umount Block device required (291 Views)
Reply
Advisor
Matthias Oswald
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-17-2001
Message 1 of 9 (291 Views)
Accepted Solution

umount Block device required

Hi there,

I'm having a problem with a file system to unmount.
There is a inconsistency, bdf sees it different than what is in the mnttab.

Is there a save way to clean this up ?


root@luxtc1:/> bdf /huu10
Filesystem kbytes used avail %used Mounted on
/dev/vg00/lvol3 1048576 106496 934920 10% /
root@luxtc1:/> grep huu10 /etc/mnttab
/dev/vg52/lvol2 /huu10 vxfs log,nodatainlog 0 0 1088174817
root@luxtc1:/> mount |grep huu10
/huu10 on /dev/vg52/lvol2 log,nodatainlog on Fri Jun 25 16:46:57 2004
root@luxtc1:/> bdf |grep huu10
/dev/vg52/lvol2 1048576 106496 934920 10% /huu10
root@luxtc1:/> umount /huu10
umount: cannot unmount /huu10 : Block device required
root@luxtc1:/>


Thanks
Matthias
mabios
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Naveej.K.A
Posts: 820
Registered: ‎06-11-2003
Message 2 of 9 (291 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

hi,

check to see whether any file(s) in the filesystem is open??? use lsof utility.

if not installed get it from

http://hpux.connect.org.uk/hppd/hpux/Sysadmin/lsof-4.71/

regds
Naveej
practice makes a man perfect!!!
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Dietmar Konermann
Posts: 1,207
Registered: ‎02-04-1998
Message 3 of 9 (291 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

What happens if you try "umount /dev/vg52/lvol2"?
"Logic is the beginning of wisdom; not the end." -- Spock (Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country)
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Simon Hargrave
Posts: 744
Registered: ‎06-15-1998
Message 4 of 9 (291 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

If the filesystem isn't actually mounted and just mnttab is out if sync, then you can rm /etc/mnttab, then run mount to regenerate it.
Please use plain text.
Advisor
Matthias Oswald
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-17-2001
Message 5 of 9 (291 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

Thanks for the quick response.

Looking through the output of lsof, there a lot of processes, shell and system processes pointing to the mount point in question /huu10.

What can I do ?
Do I need to reboot the machine ?
mabios
Please use plain text.
Advisor
Matthias Oswald
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-17-2001
Message 6 of 9 (291 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

The mnttab seems out of sync.
Can I remove just the entry for /huu10 in it, or is it saver to remove the complete mnttab and regenerate it with mount ?
mabios
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Robert-Jan Goossens
Posts: 7,384
Registered: ‎04-04-2000
Message 7 of 9 (291 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

Hi,

No you can not remove the mountpoint from the mnttab.

# mv /etc/mnttab /etc/mnttab.old
# mount

Regards,
Robert-Jan
Please use plain text.
Advisor
Matthias Oswald
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-17-2001
Message 8 of 9 (291 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

moving the mnttab and re-generating it with mount cleared the problem

Thanks
mabios
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Simon Hargrave
Posts: 744
Registered: ‎06-15-1998
Message 9 of 9 (291 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

not trying to be funny but you gave Robert 10pts for the same answer I gave, and I got no assignment.

Please make sure you assign points to your answers.

I'm after me first hat ;)
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation