Re: Add annotation in message (519 Views)
Reply
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 1 of 33 (587 Views)

Add annotation in message

Dear Folks,

 

I have a requirement to capture the top 10 CPU consuming process when alert for CPU breach reported.

 

I just added the command

UNIX95=1 ps -e -o pcpu,pid,ppid,user,args | sort -rn | head -20

 

to the template and add the annotation flag for true while leave the node field blank.

 

It should add the top processes as text but nothing happens.

 

OMU8.35

 

 

Regards,

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
KAKA_2
Posts: 1,417
Registered: ‎05-26-2007
Message 2 of 33 (557 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hello Piku,

Why dont you use SI SPI policy for CPU bottelneck, which shows the top 10 process when there is breach of threshold.

-KAKA-
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 3 of 33 (555 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hi KAKA,

It is our predefined SPI for CPU and have same across all the node. We can not change the templates.
But only can modify so need to add command so that can get process with alert.

regards,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Jeroen Peereboom
Posts: 2,688
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 4 of 33 (553 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Did you check the obvious: is the new template indeed active on the managed node?
I am using OM9 nowadays, but in OM8 the message properties should also show that an AutoAction is defined (and one annotation should show it has started and another one should show the result).

JP
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Jeroen Peereboom
Posts: 2,688
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 5 of 33 (548 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

You could also put the command (temporarily) in Operator Action, for testing.

JP
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 6 of 33 (519 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

I did not created new template, i just modified it and redistributed on node.
How can I check whether it has been activated or not.

Regards
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
HP Expert
tobias_m
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎05-06-2010
Message 7 of 33 (506 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hello,

 

To check if the action is presnt in the policy on the managed node, you could just grep for it in the policy data files:

# grep UNIX95 /var/opt/OV/datafiles/policies/*/*_data

 

You might need to explicitely call a shell because of the environment variable in the beginning, e.g.:

/bin/sh -c 'UNIX95=1 ps -e -o pcpu,pid,ppid,user,args | sort -rn | head -20'

 

Best regards,

Tobias

 

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 8 of 33 (488 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hi Tobias,

No output of above command reported.

regards,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
HP Expert
tobias_m
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎05-06-2010
Message 9 of 33 (469 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hello,

 

Hmm, if the grep doesn't show anything, then the modified template has not been distributed to the managed node. You could try to distribute with force update.

 

If that doesn't help, I would de-assign and re-assign the template and distribute again.

 

Best regards,

Tobias

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 10 of 33 (451 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hi,

yes there is error in while distributing it,
Reason: (xpl-84) Could not create temporary file in '/var/opt/OV/shared/server/installation/temp'

regards,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 11 of 33 (446 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

HI,

Now templates have been distributed, still no luck and no annotation added.

regards,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
HP Expert
tobias_m
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎05-06-2010
Message 12 of 33 (441 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hello,

 

Did you select Yes for Anno in the condition window?

 

E.g.:

Actions.JPG

 

Can you please share the part of the policy that defines this condition and action?

 

Best regards,

Tobias

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 13 of 33 (415 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

 

Hi ,

 

Please check, all is correct.

annon.JPG

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
HP Expert
tobias_m
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎05-06-2010
Message 14 of 33 (410 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hello,

 

Can you please check if the message was matched by the correct condition (In the Source field of the message in the Java GUI). Maybe the message was matched by a more generic condition.

 

And could you please again check that the policy was distributed correctly:

# grep UNIX95 /var/opt/OV/datafiles/policies/*/*_data

 

Best regards,

Tobias

 

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 15 of 33 (404 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

It is same and verfied it.

no output of command on mgmt server or node.

thanks,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Goran Koruga
Posts: 1,282
Registered: ‎12-05-2002
Message 16 of 33 (396 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hello.

 

You were asked to verify two things - so what exactly did you verify?

 

Regards,

    Goran

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 17 of 33 (392 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

HI,

Can you please check if the message was matched by the correct condition (In the Source field of the message in the Java GUI). Maybe the message was matched by a more generic condition. -- It is same policy name as I am changing in GUI.



And could you please again check that the policy was distributed correctly:

# grep UNIX95 /var/opt/OV/datafiles/policies/*/*_data
-- No output of this command.


Thanks,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Goran Koruga
Posts: 1,282
Registered: ‎12-05-2002
Message 18 of 33 (391 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hello.

 

Then it's not being distributed to your node.

 

Regards,

    Goran

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 19 of 33 (388 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hi ,

But there are lots of updated files (ending with _data) inside below directory on node,

/var/opt/OV/datafiles/policies/monitor
/var/opt/OV/datafiles/policies/msgi
/var/opt/OV/datafiles/policies/configsettings


Thanks,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Goran Koruga
Posts: 1,282
Registered: ‎12-05-2002
Message 20 of 33 (385 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hello.

 

Could be, but this particular policy is not being distributed.  Verify policy assignments for the node in question again, for example:

 

opcnode -list_ass_templs node_name=your_node_here net_type=NETWORK_IP

 

Does it show up if you check in this directory:

 

cd /etc/opt/OV/share/conf/OpC/mgmt_sv/templates/utf8/ux_compress

grep UNIX95 *

 

Regards,

    Goran

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 21 of 33 (382 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hi,

Yes policy is assigned, since I have changed existing template hence it is there but can not say it has been update on node or not.

on node this folder is empty.
but at mgmt server there are lots of file in taht folder, and output of 'grep UNIX95 *' is null.


hth,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Goran Koruga
Posts: 1,282
Registered: ‎12-05-2002
Message 22 of 33 (381 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

The path is only relevant on the management server.

 

Then delete all the files in that directory (but not the directory itself) and redistribute policies again:

 

opcragt -distrib -force -templates your_node

 

Does grep now show a different output?  Do you only have compressed files there (ending in ".Z")?  If you do then check in a different way:

 

for a in *.Z; do uncompress -c "$a" | grep UNIX && echo $a; done

 

    Goran

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 23 of 33 (379 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hi,

I already did the same but no luck.
and '.z' files are there but old one and I did not compressed them.


Thanks,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Goran Koruga
Posts: 1,282
Registered: ‎12-05-2002
Message 24 of 33 (378 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

I haven't mentioned compressing them - instead you should check if files re-created by opcragt show your new command.  Do they?

 

Also grep for it in the "*_data" files.  Does any file show it?

 

    Goran

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,908
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 25 of 33 (376 Views)

Re: Add annotation in message

Hi ,

Lots of files like *data* and *header.xml* have created in that directory on mgmt server.


hth,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation