Adding disc (191 Views)
Advisor
farhi
Message 1 of 4 (191 Views)
Accepted Solution

Adding disc

I am new in the world of MPE/IX and without experiment, and I must install a second disc of address scsi 2 in a server MPE/ix Ver.5.55. Somebody could help me how I must make, step by step the procedure of installation and configuration, on the one hand to add it like a volume groups independent and on the other hand like member of the same group.
tnks
Hold to forgiveness; command what is right; but turn away from the ignorant.
Advisor
Marco Suerig
Message 2 of 4 (191 Views)

Re: Adding disc

I assume that the new disk is already in the system with SCSi ID 2. You can find the Hardware Path and Type of disk at ISL> with ODE run mapper. Therefore I will only deal with the MPE part of configuring it. If you need more information please reply.

Preparation: You need the hardware path where the disk is added and the type of the disk drive. You need a free logical device (ldev) number for your new disk. By typing dstat all you see all existing disks in your system with ldev numbers and disk IDs.
Then you should have a look with print iodfault.pub.sys what kind of ID belongs to your disk drive. If you can not find the right ID then the disk is not supported on the OS version you use. Pay attention: The disk ID in dstat all is not always identical with the one from iodfault. You need to use the one from iodfault.

You need to logon with hello manager.sys for the config.
type sysgen
At sysgen> prompt first save the config you have for desaster recovery with: keep CYA (CYA is the file name).
type io
at io> prompt:
I assume for my example an existing path 56/40, SCSI ID 2, disk ID=HPC2490WD, ldev 3, type:
AP 56/40.2 ID=PSEUDO
AD 2 56/40.2.0 ID=HPC2490WD
Then you can verify if you successfully added the disk: type at io prompt: ld 3
Now keep your changes with:
io> ho
io> e
sysgen> ke
Yes
Result should be: Configuration files successfuly saved.
sysgen> e