Invalid Content Pack Errors in cmdb.dal.log (856 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Message 1 of 7 (856 Views)
Accepted Solution

Invalid Content Pack Errors in cmdb.dal.log

Greetings,

 

We looked through our cmdb.dal.log and found multiple occurences of this error:

 

2013-08-12 19:01:16,548 [UCMDB - global framework scheduler] ERROR Failed to execute command [CmdbDalAddCPCommand] time [15108 ms] customer ID [-2147483648] operation stack [N/A] 
com.mercury.topaz.cmdb.server.manage.dal.CmdbDalException: [ErrorCode [-2147483648] undefined error code]
Error adding Content Pack Version [-1.0.0] to database
	...
Caused by: java.lang.RuntimeException: Content Pack Version [-1.0.0] already exists in the database.
	at com.hp.ucmdb.cp.dal.CmdbDalAddCPCommand.writeCP(CmdbDalAddCPCommand.java:71)
	... 15 more

 I then checked the CP versions and found that -1.0.0 was present in the list. I stopped the service, deleted the rogue content pack from the server and restarted. Invoking the JMX mbean to check the CP versions shows that -1.0.0 is no longer there, but cmdb.dal.log is still throwing these errors. I checked the Server content packs directory and found that CP -1.0.0 was rewritten. I also cleaned and restarted the probe too, to no effect.

 

Checking the contents of CP -1.0.0 reveals that it is the parent zip for a content pack update, likely inserted by mistake during an upgrade.

 

Any suggestions on where this rouge CP -1.0.0 may still exist in the DB or why cmdb keeps rewriting the file?

HP Expert
Posts: 966
Registered: ‎03-09-2010
Message 2 of 7 (843 Views)

Re: Invalid Content Pack Errors in cmdb.dal.log

[ Edited ]

There is a known problem related to incorrect deplyment of CP in previous attempt. The defect for the problem was open internally and will be fixed in future version.

The workaround is simple:

  1. shut down the UCMDB server.
  2. delete the corrupted CP file from the file system
  3. delete the CP_-1.0.0.zip file that was created as a result of syncing the corrupted CP from the DB
  4. delete the CP from the DB -
                   DELETE FROM CONTENT_PACKS WHERE VERSION <> <valid cp version>
  5. start the UCMDB server

 Check the content of USMDBServer\content\content_packs dirrectory. One of the files there is in format that can't be deployed...

If you feel uncomfortable with changing DB directly, please raise new support case.

Hope this helps.

Regards
-Dmitry Gomel, PMP
If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution.
Click the Like button at bottom to say 'Thanks'.
Occasional Advisor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Message 3 of 7 (837 Views)

Re: Invalid Content Pack Errors in cmdb.dal.log

Thank you Dima, we'll work on implementing these steps and I'll mark the solution when we push it through.

 

The link does not seem to be working for me, do you mind pasting the text of the problem article?

HP Expert
Posts: 966
Registered: ‎03-09-2010
Message 4 of 7 (831 Views)

Re: Invalid Content Pack Errors in cmdb.dal.log

Sorry, the problem was found by QA on internal testing flow. The problem happened as result of using incorrect install flow for previous CP installation.

Regards
-Dmitry Gomel, PMP
If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution.
Click the Like button at bottom to say 'Thanks'.
Frequent Advisor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 5 of 7 (672 Views)

Re: Invalid Content Pack Errors in cmdb.dal.log

[ Edited ]

Hi Dima,

I ran into this issue when upgrading from 10.01.CUP6.438 (CP12.08.1009) to 10.10 CP13

The issue in my case was with Contentpack 12.08.1009.

 

The content-install component failed for the Default Client during the upgrade process.

 

I noticed that the CP_12.08.1009.zip file was available in the contentpack folder (in my case d:\hp\ucmdb\ucmdbserver\content\content_packs)

 

But the file was only 36 Mb of size and corrupt (I could not open the zip). The file should be around 76 Mb of size I found out.

 

I stopped the uCMDB Server Service removed the file from the file system and executed the SQL statement on the SQL database.

In my case --> DELETE FROM CONTENT_PACKS WHERE VERSION 12.08.1009

 

After a restart of the service the corrupted file appeared again.

 

I stopped the uCMDB server service again.

 

I removed the corrupted file and copied the file from another server (i checked this file and I was able to see content in the zip)  to the content pack folder and restarted te service.

 

Now the content-install did not fail anymore and the upgrade continued without any issues.

 

HP Expert
Posts: 966
Registered: ‎03-09-2010
Message 6 of 7 (664 Views)

Re: Invalid Content Pack Errors in cmdb.dal.log

Thanks for the info.

I'm happy that you found the way out!

Regards
-Dmitry Gomel, PMP
If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution.
Click the Like button at bottom to say 'Thanks'.
Occasional Advisor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-01-2013
Message 7 of 7 (198 Views)

Re: Invalid Content Pack Errors in cmdb.dal.log

Hi Dima,

 

We have a customer who installed the wrong content pack (CP 12 Update 14) on 10.01 because the wrong zip file was uploaded to theit FTP server (it should have been CP12 Update 4). They run into an error during an installation and when troubleshooting I realized this version should not have been installed on 10.01. We are planning to remove that and install the correct CP, CP 12 Update 4 but in the release note for CP 12 Update 14, there is a note that talks about rolling back from this is NOT supported. Any idea what the reccomendation is if we can't roll back? Can we follow the same step of removing stopping the service, removing the file from the file system, deleting it from the DB and then restart to deploy the correct version or does this require backing up the database?

 

It is a production system so we have a change scheduled for Monday April the 13. I would really appreciate it if you can get back to me on this as soon as possible. I have attached screenshot of the error and CP versions we have.

 

Thank you,

Merry

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.