Re: SNMP Trap Monitoring in OMU 9 (1142 Views)
Honored Contributor
ramesh9
Message 1 of 3 (1,187 Views)
Accepted Solution

SNMP Trap Monitoring in OMU 9

Hi All

We are in the process of migrating existing SNMP trap templates from OMU 8 server to OMU 9 server.

Since I am new to SNMP monitoring, can you please tell me what are the steps I need to do?

As far as I am aware, I hope following steps needs to be done,

1.   Download SNMP trap templates from OMU 8 server and upload it to OMU 9 server

2.   Deploy SNMP trap templates to the managed node(Host where SNMP traps would be sent from individual devices)

3.   Open ports 161 and 162 in managed node to allow SNMP traps

4.   Set the destination systems for SNMP devices on HP-UX and Solaris nodes in the /etc/SnmpAgent.d/snmpd.conf file with the

following statement:

trap_dest:<nodename>

I am not sure what "nodename" refers here, does it refer the individual devices from where SNMP traps would be generated or

does it refer the managed node name which intercepts SNMP traps?

5.  Run the command on managed node,

ovconfchg -ns eaagt -set SNMP_SESSION_MODE NO_TRAPDovconfchg -ns eaagt -set SNMP_SESSION_MODE

NO_TRAPD

6.  Run the command on managed node,

ovconfchg -ns eaagt -set SNMP_COMMUNITY <community>

If I had missed any steps, please let me know.

Honored Contributor
Norm Diederich
Message 2 of 3 (1,169 Views)

Re: SNMP Trap Monitoring in OMU 9

Step 4: The <nodename> in the trap_dest line is the node where you will be receiving the SNMP Traps.

Steps 5 & 6: Apply to the node configured as the traps destination.

Assign the SNMP Trap policy to that node.

Then for all source nodes, make sure your selected node is configured as a trap destination. (currently your OMU 8 server with NNM will be configured as the trap destination)  Most of your traps are probably coming from network devices, not servers.