Re: va7100 initial setup help (578 Views)
Reply
Valued Contributor
Timothy P. Jackson
Posts: 341
Registered: ‎12-06-2002
Message 1 of 16 (604 Views)

va7100 initial setup help

Hello Everyone,

 

I have a va7100 that I lost a controller on and now after playing with it I believe that i have messed up the entire configuration. Could some one please tell me what steps need to be taken through the serial por command line to create the lun0 so that cvui can see it.

 

I have read a lot of posts and the only two things I have seen is that there must be a lun0 for HP-UX 11.11 to see it and the controller card meeds to be in "HP-UX" mode. Also the recommended size of lun0 should be 10Gig <I think>

 

I cannot find any manuals that step me through this so any help would be greatly appreciated!

 

Thanks

Tim

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 2 of 16 (589 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

[ Edited ]

Wow, still an old VA?

I currently have no access to my old docs, but I know the user guide is still available on the web. Try hp.com, please.

 

 

EDITED

 

I think it was

 

armcfg -L 0 -a 10M -g 1


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Valued Contributor
Timothy P. Jackson
Posts: 341
Registered: ‎12-06-2002
Message 3 of 16 (583 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

Thanks Torsten!

 

I believe that i need the array-id after that command but I am not sure what the array-id is. I know this is old stuff but any idea where i might find it?

 

Also i have been searching for a manual both on the internet and docs.hp.com and have found basically nothing to help on a new install of a va7100. At least none of the setup commands.

 

Thanks again for your help!!

Honored Contributor
Patrick Wallek
Posts: 13,786
Registered: ‎06-21-2000
Message 4 of 16 (578 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

If you are doing this from your HP-UX that the array is attached to, then the command 'armdiscover' should work.

 

For example:

# armdiscover
This could take several minutes ...
HP-A6218A           /dev/rscsi/c7t12d0 00DEH43226RS     dcudb03.rwp.com dcarray1
HP 73.4G-ST373453LC /dev/dsk/c3t0d0    3HW0F1VW00007401 dcudb03.rwp.com
HP 73.4G-ST373454LC /dev/dsk/c2t1d0    3KP07CPT00007535 dcudb03.rwp.com

 The last 2 items are the local disk drives on the system.  The first is the array, its serial number, the host it's attached to and the array alias/nickname.  You can use either the serial number or the alias/nickname in the commands.

 

As far as the 'armcfg' command mentioned above you will need the serial number / nickname after the command if working from HP-UX.

 

You can also have a look at the man page for the commands for more info.

 

# man armcfg

 

Valued Contributor
Timothy P. Jackson
Posts: 341
Registered: ‎12-06-2002
Message 5 of 16 (575 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

Thanks Patrick!

 

I think I may have another issue with the array....

 

when I do a armdiscover, it only shows me internal drives..... ?

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 6 of 16 (566 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

i remember you can try to run cvui.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 7 of 16 (562 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

Found an old log of a VA installation:

 

#cvui
Starting CVUI...
Setting rows to default value of 24.
Setting clear screen rows to default value of 24.
Setting columns to default value of 80.

Getting devices...

                            CVUI version 1.01.0011

Storage Device Selection

Choice  Device Id         Alias  Device Type
===============================================================================
     1  50060b0000091234         HP Storage Array
     2  Refresh

(1-2=Choice, a=App menu, h=Help, x=eXit)>1

 

...

 

 

Storage->HpArrayMain
DeviceID:    50060b0001234567
DevicePath:  /dev/dsk/c4t0d0             Alias:     
DeviceType:  HP Storage Array            DeviceSn:  00SG11234567
Product:     HPA6189A00SG11234567

Choice  Description
=============================================================================
     1  Create/Delete LUNs
     2  View properties
     3  Diagnostics
     4  Configure operating parameters
     5  Configure fibre channel
     6  Security
     7  Licensed features
     8  Firmware

(1-8=Choice, a=App menu, b=Back, h=Help, x=eXit)>1

 

Storage->HpArrayMain->LUNs
DeviceID:  50060b0001234567

Choice  Description
====================================================================
     1  Create
     2  Delete
     3  Business copy LUNs
     4  List existing LUNs
     5  View available storage for LUNs

(1-5=Choice, a=App menu, b=Back, h=Help)>1

 

Storage->HpArrayMain->LUNs->Create
DeviceID:  50060b0001234567

Enter a RG (Redundancy Group) number from 1 to 2 inclusive.

(RG number, a=App menu, b=Back, h=Help)>1

 

Storage->HpArrayMain->LUNs->Create
DeviceID:  50060b0001234567

Enter a LUN (Logical UNit) number that does not exist.  To view existing
LUNs, see "List existing LUNs".  To view available storage on the array,
see "View available storage for LUNs".  LUN numbers range from 0 to the
"LUN Creation Limit".

(New LUN number, a=App menu, b=Back)>0

 

 

Storage->HpArrayMain->LUNs->Create->Units
DeviceID:  50060b0001234567

Choice  Description
====================================================================
     1  Kilobytes
     2  Megabytes
     3  Gigabytes

(1-3=Choice, a=App menu, b=Back)>2

Enter the new LUN's capacity as a whole number.  If fractional
capacity is desired, go back to the previous menu and select
Kilobytes.  For example, to create a 1.5 Megabyte LUN, use
Kilobytes for units and 1536 for capacity, that is 1.5 * 1024 = 1536.
Capacity will be automatically rounded up to the nearest 512 Kilobytes.
1024 bytes = 1 Kilobyte,
1024 Kilobytes = 1 Megabyte,
1024 Megabytes = 1 Gigabyte.

(Capacity in Megabytes, b=Back)>10

Create 10 MB LUN 0 RG 1? (y/n)>y

Exec command: armcfg -L 0 -a 10M -g 1 50060b0001234567

LUN 0, RG 1, 10 MB created.
Press [Enter] to continue>

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10MB is enough for LUN0, don't use it for data.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Valued Contributor
Timothy P. Jackson
Posts: 341
Registered: ‎12-06-2002
Message 8 of 16 (558 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

Thanks Torsten and Patrick!

 

I have one controller that is out completely... doesn't even want to give me a fiber connect. So I am going to get this fixed before continuing, hopefully it is my problem.

 

When i do a cvui it only shows me internal drives <I think>. It definately does not show me an HP Storage Array only JBOD disk.

 

I did read some where that if you don't have the lun 0 that it can really mess things up. But with out it, I cant find the array-id.

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 9 of 16 (554 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

>> does not show me an HP Storage Array only JBOD

Could you show the initial cvui screen?

Sure it is a VA but not a DS2405?

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Valued Contributor
Timothy P. Jackson
Posts: 341
Registered: ‎12-06-2002
Message 10 of 16 (540 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

Sorry Torsten, I ended up in a very long meeting....

 

Here is what I get when I open up cvui...

 


Storage Device Selection

Choice  Device Id                 Alias  Device Type
===============================================================================
     1  00000e1100c1f0af                 HP JBOD Disk
     2  FUJITSUMAN3184MCMN030025         HP JBOD Disk
     3  FUJITSUMAN3184MCMN030053         HP JBOD Disk
     4  00000e1100c4392f                 HP JBOD Disk
     5  Refresh

(1-5=Choice, a=App menu, h=Help, x=eXit)>

 

I know for sure this is a va7100 because at one point it was up and running <over a year ago>. It wasn't until I changed out one of the controllers that everything went bad.

 

Thanks again for your response!

 

Tim

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 11 of 16 (537 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

Make sure the server is connected to the host port, NOT to the disk port.

 


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Valued Contributor
Timothy P. Jackson
Posts: 341
Registered: ‎12-06-2002
Message 12 of 16 (534 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

Hi Torsten,

 

The controller cards on the va7100 only have one port. I think the va7400 has two ports. my controllers only have one and it says "host"

 

Thanks for all the help!

 

Tim

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 13 of 16 (531 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

OK, the smallest VA (7100) doesn't have disk ports.
Did you try to connect to serial port and run the "armcfg" command?

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Valued Contributor
Timothy P. Jackson
Posts: 341
Registered: ‎12-06-2002
Message 14 of 16 (527 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

tried to connect but from a laptop and the doesn't want to work. I am going to run over to our warehouse and dig out the old serial console. I know that it will connect with out a problem.

 

I will let you know when I have found it and have it connected.

 

Thanks!

 

Tim

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 15 of 16 (515 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

From the serial console do:

Ready> cfg -L 0 -a 10240k -g 1
Lun:0

Capacity:10240k

Redundancy Group: 1



Ready > dsp -L


LUN 0:

Capacity: 10.0 MB

Number of Snapshots: 0

RGID: 1

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Valued Contributor
Timothy P. Jackson
Posts: 341
Registered: ‎12-06-2002
Message 16 of 16 (509 Views)

Re: va7100 initial setup help

Thanks Torsten!

 

I got a little side tracted... We have Auditors in house this week and they are keeping me busy with stupid stuff.

 

 

Anyway, hopefully i will get to give this a try later today.

 

 

Thanks again for all your help!

 

Tim

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.