Re: hpacucli command (5378 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
dawn_jose85
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 1 of 14 (5,378 Views)

hpacucli command

Hi,
In my HP Proliant server RHEL5 is running.
I had connected my linux server thorough putty. Then i typed the command hpacucli .
when the server is runnig inthis prompt my putty got inactive , so i had close the putty without exiting from hpacucli prompt.
So when i connected my server again and typed hpacucli command , it is showing the error
one instane of hpacucli is already running .
I have to kill this process .
can you please help me to do this
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Tim Nelson
Posts: 3,723
Registered: ‎06-01-2000
Message 2 of 14 (5,378 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

# ps -ef|grep hpacu
root 29566 10748 0 11:11 pts/3 00:00:00 /bin/sh /usr/sbin/hpacucli
root 29584 29566 0 11:11 pts/3 00:00:00 /opt/compaq/hpacucli/bld/.hpacucli
tnelson 32440 32052 0 11:12 pts/4 00:00:00 grep hpacu

kill the first one.

kill 29566
then check for it again.
ps -ef|grep hpacu

if it did not die
try kill -17
kill -15
and eventually kill -9

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
dawn_jose85
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 3 of 14 (5,378 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

Hi,
I had done the above suggested steps.
but is was showing as

ipf122root#ps -ef|grep hpacu
root 16249 16028 0 11:10 pts/0 00:00:00 grep hpacu
ipf122root#kill 16249
ksh: kill: 16249: No such process
ipf122root#hpacucli
HP Array Configuration Utility CLI 8.10-2.0
Detecting Controllers...

Error: Another instance of ACU is already running (possibly a service). Please
terminate the ACU application before running the ACU CLI. Press ENTER to
exit.

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
dawn_jose85
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 4 of 14 (5,378 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

I tried for the below command also
killall -9 hpacu
The output is "No process killed"

may i get a solution to resolve this issue
Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 24,396
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 5 of 14 (5,378 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

>#ps -ef | grep hpacu
root 16249 16028 0 11:10 pts/0 00:00:00 grep hpacu
>#kill 16249
>ksh: kill: 16249: No such process

You need to look closely at what you are killing. You tried to kill the grep process which has long since exited. You could use the following trick to prevent false ps(1) matches:
ps -ef | grep [h]pacu

>Error: Another instance of ACU is already running (possibly a service).

This may be erroneously produced due to some left over file on the system, not that there is a hpacucli process running.

From Tim's output, it appears that /usr/sbin/hpacucli is a script, you may want to look at it.
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
dawn_jose85
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 6 of 14 (5,378 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

Hi,
i tried th ecommand which you have given :


ipf122root#ps -ef|grep [h]pacu
ipf122root#
output is as above
I think no process is running as hpacucli . but showing the error as another instance is running . Is there any other solution to resolve this issue
Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 24,396
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 7 of 14 (5,378 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

>I think no process is running as hpacucli.

Exactly and the above command shows it directly.

>Is there any other solution to resolve this issue?

You need to investigate that script and see what checks it is making to erroneously think there is another hpacucli running.
Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 24,396
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 8 of 14 (5,378 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

>ME: think there is another hpacucli running.

hpacucli may be executing a binary and that may be orphaned.
Are there any processes with 1 as their PPID?
ps -ef | grep " 1 "
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Matti_Kurkela
Posts: 6,249
Registered: ‎12-02-2001
Message 9 of 14 (5,378 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

Perhaps the web GUI version of the ACU (the name was quite a mouthful... cpqacuxe, says Google) interferes with the CLI version?

Note that the error message talks about "another instance of ACU": it does not necessarily mean "another instance of hpacucli" specifically.

Please run:
/usr/sbin/cpqacuxe -stop

and then try hpacucli again.

MK
MK
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
dawn_jose85
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 10 of 14 (5,378 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

Hi , Thank you very much for your kind support.
The issue has been got resolved .
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
dawn_jose85
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 11 of 14 (5,345 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

Hi Mr.Kurkele

I'm expecting once more the same kind of support from your part.
I'm having issue with hpasmcli command in my 2 HP Proliant servers .
I'm attaching the errors encountered for two servers.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Matti_Kurkela
Posts: 6,249
Registered: ‎12-02-2001
Message 12 of 14 (5,345 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

(I'm not working for HP: I'm just a volunteer here, using the forums to keep my skills sharp.)

On these servers, what is the output of these commands:

rpm -q hp-health hpasm

service hp-health status

On ips121, it looks like the hp-health package has not been properly installed, as it is not visible in the chkconfig listing. You might want to reinstall/update it.

On ips132, try "service hp-health restart".

MK
MK
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
superfly187
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-26-2012
Message 13 of 14 (4,543 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

ipf122root#ps -ef|grep hpacu
root 16249 16028 0 11:10 pts/0 00:00:00 grep hpacu
ipf122root#kill 16249
ksh: kill: 16249: No such process

 

The process listed here is not the applicaton, but is the grep command that was issued.

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 24,396
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 14 of 14 (4,537 Views)

Re: hpacucli command

[ Edited ]

>but is the grep command that was issued.

 

Didn't I say that a year ago?  ;-)

 

You also don't need to use grep at all:

ps -ef -C hpacucli

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation