Re: Level of Intrusiveness caused by Scans (535 Views)
Frequent Advisor
AutoDan
Message 1 of 6 (627 Views)
Accepted Solution

Level of Intrusiveness caused by Scans

Hi,

Im quite new to Web Inspect and AMP, and was hoping somebody could help me with the following queries.

My team has been conducting scans in our test and preprod environment using a customised scan policy, which I believed is based on the default OWASP Top 10 Template (created before is started with the team).

By default we always use the "Crawl and Audit" option and all our scans have the option "Auto fill web forms during crawl" selected (using the default values).

What I would like to know is, that given the above settings, what level of intrusiveness/footprint will be left on the servers and databases of the applications we scan. For instance, given the above settings, will our scans create records in the database and potentially falsify test-data used for manual testing? What other potential problems could be introduced to the applications/servers we are conducting these scans on?

Also is there a way to determine the level of intrusiveness associated with a scan template? i.e. which scan templates will generate database transactions etc.

Many thanks,

Dan

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Atman_1
Message 2 of 6 (604 Views)

Re: Level of Intrusiveness caused by Scans

Hello Dan,

Here are the answers to your questions.

1) will our scans create records in the database and potentially falsify test-data used for manual testing??

- Yes possibly depends on your custom policy if it includes the SQL injection checks then it attempts to write it to the database. You just need to run the scan with your custom policy and see what it does.

2)  What other potential problems could be introduced to the applications/servers we are conducting these scans on?

-   Depends on your site. E.G.. If your site has an upload file page then WI will attempt to upload files.