Re: How could I share devices between vlans on HP v1905? (192 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
GaryMK
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-03-2013
Message 1 of 5 (244 Views)

How could I share devices between vlans on HP v1905?

[ Edited ]

What I'm trying to do is, setting up two seperate vlans, and make them both accessible to some port. The only step I could achieve is create two vlans, untag the ports and seperate them. Couldn't figure out how to make ports visible to all of them. Tagged ports seems wouldn't communicate at all...

 

 

P.S. This thread has been moved from Switches, Hubs, Modems (Legacy ITRC forum) to Web and Unmanaged.
-HP Forum Moderator

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Vince_Whirlwind
Posts: 401
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 2 of 5 (210 Views)

Re: How could I share devices between vlans on HP v1905?

You can use your switch to create VLANs and assign VLANs to ports.

 

A port can be in one (and only one) VLAN untagged.

A port can be in one or more VLANs tagged.

 

If you want multiple VLANs on a switchport, you can have one of them untagged, any additional VLANs have to be tagged.

Whatever remote switchport you patch that port to has to be configured the same.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
GaryMK
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-03-2013
Message 3 of 5 (204 Views)

Re: How could I share devices between vlans on HP v1905?

Thanks Vince, I guess all I need now is two routers with multi vlan function.

This is what I'm going to do, anyone please help me to check for feasibility :

 

First, configuration on HP v1915 switch:

vlan 10 - 192.168.10.x

port 3-8 untag, port 1 tagged

vlan 20 - 192.168.20.x

port 9-16 untag, port 2 tagged

vlan 30 - 192.168.30.x

port 17-24 untag, port 1-2 tagged

 

Then the router:

Router A:

vlan 10 - 192.168.10.x

vlan 30 - 192.168.30.x

connected from router lan port to switch port 1

 

Router B:

vlan 20 - 192.168.20.x

vlan 30 - 192.168.30.x

connected from router lan port to switch port 2

 

The result would be: both vlan 10 and vlan 20 could reach vlan 30, but seperate local network and internet from each other.

 

Can this work?

 

 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Vince_Whirlwind
Posts: 401
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 4 of 5 (199 Views)

Re: How could I share devices between vlans on HP v1905?

As the 1905 is a layer-2 switch, you need to get rid of the IP addresses in your plan as they might mislead you in terms of your Layer3 design.

 

What you have is

Router A is the default gateway for Subnet 10

Router B is the default GW for Subnet 20

 

What is the default GW for Subnet 30? You can't have two.

 

If, for example, Subnet 30 is homed on Router A, then you could have VLAN 99 which is a point-to-point VLAN connecting the two routers. Each router than has a static route for the subnet(s) it doesn't host, pointing at the other router's VLAN 99 interface.

 

Routers tend to support VLANs through the use of sub-interfaces on the connected physical interface as opposed to VLAN interfaces.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
GaryMK
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-03-2013
Message 5 of 5 (192 Views)

Re: How could I share devices between vlans on HP v1905?

Actually I'm aware of the multi gateway problem too. I'm thinking maybe I could do setup on the device of vlan30, force them to use Router A as gateway.

Hoping it won't cause any confliction, as we are actually a small company, I don't want to make the network structure far more complicated than this....

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation