Re: drd clone fails - making clone image bootable fails (580 Views)
Reply
Advisor
VUT
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 1 of 8 (597 Views)
Accepted Solution

drd clone fails - making clone image bootable fails

doing a DRD clone on a 11.31 VM 

 

keeps failing at the making clone image bootable

 

the following error appears

 

unable to stat " /var/opt/drd/mnts/sysimage_001/dev/vg00/lvswap1"

 

lvswap1 no longer exsists as  has  been removed - cannot see where this is being picked up from by the clone process !

 

We have just downloaded and used the latest DRD software same error

 

Any ideas would be good as spent too long looking at his and am now going round in circles

Honored Contributor
Patrick Wallek
Posts: 13,777
Registered: ‎06-21-2000
Message 2 of 8 (594 Views)

Re: drd clone fails - making clone image bootable fails

You can enable additional logging / debugging messages to try to figure out what's happening:

 

Remove all files under /var/opt/drd/tmp, then run your DRD clone as below:


# export SMDDEBUG_SMDinit=9
#export INST_DEBUG=5
#drd clone -t /dev/disk/diskXXX -x overwrite=true -x verbosity=5

 

Once it has finished, or has failed, check the log files in /var/opt/drd/tmp.

Advisor
VUT
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 3 of 8 (586 Views)

Re: drd clone fails - making clone image bootable fails

thanks for the info

 

Found a reference to lvswap1 in one of the files but still dont know where it comes from

 

looks like some reference to the kernel  as has /kconfig/Modules in the file

 

but the one containing the lvswap1 reference has a section starting

 

/pri_swap_node (0x1)

 

under this is

 

ps_path KR_VTYPE_STRING  "/dev/vg00/lvswap1" (0x1)

 

so again where is DRD getting this info as lvlnboot shows swap as lvol2 - is there a way to change it in kernel to be lvol2  if that is where it is getting this info !!

Honored Contributor
Patrick Wallek
Posts: 13,777
Registered: ‎06-21-2000
Message 4 of 8 (582 Views)

Re: drd clone fails - making clone image bootable fails

The lvlnboot output will only show your PRIMARY swap, which is usually lvol2.

 

However, you may have other swap logical volumes configured in VG00.  You can look to see what swap you have configured via the 'swapinfo -tam' command.  You should also look in /etc/fstab to see what swap areas are to be activated on system boot.

 

If the output of 'swapinfo' and the volumes listed in /etc/fstab do not match then that may be a problem.  Since LVOL2 is the primary swap space, it will NOT be listed in /etc/fstab. 

Advisor
VUT
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 5 of 8 (580 Views)

Re: drd clone fails - making clone image bootable fails

lvswap1 not showing in swapinfo or in fstab not showing as a lv under vg00 - argghh
Exalted Contributor
Steven E. Protter
Posts: 33,806
Registered: ‎08-15-2002
Message 6 of 8 (574 Views)

Re: drd clone fails - making clone image bootable fails

Shalom,

 

I have some experience with this issue. Normally this happens when the target disk has issues. The disk may be beginning to fail.

 

I've also seen it less often as a result of a software defect.

 

 

swlist -l bundle DynRootDisk

 

Please post and consider using the most current version.

 

SEP

Steven E Protter
Owner of ISN Corporation
http://isnamerica.com
http://hpuxconsulting.com
Sponsor: http://hpux.ws
Twitter: http://twitter.com/hpuxlinux
Founder http://newdatacloud.com
Advisor
VUT
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 7 of 8 (550 Views)

Re: drd clone fails - making clone image bootable fails

Hi SEP

 

disk is a lun on SAN so not a physical disk in server

 

We are using the latest version  of drd - B11.31.A.3.11.328  clone was also  failing with previous version which is why we updated just in case !!

Advisor
VUT
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 8 of 8 (514 Views)

Re: drd clone fails - making clone image bootable fails

Ok  gave in a raised a support case

 

They believed some reference to lvswap1 was hanging about or removed incorrectly

 

So we just did an lvcreate  / lvremove of lvswap1 - this appears to have cleared the issue and the clone now completes ok

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.