umount Block device required (381 Views)
Reply
Advisor
Matthias Oswald
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-17-2001
Message 1 of 9 (381 Views)
Accepted Solution

umount Block device required

Hi there,

I'm having a problem with a file system to unmount.
There is a inconsistency, bdf sees it different than what is in the mnttab.

Is there a save way to clean this up ?


root@luxtc1:/> bdf /huu10
Filesystem kbytes used avail %used Mounted on
/dev/vg00/lvol3 1048576 106496 934920 10% /
root@luxtc1:/> grep huu10 /etc/mnttab
/dev/vg52/lvol2 /huu10 vxfs log,nodatainlog 0 0 1088174817
root@luxtc1:/> mount |grep huu10
/huu10 on /dev/vg52/lvol2 log,nodatainlog on Fri Jun 25 16:46:57 2004
root@luxtc1:/> bdf |grep huu10
/dev/vg52/lvol2 1048576 106496 934920 10% /huu10
root@luxtc1:/> umount /huu10
umount: cannot unmount /huu10 : Block device required
root@luxtc1:/>


Thanks
Matthias
mabios
Honored Contributor
Naveej.K.A
Posts: 820
Registered: ‎06-11-2003
Message 2 of 9 (381 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

hi,

check to see whether any file(s) in the filesystem is open??? use lsof utility.

if not installed get it from

http://hpux.connect.org.uk/hppd/hpux/Sysadmin/lsof-4.71/

regds
Naveej
practice makes a man perfect!!!
Honored Contributor
Dietmar Konermann
Posts: 1,207
Registered: ‎02-04-1998
Message 3 of 9 (381 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

What happens if you try "umount /dev/vg52/lvol2"?
"Logic is the beginning of wisdom; not the end." -- Spock (Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country)
Honored Contributor
Simon Hargrave
Posts: 744
Registered: ‎06-15-1998
Message 4 of 9 (381 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

If the filesystem isn't actually mounted and just mnttab is out if sync, then you can rm /etc/mnttab, then run mount to regenerate it.
Advisor
Matthias Oswald
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-17-2001
Message 5 of 9 (381 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

Thanks for the quick response.

Looking through the output of lsof, there a lot of processes, shell and system processes pointing to the mount point in question /huu10.

What can I do ?
Do I need to reboot the machine ?
mabios
Advisor
Matthias Oswald
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-17-2001
Message 6 of 9 (381 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

The mnttab seems out of sync.
Can I remove just the entry for /huu10 in it, or is it saver to remove the complete mnttab and regenerate it with mount ?
mabios
Honored Contributor
Robert-Jan Goossens
Posts: 7,384
Registered: ‎04-04-2000
Message 7 of 9 (381 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

Hi,

No you can not remove the mountpoint from the mnttab.

# mv /etc/mnttab /etc/mnttab.old
# mount

Regards,
Robert-Jan
Advisor
Matthias Oswald
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-17-2001
Message 8 of 9 (381 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

moving the mnttab and re-generating it with mount cleared the problem

Thanks
mabios
Honored Contributor
Simon Hargrave
Posts: 744
Registered: ‎06-15-1998
Message 9 of 9 (381 Views)

Re: umount Block device required

not trying to be funny but you gave Robert 10pts for the same answer I gave, and I got no assignment.

Please make sure you assign points to your answers.

I'm after me first hat ;)
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.