pvcreate (331 Views)
Reply
Advisor
prashanth
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 1 of 8 (331 Views)

pvcreate

Hello,

 

Supose I have two servers

 

Server name                     DC name      

Apple                                    DC1 (primary site)

 

Lemon                                 DC2  (DR site)

 

And there is a CA replication across the DC at storage level

 

query: I have  created the one volume group ( name is test1) using 5 luns on apple server. Now  I have allocated the 5 luns to lemon server at DR site . Also created the CA replication. But i have not use the pvcreate command on lemon server for 5 luns. Now my query is when the test1 vg I am activating on lemon server it will work or not.

 

------------------------------------

Is it mandatery to run the pvcreate command on that 5 luns allocated to lemon server.

 

I have done vgexport/import map file.

 

Thanks !!!

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,438
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 2 of 8 (286 Views)

Re: pvcreate

pvcreate will "format" the disk, so you do this only once. Use vgexport/vgimport to import the VG information to the second host.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Advisor
prashanth
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 3 of 8 (278 Views)

Re: pvcreate

Hi ,

 

We have seperate storage acroos the site and  both storage replicated using CA replication .

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,438
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 4 of 8 (276 Views)

Re: pvcreate

It will always depend on the CA in detail, but with "pvcreate" you would destroy your data.

The arrays are replicated from one site to another, so you need to import the LUNs from the array.

What kind of CA are you using?

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Advisor
prashanth
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 5 of 8 (271 Views)

Re: pvcreate

Hi ,

 

My query is on DR site i have not run the pvcreate command on luns which are allocated to DR server . So when i will failver the application at DR site . I will be able to import the vg or not.

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,438
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 6 of 8 (269 Views)

Re: pvcreate

The DR site is a clone of the production site, right? Like a 1:1 copy, right? This is what a replication used to be.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Advisor
prashanth
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 7 of 8 (268 Views)

Re: pvcreate

Hi ,

 

We have synchronus CA replication across the storage.

 

Thanks!!!

Advisor
prashanth
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 8 of 8 (266 Views)

Re: pvcreate

Hi ,

 

I have checked the same VGID is present or not on DR site luns which are allocated to DR lemon server.

 

Apple #echo 0x2010?2X|adb /dev/dsk/c18t12d0|expand|tr -d " "|sed "s/2010:/VGID /"
VGID 7FEADD27508FFBEF

-------------

Lemon# echo 0x2010?2X|adb /dev/dsk/c60t9d4|expand|tr -d " "|sed "s/2010:/VGID /"
VGID 7FEADD27508FFBEF

 

same vg id repliacted on DR server lun.

----------------------------------------------------

Thanks !!!

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.