Re: OPCAGT -status returns error: access denied. (156 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
JP75
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-19-2013
Message 1 of 7 (191 Views)

OPCAGT -status returns error: access denied.

On one of the four Windows 2k3 R2 HPOM management servers, when running opcagt, or ovc -status, the result says "access denied".
The other three servers work fine.

 

Any help appreciated.

HP Expert
Carlos_Pinto
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 2 of 7 (183 Views)

Re: OPCAGT -status returns error: access denied.

Hello,

 

Can you please verify if you are logged as "Administrator" also if the command prompt was started with Administrator rights (You will see this on the command prompt) or when starting use the option "Run as Administrator".

 

Also have you tried to disable User Account Control temporarily and see if you can then access the utilities?

You don’t have to completely disable UAC if you don’t want to.

 

Please type UAC into the start menu or Control Panel search box.

 

You can drag the slider up or down, depending on how often you want to be alerted.

 

If you drag it all the way down to the bottom, you’ll have disabled it entirely so what are the results with this testing ?

 

Please also consult the following support document:

 

http://support.openview.hp.com/selfsolve/document/KM912063

 

 

And verify if this helps.

 

Thanks and Regards,

Carlos Pinto

 

HP Support 

If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution

If you liked it I would appreciate KUDOs

Occasional Contributor
JP75
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-19-2013
Message 3 of 7 (168 Views)

Re: OPCAGT -status returns error: access denied.

I am logged in as administrator.

Search did not find the UAC.

 

I could not open document http://support.openview.hp.com/selfsolve/document/KM912063

 

HP Expert
Carlos_Pinto
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 4 of 7 (160 Views)

Re: OPCAGT -status returns error: access denied.

Hello,

 

Can you please confirm if the command prompt is execute as Administrator have you tried to star it with the option "Run as Administrator".

 

If so did you had the same result ?

 

The posted document should be accessible so please verify your account.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Thanks and Regards,

Carlos Pinto

 

HP Support 

If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution

If you liked it I would appreciate KUDOs

Occasional Contributor
JP75
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-19-2013
Message 5 of 7 (156 Views)

Re: OPCAGT -status returns error: access denied.

Command prompt was executed as administrator, and also tried "run as administrator" option. Had other administrators try with their account. We all receive the same answer.

We are able to run all other commands without any issues, except those that start with opcagt, or ovc (for example: opcagt -status, opcagt -list, -stop, -start...they all show "access denied).

 

I tried looking at the link http://support.openview.hp.com/selfsolve/document/KM912063 but did not find the error:
OpC30-797) Error during evaluation of threshold level "ServiceIndex=0"  (OpC30-728)
Execution of threshold script failed. (OpC30-712)
Source            : System
Description       : Can not open service <service name>
OpenService failed with 0x5 (80004005)
Line number       : 29
Character position: 5 (OpC30-711)

Honored Contributor
Ram_21
Posts: 3,655
Registered: ‎04-30-2003
Message 6 of 7 (151 Views)

Re: OPCAGT -status returns error: access denied.

Hello

 

What is the agent version that is installed on this Windows 2003 node? One of the earlier agent versions had issues with this specific command and that may be what you are seeing as well.

Does the opragt -status command return data or does it also fail like the opcagt -status command?

Regards
Ram

HP Expert
Carlos_Pinto
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 7 of 7 (138 Views)

Re: OPCAGT -status returns error: access denied.

Hello,

 

Please verify if any associated error on the event logs and system.txt

 

As mentioned before please make sure the agent its update at least on this node.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Thanks and Regards,

Carlos Pinto

 

HP Support 

If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution

If you liked it I would appreciate KUDOs

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.