problem in running trace (189 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
rajat
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎04-25-2002
Message 1 of 7 (189 Views)

problem in running trace

HI all

when i run trace command , i receive following
message
"another application(e.g. glance,pcs) has already enabled KI tracing
you must exit it before running trace"

pl. suggest, so that i may run trace.
thanks
rajat
Trusted Contributor
malay boy
Posts: 373
Registered: ‎12-20-1998
Message 2 of 7 (189 Views)

Re: problem in running trace

uhm!!! may be it just me.But could you please elobarate more on what you try to do.

p/s:It nearly 4pm and time to go home.My body at work but my mind at home already.

still learning,
mB
There are three person in my team-Me ,myself and I.
Honored Contributor
Dietmar Konermann
Posts: 1,207
Registered: ‎02-04-1998
Message 3 of 7 (189 Views)

Re: problem in running trace

Hi, Rajat!

The message is usually correct... another appliation has already enabled KI (kernel instrumentation) tracing.

Check if a process /opt/perf/bin/midaemon is running. I yes, stop all instances of Glance/GPM and measureware (/sbin/init.d/mwa stop) and verify that midaemon terminated.

Best regards...
Dietmar.
"Logic is the beginning of wisdom; not the end." -- Spock (Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country)
Regular Advisor
Tore_1
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎02-27-2002
Message 4 of 7 (189 Views)

Re: problem in running trace

the KI interface (kernel instrumentation) is special for hpux and traces every system call by every process.

This is used by measureware, glance and probably some other applications as well.

Anyway, the simple suggestion is to try to stop glance or measureware (/sbin/init.d/mwa stop)
Occasional Advisor
rajat
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎04-25-2002
Message 5 of 7 (189 Views)

Re: problem in running trace

hi all
midaemon is not running on system and all instances of Glance is stopped
mwa not found on system.Still trace command is giving same error
pl. suggest
regards
rajat
Regular Advisor
Tore_1
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎02-27-2002
Message 6 of 7 (189 Views)

Re: problem in running trace

ps -ef output.
Occasional Visitor
SchD
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
Message 7 of 7 (183 Views)

Re: problem in running trace

I have the same problem as the OP. Attached is the ps -ef output.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.