something different ...:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=bph05964&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=59776〈=en

Maybe you have to upgrade BIOS ....

HTH
Volkmar
*** Say 'Thanks' with Kudos ***
Occasional Visitor
spliterman
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-30-2006
Message 5 of 6 (91 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion 6755C Memory

Thanks for your help V.

Yes that looks like the mobo I have.

Funny thing is the BIOS sees both 256 Dimms, but when it boots it loops after the HP splash screen.

If I boot it with 1 256 DIMM in slot 1 it boots fine and windows sees 256NB RAM.

In theory, if the BIOS seems both it should work right?

Also if I boot with 1 256 DIMM and 1 128 DIMM windows sees 384MB installed

Any ideas?
Honored Contributor
V. Nyga
Posts: 4,874
Registered: ‎09-20-2002
Message 6 of 6 (91 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion 6755C Memory

Hi again,

sorry no really an idea - I'm no pc guru - maybe this two modules don't like each other.

Only try would be to get exact the same module of one of these modules again.

Also here:
http://www.memorystock.com/memory/HewlettPackardPavilion8755C.html
they say you can use 256MB, but it's only PC100's.

Also a tipp:
http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/bizsupport/questionanswer.do?threadId=62654
Maybe not every module works, but either of this 256MB modules works for you?

Maybe you can ask here:
http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/bizsupport/categoryhome.do?categoryId=405

HTH
Volkmar
*** Say 'Thanks' with Kudos ***
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.