Re: QTP is not able to record the objects in web based application. (227 Views)
Reply
Visitor
AtulPune
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-30-2013
Message 1 of 9 (304 Views)

QTP is not able to record the objects in web based application.

Hi Team,

 

QTP is not able to record the objects in web based application.
When I spy any object in our application I am getting Browser.Page Hierarchy.
Could you please let me know the reason?

Details:
Licenced copy of QTP 11.0
Application Web based

Please use plain text.
HP Expert
DDM_Automation
Posts: 373
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Message 2 of 9 (292 Views)

Re: QTP is not able to record the objects in web based application.

Hello Atul ,

 

Your issue is only recording , Spying identifies web objects correctly. Am I right ?

 

Need some more information to understand this better.

 

Let us know :

1 ) QTP 11 patches

2 ) which browser you are using and version ?

3 ) OS of the QTP 11 machine

4 ) Do you get a blank script when you record ?

 

Regards,

 

 

If you haven’t tried it yet, come and join us in our entitled forums at :

 http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/News/Support-Customer-Forums-now-available/m-p/5610181/message-uid/5610...

HP support Engineers will be available to answer queries.

 

[If this post or any other post helps to resolve your issue or query, mark the thread as solved and give KUDOS to the author for their assistance. ]

( Posts and opinions made here are my own and do not reflect the opinions of my employer HP in any way . )
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Murty_tvln
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-29-2013
Message 3 of 9 (283 Views)

Re: QTP is not able to record the objects in web based application.

Please check teh recording options..if you selectled "Record and run on any open browser"

Please use plain text.
Visitor
AtulPune
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-30-2013
Message 4 of 9 (272 Views)

Re: QTP is not able to record the objects in web based application.

Hi Team,

 

 

1 ) QTP 11 patches:Which patches details you require?

2 ) which browser you are using and version ?:IE8

3 ) OS of the QTP 11 machine:Win7

4 ) Do you get a blank script when you record ?:Yes

 

 

Regards,

Atul

Please use plain text.
HP Expert
Ana_Noncheva
Posts: 245
Registered: ‎08-06-2013
Message 5 of 9 (243 Views)

Re: QTP is not able to record the objects in web based application.

Hello,

 

Make sure you have in place the critical patches for QTP 11: http://support.openview.hp.com/selfsolve/document/KM934172

And, also check if you have QTP > Automation > Record & Run Settings > Web tab > "Record and run on any open browser" option selected, as already suggested by Murty above.

 

Btw, are you opening the web AUT manually after QTP?

Then, also try opening it from script (with SystemUtil.Run statement) and from Record & Run Settings by choosing the other option and specifying the URL of the web AUT. Do you observe the problem in any of those cases?

 

Regards,

Ana

“HP Support
If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution.”
Please use plain text.
Visitor
AtulPune
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-30-2013
Message 6 of 9 (233 Views)

Re: QTP is not able to record the objects in web based application.

Hi Team,

When I opened critical patches link for QTP 11: http://support.openview.hp.com/selfsolve/document/KM93417

 

I am getting error as "You are not authorized to view this document"

 

I am opening the web AUT manually after QTP.

 

SystemUtil.Run open web AUT,but not identifying the objects.

Can we set up a call regarding this issue?

 

Regards,

Atul

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 24,697
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 7 of 9 (227 Views)

Re: QTP is not able to record the objects in web based application.

>I am getting error as "You are not authorized to view this document"

 

You need a support contract and a SAID linked to your HP Passport account.

Please use plain text.
Visitor
AtulPune
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-30-2013
Message 8 of 9 (209 Views)

Re: QTP is not able to record the objects in web based application.

Hi Team,

 

What details I have to enter in Contract identifier (SAID)*?

 

Regards,

Atul 

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 24,697
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 9 of 9 (183 Views)

Re: QTP is not able to record the objects in web based application.

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation