usb ports on AlphaServer DS10 and DS15L - tape drive? (330 Views)
Reply
Advisor
Jim Strehlow
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎06-07-2004
Message 1 of 8 (330 Views)

usb ports on AlphaServer DS10 and DS15L - tape drive?

Can I use the USB ports on an AlphaServer DS10 or DS15L (thin) for a tape drive backup?

Does OpenVMS support an USB tape drive? (If so, is there a DDS4 USB or do we need AME or ATI or ...?)

If not, without a SCSI card on the thin DS15L do I need to install a video/SCSI combo card so that I can connect a tape drive to backup the AlphaServer?

I dislike backing up the disk to a save_set on disk (having to reserve disk space for its own save_set backup), network copy the save_set to another host node (needing to reserve space on the remote host node for another host's backup), then backup on the remote host node.

Thank you for your ideas.

Jim, OpenVMS Systems Manager
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Uwe Zessin
Posts: 10,320
Registered: ‎02-16-2004
Message 2 of 8 (330 Views)

Re: usb ports on AlphaServer DS10 and DS15L - tape drive?

Jim,
the QuickSpecs for both servers mention only a USB keyboard.
.
Please use plain text.
HP Pro
Ian Miller.
Posts: 4,370
Registered: ‎06-03-2003
Message 3 of 8 (330 Views)

Re: usb ports on AlphaServer DS10 and DS15L - tape drive?

USB storage devices are not yet supported.
However in the next version of VMS...
___________________
Purely Personal Opinion
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Antoniov.
Posts: 3,182
Registered: ‎07-08-2003
Message 4 of 8 (330 Views)

Re: usb ports on AlphaServer DS10 and DS15L - tape drive?

USB is hardware working but software unavaiable on VMS.
AFAIK all the software for USB device are designed for wintel architecture so you can't use USB DAT on DS10 or DS15.

Antonio Vigliotti
Antonio Maria Vigliotti
Please use plain text.
HP Pro
Ian Miller.
Posts: 4,370
Registered: ‎06-03-2003
Message 5 of 8 (330 Views)

Re: usb ports on AlphaServer DS10 and DS15L - tape drive?

I think you need the scsi interface and as you said probably a combo card due to the small number of PCI slots in your alphaserver.
e.g KZPCM-DA network/scsi or DEPVZ-AA net/video/scsi card
___________________
Purely Personal Opinion
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Marco Gariboldi
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎01-21-2011
Message 6 of 8 (330 Views)

Re: usb ports on AlphaServer DS10 and DS15L - tape drive?

As of V8.4, has anything changed with regard to this? (For Integrity.) I've only read about SAS, nothing about USB, so I assume not.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Steven Schweda
Posts: 9,084
Registered: ‎02-23-2005
Message 7 of 8 (330 Views)

Re: usb ports on AlphaServer DS10 and DS15L - tape drive?

> [...] has anything changed [...]

Probably, but the only supported devices are
probably on the current supported-devices
list.

A trip through SYS$SYSTEM:SYS$CONFIG.DAT
might suggest some possibilities for
disk-like devices (DNDRIVER), but if there's
any support for tape, then I haven't noticed.

> [...] (For Integrity.) [...]

My hardware knowledge is confined mostly to
old junk. Is there modern hardware where an
add-in SCSI card is impossible?
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Marco Gariboldi
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎01-21-2011
Message 8 of 8 (330 Views)

Re: usb ports on AlphaServer DS10 and DS15L - tape drive?

SCSI is fine, it works great. The reason I was wondering is because USB variants of e.g. DAT-320 (DDS-7) tape drives are dramatically cheaper than their SCSI (and SAS) counterparts.
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation