Re: rename VPARS on Superdome 2 (447 Views)
Reply
Super Advisor
Mousa55
Posts: 663
Registered: ‎05-20-2007
Message 1 of 6 (497 Views)
Accepted Solution

rename VPARS on Superdome 2

[ Edited ]

Hi All,

 

i have superdome 2 with 2 npar and 3 vpar's for each npar. as following

 

Partitions available:

        Partition   Partition
        Number      Name
        ---------   ---------
        1           SD2-1
        1:1         SD2-1:vpar1
        1:2         SD2-1:vpar2
        1:3         SD2-1:vpar3
        2           SD2-2
        2:1         SD2-2:vpar1
        2:2         SD2-2:vpar2
        2:3         SD2-2:vpar3
        Q)  Quit

 

i want to rename the all vpar name to other name, how i can do this without effect on the system ?.

 

and other question how to use the virtual CD on all VPAR, where the Active iLO is assigned to the VPAR3

 

how to assigne the active iLO to other VPAR to use the virtual CD on it ?

 

Thanks So much

 

 

P.S. This thread has been moved from System Administration to HP-UX > virtualization - Hp Forum Moderator

Honored Contributor
Aneesh Mohan
Posts: 804
Registered: ‎07-02-2007
Message 2 of 6 (492 Views)

Re: rename VPARS on Superdome 2

Hi,

 

Renaming Vpar can be done online from OA CLI

 

OA> vparmodify -p vpar_id -N npar_id    - P new_vpname        
  

 

Regards,

Aneesh

Super Advisor
Mousa55
Posts: 663
Registered: ‎05-20-2007
Message 3 of 6 (474 Views)

Re: rename VPARS on Superdome 2

Hi,

when itry this command i facing this error

vparmodify -p 2:1 -N 2 -P SMH001
vparmodify: Error: Multiple partition formats specified.

Thanks
Super Advisor
Mousa55
Posts: 663
Registered: ‎05-20-2007
Message 4 of 6 (470 Views)

Re: rename VPARS on Superdome 2

Hi,

 

Thanks it's working now

 

Thanks

Honored Contributor
Aneesh Mohan
Posts: 804
Registered: ‎07-02-2007
Message 5 of 6 (461 Views)

Re: rename VPARS on Superdome 2

kudus ??

Super Advisor
Mousa55
Posts: 663
Registered: ‎05-20-2007
Message 6 of 6 (447 Views)

Re: rename VPARS on Superdome 2

Hi,

 

Sure don't worry, but my second quetion please

 

how to use the virtual CD on all VPAR, where the Active iLO is assigned to the VPAR3

 

how to assigne the active iLO to other VPAR to use the virtual CD on it ?

 

Thnaks

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.