machinfo is not working (3750 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
praveenprashant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-25-2009
Message 1 of 12 (3,750 Views)

machinfo is not working

Hello All,

Machinfo command is not working on this server.

mlmpgag9:/ 1 # machinfo
sh: machinfo: not found.
mlmpgag9:/ 2 # whereis machinfo
machinfo:
mlmpgag9:/ 3 # uname -a
HP-UX XXXXXX B.11.11 U 9000/800 893950610 unlimited-user license
Honored Contributor
Johnson Punniyalingam
Posts: 2,246
Registered: ‎09-22-2008
Message 2 of 12 (3,750 Views)

Re: machinfo is not working

HPUX 11.11 -> machinfo command does not exits

Only in HPUX 11.31

root@abc [/] # which machinfo;uname -a
no machinfo in /usr/sbin /usr/bin /usr/ccs/bin /usr/contrib/bin /opt/prm/bin /t
HP-UX abc B.11.11 U 9000/800 unlimited-user license

ABC:/ # which machinfo;uname -a
/usr/contrib/bin/machinfo
HP-UX abc B.11.31 U ia64 unlimited-user license


Problems are common to all, but attitude makes the difference
Honored Contributor
R.K. #
Posts: 705
Registered: ‎05-20-2008
Message 3 of 12 (3,750 Views)

Re: machinfo is not working

Hi Praveen,

I guess, machinfo might not work on PA RISC machines.
Try "#print_manifest" instead if ignite is installed.
Don't fix that what ain't broke
Honored Contributor
Kapil Jha
Posts: 1,478
Registered: ‎01-23-2006
Message 4 of 12 (3,750 Views)

Re: machinfo is not working

right machinfo is for Intrgrity box and its independent of OS, at least work on 11.23 and 11.31, don have any box 11.11 right now with me :(

BR,
Kapil+
I am in this small bowl, I wane see the real world......
Honored Contributor
R.K. #
Posts: 705
Registered: ‎05-20-2008
Message 5 of 12 (3,750 Views)

Re: machinfo is not working

Hey..
just got 11.11 system.

>machinfo
sh: machinfo: not found.
>whereis machinfo
machinfo:

>model
9000/800/A500-5X
>uname -a
HP-UX XXXXX B.11.11 U 9000/800 XXXXXX unlimited-user license
Don't fix that what ain't broke
Respected Contributor
Taifur
Posts: 504
Registered: ‎12-11-2007
Message 6 of 12 (3,750 Views)

Re: machinfo is not working

Hi,

It is (or should be) a part of the HP-UX operating system on Itanium (HP-UX 11.2x).

It does not exist on PA-RISC versions of HP-UX (11.11 and below).

machinfo is bundled in OS-Core.USRCONTRB
on HP-UX 11.23 (Itanium) you can find it in
/usr/contrib/bin/machinfo

The machinfo tool is designed for Itaniums only.

You can also use
/opt/ignite/bin/print_manifest
to get a lot of information.

you can use dmesg , uname, model, getconf

Hope it will help, to resolve ur issue.

Rgds//
Taifur
Respected Contributor
Jupinder Bedi
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎01-14-2010
Message 7 of 12 (3,750 Views)

Re: machinfo is not working

machinfo will only work on Itanium systems not on PA-RISC .
All things excellent are as difficult as they are rare
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,285
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 8 of 12 (3,750 Views)

Re: machinfo is not working

As said, machinfo works on PA-RISC machines only with 11.31.


But you can pull all information from STM or SAM.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Valued Contributor
Prasanth Thomas
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-19-2008
Message 9 of 12 (3,750 Views)

Re: machinfo is not working

Hi,
You can use the below commands.

1. # print_manifest.
2. # cstm
>mapall
>il (infolog)


regards,
Prasanth Thomas.
Occasional Visitor
hasanshehab
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-12-2012
Message 10 of 12 (3,012 Views)

Re: machinfo is not working

info cpu -cores

 

or machinfo with HP RX 2800 i2

Occasional Visitor
hasanshehab
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-12-2012
Message 11 of 12 (3,011 Views)

Re: machinfo is not working

which correct commands?
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,071
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 12 of 12 (3,009 Views)

Re: machinfo is not working

>which are correct commands?

 

To do what?  machinfo will work on your Integrity server.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.