Re: Can I use Sentinel RMS License Manager version 8.4.0 with QTP 11.0? (1049 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
tarun442
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Message 1 of 9 (1,120 Views)

Can we use RMS license server 8.4 for ALM 11.0

Hi,

 

Recently i have situation on upgrading my existing QTP 11.0 with 11.5.

 

Can anyone please guide , on using the RMS license server 8.0 with  QTP 11.0.

 

Thanks

Tarun.

HP Expert
vzamoraz
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 2 of 9 (1,115 Views)

Re: Can we use RMS license server 8.4 for ALM 11.0

Sure you can use that version of license server with QTP 11 there are no special configuration is the same functionality in terms of communication.

 

 

 

Note: The Opinions expressed in my post are mine alone, and do not reflect the opinions of my employer. No warranties express or implied for any answered posted.

 

Also remember if you have a valid contract with HP feel free to visit our FT/QTP Support Customer Forums: <http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Functional-Testing-QTP/ct-p/sws-Fun_Test >
You can create an account with your HP credentials.

Honored Contributor
Trudy Claspill
Posts: 3,772
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Message 3 of 9 (1,108 Views)

Re: Can we use RMS license server 8.4 for ALM 11.0

Tarun,

Can you clarify your question? Your subject line and the content of your post don't match up.

According to the documentation for QTP/UFT 11.5, Sentinel RMS License Manager version 8.4.0 is required. I know for a fact that 8.4.0 can be used by QTP/UFT 11.5, QTP 11.0, and ST 11.20 system for concurrent licenses.

What part does ALM have in your question? The Sentinel RMS License Server plays no part in the licensing of ALM.
[If this post solves or helps solve your issue, mark the thread as solved and give KUDOS to the author for their assistance.]

(Opinions expressed in my postings are mine alone, and do not reflect the opinions of my employer.No warranties express or implied for any solution/suggestion posted.)
Occasional Contributor
tarun442
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Message 4 of 9 (1,091 Views)

Re: Can we use RMS license server 8.4 for ALM 11.0

Hi,

 

Apologize for the subject, I mean " Can I use Sentinel RMS License Manager version 8.4.0 with QTP 11.0".

 

 

HP Expert
vzamoraz
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 5 of 9 (1,085 Views)

Re: Can we use RMS license server 8.4 for ALM 11.0

Yes, you can use it.

 

 

HP support

If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, mark it as an accepted solution.

 

Note: The Opinions expressed in my post are mine alone, and do not reflect the opinions of my employer. No warranties express or implied for any answered posted.

Occasional Contributor
tarun442
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2013
Message 6 of 9 (1,078 Views)

Re: Can we use RMS license server 8.4 for ALM 11.0

Thanks a lot for the reply..

 

Missed out few point.

 

1. We have existing QTP 11.0 with  RMS license server 8.3 ( 4 concurrent license) .

2. Trying to upgrate QTP 11.0 to QTP 11.52 , to do that i believe we need to upgrade  RMS license server 8.3 to 8.4.

3. Can i use my  - 2 QTP 11.0 clients and 2 QTP 11.52 clients with the same update  RMS license server 8.4 ?

 

HP Expert
vzamoraz
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 7 of 9 (1,063 Views)

Re: Can we use RMS license server 8.4 for ALM 11.0

1. We have existing QTP 11.0 with RMS license server 8.3 ( 4 concurrent license) .

2. Trying to upgrate QTP 11.0 to QTP 11.52 , to do that i believe we need to upgrade RMS license server 8.3 to 8.4.

Answer/ Not nessesary but recomended.

 

3. Can i use my - 2 QTP 11.0 clients and 2 QTP 11.52 clients with the same update RMS license server 8.4 ?

Yes, you can.

Honored Contributor
Trudy Claspill
Posts: 3,772
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Message 8 of 9 (1,059 Views)

Re: Can we use RMS license server 8.4 for ALM 11.0

tarun

You mentioned that you have 4 concurrent licenses, and after the upgrade you want to use 2 v11.0 and two v11.52 systems. Are you getting new licenses for v11.52? UFT 11.52 combines QTP (Functional Test) and Service Test features. If you have only Functional Test licenses, then only the Functional (GUI) test features will be available to use in the 11.52 clients. To get access to the Service Test (API testing) features of 11.52 you would need to get new licenses that encompass that feature set.
[If this post solves or helps solve your issue, mark the thread as solved and give KUDOS to the author for their assistance.]

(Opinions expressed in my postings are mine alone, and do not reflect the opinions of my employer.No warranties express or implied for any solution/suggestion posted.)
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,287
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 9 of 9 (1,049 Views)

Re: Can I use Sentinel RMS License Manager version 8.4.0 with QTP 11.0?

>Apologize for the subject,

 

You can correct the subjects in your posts by using Post Options > Edit Reply.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.