QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser (14305 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
prasadk007
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-21-2008
Message 1 of 35 (14,305 Views)

QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Hi,

I have a website to be automated. I am facing a quite different problem while automating it. Objects in the webpage are not identified by QTP occasionally. Sometimes it is able to identify and sometimes not. Unable to figure out the behavior of QTP. When I spy on any object of the Page using Object Spy, it behaves same like sometimes identifies and sometimes not.

Let me know if you have any thought on this.

Thanks,
Prasad
Honored Contributor
shiv_p
Posts: 2,860
Registered: ‎04-23-2008
Message 2 of 35 (14,300 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Hi Prasad,

What is the browser you are using to record using QTP..?? Version..??

Open QTP first and then QTP.

Warm Regards,
Shivaram
Occasional Visitor
prasadk007
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-21-2008
Message 3 of 35 (14,383 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Hi,
I am using QTP 9.5 with I.E 6.

Thanks
Prasad
Advisor
Naag
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-05-2008
Message 4 of 35 (14,383 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Hi,

You need to add necessary Sync statements to ur test.(wait or waitproperty)
I think in ur case the object properties are getting changed dynamically.
My sugesstion is to use Creation time(ordinal identifier) only for browser objects.

Regds
Naag
Honored Contributor
Cody Marcel
Posts: 1,039
Registered: ‎02-27-2008
Message 5 of 35 (14,383 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Are you saying that sometimes when you spy on an object its not recognized? If so, what does the the spy show you at that point?

Some tips to prevent this...
--make sure web addin is loaded
--Always make sure QTP and the test are open BEFORE the web browser.
--if the above are true, you may need to reinstall QTP. It could be corrupt.

--Run code in debug mode(i.e. using F10 and F11 to step over the code). If the problem is fixed, you have a sync issue.
Occasional Advisor
Bharadwaja
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-25-2008
Message 6 of 35 (14,383 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Hi Prasad,

Dose the Applications uses any AJAX Components?

If So You Need To Install WebExtensibility Add-In.

QTP 9.2 and below versions do not have any special support for this.

QTP 9.5 will come with this Add In.

You Can install it from imstallation DVD.






Occasional Visitor
prasadk007
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-21-2008
Message 7 of 35 (14,383 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Hi All,

I have tried with all possible options inclusing Loading Web/Ajax extensibility add-in. Still I am getting this problem. As I told , this is not happening all the time, sometimes it executes properly and some times not.
When I Spy on Browser, it is showing the property(name) as browser. And when I spy on any object in a page, it is showing some chinese type letters to its name and properties with class as WebElement, eventhough the object WebList.

Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks for all your replies.

Regards,
Prasad
Occasional Advisor
Bharadwaja
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-25-2008
Message 8 of 35 (14,383 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Hi Prasad ,


can you shoot through the screen shot of Spy and the properties it showing.
Occasional Visitor
prasadk007
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-21-2008
Message 9 of 35 (14,383 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Hi,
Please find the screen shots of the object properties when spy on it.
Honored Contributor
Cody Marcel
Posts: 1,039
Registered: ‎02-27-2008
Message 10 of 35 (14,383 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

[ Edited ]

Those characters you see is what QTP displays when when you there is a non printable ASCII or unicode character being used in the property. Was this site built using any of those encodings? i.e. using a different system using another language as German or Chinese?

Occasional Visitor
shanxi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
Message 11 of 35 (14,382 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

I noticed that you wrote:
--Always make sure QTP and the test are open BEFORE the web browser.

Why this?
Advisor
Wendy Day
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-08-2008
Message 12 of 35 (14,382 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

We are seeing this original issue too! The exact symptoms that Prasad is seeing!! It works sometimes and sometimes not. I've been doing my best to investigate this issue and find a solution by entering this prob report in a couple of QTP solution sites, and although it seems that there are many people that have reported this issue there are no real solutions to it that anyone is offering. This looks like a "real" bug that needs to be fixed to me. We've tried all the suggestions I have found from diff sites and none of them have worked. Can anyone help here?
Occasional Visitor
ww83298
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-26-2008
Message 13 of 35 (14,382 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser



please can any one help me since even i am getting same problem.

problem:

i am able to identify all object in webpage before selection of list item.
but not after selection of list item.

