qla2xxx options ql2xmaxqdepth=16 not getting set (1888 Views)
Reply
Honored Contributor
Tim Nelson
Posts: 3,727
Registered: ‎06-01-2000
Message 1 of 8 (1,888 Views)

qla2xxx options ql2xmaxqdepth=16 not getting set

curiosity..

HP recommends ql2xmaxqdepth=16 for qlogic cards.
After setting in modprobe.conf with
options qla2xxxx ql2xmaxqdepth=16 qlport_down_retry=10 ql2xloginretry-count=30

/sys/module/qla2xxx/parameters/ql2xmaxqdepth reports the default of 32.

I am having no issues but wondering why the setting does not take effect ?

Any takers ?
Trusted Contributor
Gerardo Arceri
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎07-15-2009
Message 2 of 8 (1,888 Views)

Re: qla2xxx options ql2xmaxqdepth=16 not getting set

Been there Tim.
If you installed the hp-qla2xxx drivers it's almost always causing by the HBA drivers being loaded in initrd, that's makes them ignore any parameters you set on modprobe.conf
Depending on the OS Version, in my case RHEL >= 5.2, i reccomend NOT TO USE the drivers supplied by HP and use the ones supplied by redhat with the kernel.
In order to help I'd need to know:
A) What SAN vendor infrastructure are you connecting to (ie EMC, Hitachi, HP
B) What OS version are you using.
C) What HBA model you got.

Hope it was helpful!
Honored Contributor
Tim Nelson
Posts: 3,727
Registered: ‎06-01-2000
Message 3 of 8 (1,888 Views)

Re: qla2xxx options ql2xmaxqdepth=16 not getting set

I am using the rhel provided drivers for my qlogic 2462 hba.(at least I think I am)

the settings I am attempting to configure were provided in the release notes for the HPDMmultipath. I installed the HPDMmultipath as I am using EVA4xxx storage and wanted the updated mulitpath.conf file.

A) What SAN vendor infrastructure are you connecting to (ie EMC, Hitachi, HP <<- EVA4xxx
B) What OS version are you using. <--OEL 5.4
C) What HBA model you got. <<-QLE2462
Trusted Contributor
Gerardo Arceri
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎07-15-2009
Message 4 of 8 (1,888 Views)

Re: qla2xxx options ql2xmaxqdepth=16 not getting set

Can you check if qla2xxx is being included in your initrd file ?
This will be the case if you have installed the drivers provided by HP:

# rpm -q hp_qla2x00src
hp_qla2x00src-8.01.07.25.02-1

if hp_qla2x00src exists then the drivers will be loaded on initrd and modprobe.conf setting will get ignored unless you use /opt/hp/src/hp_qla2x00src/set_parm to set these parameters manually and rebuild initrd.

Unless you boot from SAN there is no reason to have the drivers loaded there.
Let me know if you need help to remove these drivers and use the ones that come with RedHat's kernel.
Honored Contributor
Tim Nelson
Posts: 3,727
Registered: ‎06-01-2000
Message 5 of 8 (1,888 Views)

Re: qla2xxx options ql2xmaxqdepth=16 not getting set

Did not install hp qlogic drivers.

rpm -q hp_qla2x00src
package hp_qla2x00src is not installed
Honored Contributor
Alzhy
Posts: 4,373
Registered: ‎01-22-2002
Message 6 of 8 (1,888 Views)

Re: qla2xxx options ql2xmaxqdepth=16 not getting set

Tim sir..

You're Probably following the recommendations spec'd in HP's Dynamic Mapper specifically for HP Storage - right?

You need to create a new initrd image after you add thoe entties in modprobe.conf sir.

Those recommendations are to ensure optimal performance of HP Storage Arrays coupled with mulipath.conf settings which you should use with the HPDM kit.


See the following:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12...
Hakuna Matata.
Honored Contributor
Tim Nelson
Posts: 3,727
Registered: ‎06-01-2000
Message 7 of 8 (1,888 Views)

Re: qla2xxx options ql2xmaxqdepth=16 not getting set

Alzy,

Did that.
Honored Contributor
Tim Nelson
Posts: 3,727
Registered: ‎06-01-2000
Message 8 of 8 (1,888 Views)

Re: qla2xxx options ql2xmaxqdepth=16 not getting set

Figured it out.

a modprobe with a -v tells me that I am a dummy and one of the options was invalid.
basically th ql2xloginretry-count should be ql2xloginretrycount.
Found the correct name using "modinfo qla2xx"

( the included release notes for this version are WRONG !! )

Fix this in modprobe.conf, mkinitrd and reboot to make sure it sticks.

Check with cat /sys/module/qla2xxx/parameters/ql2xmaxqdepth

thanks everyone for the responses.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.