Re: how to enable hardware compression on hp dat40? (484 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-16-2007
Message 1 of 9 (484 Views)

how to enable hardware compression on hp dat40?

[ Edited ]

could anyone help please?
thanks

 

P.S. This thread has been moved from Data Protector Support and News Forum to Tape Backup (Small and Medium Business). -HP Forum Moderator

Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,957
Registered: ‎05-07-2004
Message 2 of 9 (484 Views)

Re: how to enable hardware compression on hp dat40?

HArdware compression normally is enabled by using the correct device special file in the device configuration of Data Protector.

Windows devices ends with "C" to indicate compression, for example scsi2:0:1:1C.
Unix devices vary depending from versions and distributions.
Por que hacerlo dificil si es posible hacerlo facil? - Why do it the hard way, when you can do it the easy way?
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-16-2007
Message 3 of 9 (484 Views)

Re: how to enable hardware compression on hp dat40?

how to check the device file on windows server 2000 please?
thanks
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-16-2007
Message 4 of 9 (484 Views)

Re: how to enable hardware compression on hp dat40?

the tapeware show hardware compression is enabled but when i try to backup 26g with 2:1 40g tape..it stops at 20g
i have tried all compression mode with tapeware(none/standard/system/both)

does anyone know what the problem is?
thanks
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,874
Registered: ‎08-26-2003
Message 5 of 9 (484 Views)

Re: how to enable hardware compression on hp dat40?

What is tapeware and why are you using that?

Did you checkmark the Hardware Compression checkbox in the drive configuration in Data Protector?

Thanks,
Scott
HP Support
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-16-2007
Message 6 of 9 (484 Views)

Re: how to enable hardware compression on hp dat40?

tapeware is in the dat40 driver cd
it is a backup problem
is it wrong?
what is Data Protector?
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,874
Registered: ‎08-26-2003
Message 7 of 9 (484 Views)

Re: how to enable hardware compression on hp dat40?

This is the Data Protector forum. If you are not using the Data Protector backup software, you should be asking your question elsewhere. Likely the tape devices forum under Storage.

Thanks,
Scott
HP Support
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-16-2007
Message 8 of 9 (484 Views)

Re: how to enable hardware compression on hp dat40?

oh
where can i get Data Protector?
thanks
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,874
Registered: ‎08-26-2003
Message 9 of 9 (484 Views)

Re: how to enable hardware compression on hp dat40?

I would assume from whoever you buy HP product. You can go to www.hp.com/go/dataprotector and there's a How to Buy at the top right if you have no reseller relation currently.

Data Protector is not TapeWare (oh, that's the Yosemite product, which we do actually resell as Data Protector Express, which has absolutely nothing whatever in common with Data Protector except that it's a backup product). Data Protector is not a small scope freebie like BackupExec or TapeWare.

Thanks,
Scott
HP Support
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.