NS Configuration (HP3000/918) (238 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
OUMELLIL Djamila
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-05-2003
Message 1 of 7 (238 Views)

NS Configuration (HP3000/918)

I have connect a HP3000 to a PC with a card LAN. The PC is in a workgroup (IP Address definite), the HP is configured (NS configuration).
The problem is that the command : NETCONTROL START;NET=nameLAN, doesn't work = err 42.
Is it because of the path physical LANIC that I defined myself : 56/56.10 ?
There is no conflit with DTC validation !
Trusted Contributor
Jorge Pons
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎06-18-2001
Message 2 of 7 (238 Views)

Re: NS Configuration (HP3000/918)

Hi,

How many lan cards has the HP3000?. If one you have to configure the same LINK to NS and DTS.

If 2 lan cards, you have to configure the new one with the newlanic and assign it to the NS configuration.

Otherwise, as I remember, 918 machine has lanic 56/56 as default.

HTH, Jorge.
Trusted Contributor
Jorge Pons
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎06-18-2001
Message 3 of 7 (238 Views)

Re: NS Configuration (HP3000/918)

Hi again,

I forget to comment, but I suppose you are validating NETXPORT also.

Regards, Jorge
Frequent Advisor
James Harrington
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎11-24-2000
Message 4 of 7 (238 Views)

Re: NS Configuration (HP3000/918)

We use the standard lan port on our 918.

The physical path is 56/56

To start the network we do:

NETCONTROL START;NET=LOOP
NETCONTROL START;NET=LAN1
NSCONTROL START

Hope this helps.
James.
Occasional Contributor
OUMELLIL Djamila
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-05-2003
Message 5 of 7 (238 Views)

Re: NS Configuration (HP3000/918)

Thank you for your precious help.
I have make all that:
- I have a Hp3000/918.
- I have changed the physical path of the LANIC from 56/56.10 to 56/56.
- The name of the LANIC is the same to NS and DTS = DTSLINK.
- I have validated the NETXPORT in the NMMGR.
- I have started the network with:
- NETCONTROL
- NSCONTROL

But, it is always the same problem.
Is it because I used a coaxial cable? Will a special cable be necessary for the connection?
Honored Contributor
Kwan Fong, Emile
Posts: 1,162
Registered: ‎07-10-2000
Message 6 of 7 (238 Views)

Re: NS Configuration (HP3000/918)

Hello Djamila,

What is the exact error message and number when you run the :NETCONTROL command?
King is the customer!
Respected Contributor
Vicente Sanchez_3
Posts: 312
Registered: ‎04-04-2001
Message 7 of 7 (238 Views)

Re: NS Configuration (HP3000/918)

Hi Djamila,

Can you attach a file with a screen copy of the error?.

This can help much more.

Regards, Vicente.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.