Way to Abstract Particular File(s) Used in Application Testing? (205 Views)
Occasional Contributor
F Bueller
Message 1 of 3 (205 Views)

Way to Abstract Particular File(s) Used in Application Testing?

I have started testing a new application which allows users to select one or more PDF files(up to a max size of 1 MB) and upload them to a server for processing.  I have recorded the upload of particular PDF files to use. 

I want to find out if there is a way to abstract the details of the particular file(s) recorded and rather have WebInspect target any number of files available in a specific location/directory.  Is it possible to parameterize a WebInspect test similar to the way LoadRunner scripts can be abstracted.

I am new to WebInspect and appreciate the help in advance.

Occasional Visitor
kathrynbottrell
Message 2 of 3 (111 Views)

Re: Way to Abstract Particular File(s) Used in Application Testing?

Hello, I am representing a abstract management company which helps you to abstract files.  You can use One World Presentation Management Ltd. abstract management sytem or software. Although not sute with your mentioned app.

Respected Contributor
HansEnders
Message 3 of 3 (106 Views)

Re: Way to Abstract Particular File(s) Used in Application Testing?

I'm not sure you would want to do this with WebInspect.  By default, WebInspect avoids downloading most static office files, as you can find under the Default Scan Settings (Edit menu > Default Scan Settings > Session Exclusions panel).  Specific MIME types and file extensions are avoided, because WebInspect is not a virus or malware scanner and would just bloat the security scan with those file downloads.  The Sessions exclusions settings dove-tail with the Session Storage settings, so review those as well.