raja - y.kumarraja@gmail.com
Occasional Advisor
Senthil_mca80
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-22-2009
Message 14 of 35 (14,382 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Check your registry for the following value:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\BrowseNewProcess

If it is "no" make it "yes"

Hope it helps...
Occasional Visitor
QTP stuff
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-20-2009
Message 15 of 35 (14,382 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser


Hi All,

Even I am facing the same issue as prasadk007, I am using 9.5 version of QTP. QTP is unable to identify objects in browser. My scenario is I have a web based application which one of the dialog has child dialog. Once I select some data and click on OK and come back to parent dialog then on QTP does not identify the objects in browser from then on. Even it is not identifying the browser even. This happens only in Sten/dev environments.Our sten and dev servers too have the encoding logic.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have attached the pic. and URL displays as
https://domain/applicationname/null.
Occasional Visitor
mukesh kumar_2
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-10-2009
Message 16 of 35 (14,382 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Can any one solve it out ,i have been facing this issue for last 2 months and still didnt get the solution.

Regards,

Mukesh
Respected Contributor
Erodabasi Atacan
Posts: 588
Registered: ‎01-16-2008
Message 17 of 35 (14,384 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Deactivate all checkboxes in Internet options-->Content --> AutoComplete... --> User Autocomplete for
Respected Contributor
Erodabasi Atacan
Posts: 588
Registered: ‎01-16-2008
Message 18 of 35 (14,382 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

You said "... properties with class as "WebElement", eventhough the object WebList"
But in the screenshot I see a "WinObject" under Page and not a WebElement.
Have you a Webapplication that calls a Windows Dialog??
Occasional Visitor
mukesh kumar_2
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-10-2009
Message 19 of 35 (14,382 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Hi Erodabasi,

I have tried after Deactivating all checkboxes in Internet options-->Content --> AutoComplete... --> Use Autocomplete for.
But still the same problem is there.

This is a normal web application. I have already automated many pages of the same application,but the issue is with some pages.when i spy on the webedit(this is a type ahead field in my app. )qtp is displaying as only browser-->Page(see att webedit.jpg) and when spy on weblist or web button then displayed as browser-->Page-->winobject(see att weblist.jpg.

Please let me know if you have any doubt and /or solution

Frequent Advisor
Automator
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎01-21-2009
Message 20 of 35 (14,383 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser


I have seen same problem with my web application. I found one workaround for that.
Problem: In my application, If I click on button, one screen opens (Ajax), I fill some info in it and again control goes to previous screen. Here QTP is not able to identify any object.
so workaround is like this:
I click on (Browser) Back button and then Forward button. Then QTP is able to identify all objects.
Hope it works for you all. But its defn a mystry to me.

Thanks,
Automator
Occasional Visitor
Allwyn
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
Message 21 of 35 (14,382 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Hi,

Even I'm also facing the same issue and havent found any solution yet.

Is this a problem related with QTP or the Application?

Occasional Visitor
mukesh kumar_2
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-10-2009
Message 22 of 35 (14,382 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Hi,

I have found the solution for the issue by replacing browser IE6 to IE7. Now my application is working fine on the new explorer.

Regards,
Mukesh Kumar
Occasional Visitor
nazu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2010
Message 23 of 35 (14,382 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

Hi,

I face a similar problem. QTP is able to identify only the browser and not the objects in it. I use IE 6 and later installed QTP 10.0 with ASP Ajax add-in. Still QTP doesnt identify the objects. It works fine in one of my team mate's machine who uses qtp 10.0 and IE6. I even checked the IE settings, they are the same. Can somebody help to identify the real issue?
Occasional Visitor
Tahir Ali
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-28-2010
Message 24 of 35 (14,382 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

I was facing the same issue on my IE7 browser.

The issue was resolved after reducing the Privacy setting of the browser. Do this as:

Internet Options --> Privacy --> Set to Medium or Low

Issue should be resolved and now the objects should be identified as other than WinObject.

Hope this helps !!!
Regards
Ali
Member
Wayne Hirata
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-04-2009
Message 25 of 35 (13,637 Views)

Re: QTP is unable to identify objects in the browser

[ Edited ]

I'm using QTP 11. Sometimes QTP Spy will only recognize Browser().Page() and will not recognize objects on the webapge. This occurs while spying objects in an IFRAME. I don't have a solution. This occurs in the middle of a test run.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.