ScopeUX,Perfd aborting HP-UX after Reboot (580 Views)
Reply
Regular Advisor
vasanthapr335
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
Message 1 of 9 (580 Views)

ScopeUX,Perfd aborting HP-UX after Reboot

Hi Experts ,

 

                   We are using OMW 9 . Agent version is 11.05.005 both in Management Server and Nodes .

We have around 40 HP-UX servers , 60 Windows Servers .

 

Whenever HP-UX server is rebooted  Agent will be running . But ScopeUX , Perfd will be aborted . So the data collection will be stooped after reboot .We are facing this major issue .

Refere the attached screen-shot for node details, and services state .

 

Please suggest .

 

Thanks

Honored Contributor
m_vidyasagar
Posts: 590
Registered: ‎04-21-2011
Message 2 of 9 (569 Views)

Re: ScopeUX,Perfd aborting HP-UX after Reboot

Hi ,

 

Attach the /etc/rc.config.d/ovpa file..

- Vidyasagar Machani -

Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn. -- Benjamin Franklin
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,972
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 3 of 9 (563 Views)

Re: ScopeUX,Perfd aborting HP-UX after Reboot

This is HP-UX or window server?

Also check for below files for error,
/var/opt/perf/status.scope
/var/opt/perf/status.perfalarm
/var/opt/perf/status.ttd

Also there is known issue in HP_UX for 11.0x , try KD.
=====
Execute icapstatus, and verify the total number of CPU cores. Allocate bufsets based on the total number of CPU cores.
Explanation on setting -prealloc:

allocate bufsets for total cpus using "midaemon -prealloc"

Example: # midaemon -prealloc= < Total number of Physical CPUS>
[ Here we need to use the Total number of Physical CPUS]

So if any other midaemon options are already in use then add this option along with them like below:

Then change it to:
# midaemon -prealloc= < Total number of Physical CPUS> -bufsets 16 -skipbuf 8 -smdvss 700M
If for example the Total number of Physical CPUS on system is 8 the command will look like below:
# midaemon –prealloc=8 -bufsets 16 -skipbuf 8 -smdvss 700M
Steps to do it:
1) Stop Performance Agent (PA) using "/opt/perf/bin/ovpa stop"
2) Stop perfd using "/opt/perf/bin/pctl stop"
3) Check if any glance or , xglance running , then stop them all.
4) Check if still midameon is running , then stop it using "/opt/perf/bin/midaemon -T"
4) Check if midamon stopped, if not then its hanging. Kill it using "kill -9 <MIDAEMON PID>"
5) Edit PA start up script, /etc/rc.config.d/ovpa and add the following option,
MWA_START=1
MWA_START_COMMAND="/opt/perf/bin/mwa start"
MWA_PROTOCOL=http
MIPARMS="-prealloc=8 -pids 10000 -kths 10000 -smdvss 700M "

# MIPARMS="-prealloc=<Total Number of Physical CPUs> -bufsets 16 -skipbuf 8 -smdvss 700M"
# Example:
# if Total number of Physical CPUS is 8 then following is the way to set it.
# export MIPARMS="-prealloc=8 -pids 10000 -kths 10000 -smdvss 700M"
# export MIPARMS

6) Start PA using "/opt/perf/bin/ovpa start"
7) Start perfd using "/opt/perf/bin/pctl start"
8) Check 'ps -ef|grep midaemon' output of midameon to see whether midaemon is running with configured parameters.
==========

hth,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Regular Advisor
vasanthapr335
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
Message 4 of 9 (554 Views)

Re: ScopeUX,Perfd aborting HP-UX after Reboot

Hi Machani ,

 

                 PFA of  etc/rc.config.d/ovpa file . We have followed the steps which are listed by "Piku " for this issue .

 

Still after reboot in  most of the servers  we need to set the parameters as "Piku " told . Untill we do that data will be missed .

 

 

 

Regular Advisor
vasanthapr335
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
Message 5 of 9 (553 Views)

Re: ScopeUX,Perfd aborting HP-UX after Reboot

Hi Machani ,

 

                 PFA of  etc/rc.config.d/ovpa file . We have followed the steps which are listed by "Piku " for this issue .

 

Still after reboot in  most of the servers  we need to set the parameters as "Piku " told . Untill we do that data will be missed .

We have OVPI also where we added all servers . If Scope is disabled in HP-UX can we have data in OVPI ?

 

Also some times, unix operators will manually stop the Agent . Can we trace it ?

 

 

Thanks .

 

 

Regular Advisor
vasanthapr335
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
Message 6 of 9 (552 Views)

Re: ScopeUX,Perfd aborting HP-UX after Reboot

Hi Piku ,

 

                   Its HP-UX servers only. PLZ refere the screen-shots attached in my first post . And we have already followed the steps during the agent installation  which you have mentioned .

 

It will be working fine, collects the data utill server gets rebooted.Most of the servers faces this issue .

Then again we need to configure as you suggested .But the data will be missed till that .

 

 

Thanks .

 

 

Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,972
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 7 of 9 (546 Views)

Re: ScopeUX,Perfd aborting HP-UX after Reboot

What you want to say you requreis to configure this file again after reboot ?
Also what is there in
/var/opt/perf/status.scope
/var/opt/perf/status.perfalarm
/var/opt/perf/status.ttd

after reboot.

hth,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Honored Contributor
m_vidyasagar
Posts: 590
Registered: ‎04-21-2011
Message 8 of 9 (543 Views)

Re: ScopeUX,Perfd aborting HP-UX after Reboot

Change the Line : 

 

MWA_START_COMMAND="/opt/perf/bin/mwa start" 

 

to

 

MWA_START_COMMAND="/opt/perf/bin/mwa start scope"

 

 

This will start the SCOPE but the alarmgen alerts wont get triggered. Try it on the test server and see if the outcomes are okay for you..

 

Hope you get the better answer..

- Vidyasagar Machani -

Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn. -- Benjamin Franklin
Honored Contributor
m_vidyasagar
Posts: 590
Registered: ‎04-21-2011
Message 9 of 9 (541 Views)

Re: ScopeUX,Perfd aborting HP-UX after Reboot

 If Scope is disabled in HP-UX can we have data in OVPI ? >>

 

   No you can't get the data in OVPI if the scope is disabled...

- Vidyasagar Machani -

Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn. -- Benjamin Franklin
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.