Is 3H0-002 "The" HP certificate? (15 Views)
Occasional Advisor
Shawn_45
Message 1 of 19 (15 Views)
Accepted Solution

Is 3H0-002 "The" HP certificate?

I am new to this site but not really new to HP-UX. I have been using it for many years as a regular user. I am thinking of getting certified as administrator but just wondered about these:

1. Which certificate should I get? Is the subject line true?

2. I am on user side but have not been on admin side of the UX world. Do I need to or I can get away with it by reading books and practice with only the user privilege?

3. Can I ask questions towards helping me with the exam here, and if yes, in your experience, do people get answers?

Thanks to anyone who can help!

Shawn
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Denver Osborn
Message 2 of 19 (15 Views)

Re: Is 3H0-002 "The" HP certificate?

Hi Shawn,

1. yes - 3H0-002 is the certification exam#

2. Being on the user side may be hard to get exposure to everyday sysadmin tasks such as LVM, etc.. but you can certainly learn it.

There is a practice test available here:
http://education.itrc.hp.com/TrainerII/en_US/catalog/catalogDetail.jsp?id=tprodid000007

There's also a good book to help with studying. It's "HP certified" by Rafeeq Ur Rehman. http://www.hp.com/hpbooks/prentice/ptr_0130183741.html

3. Ask all the questions you want in the forums! As long as you remember to assign points for contributing members, they'll be happy to reply!

There's a lot of experience and knowledge available here from real world SysAdmins

Hope this helps and welcome to the itrc forums!
-denver
Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
Wilfred Chau_1
Message 3 of 19 (15 Views)

You are right. That's the exam.

You would probably need to know all sort of things, like NIS, NFS, NTP etc. Not only how to use them as well as how to setup them up.

Here is a linke you can look at and there is a sample test you can take and have a feel of how the test looks like.