Re: Tru64 Daylight Savings (146 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
Francesca Watts
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-21-2004
Message 1 of 4 (146 Views)

Tru64 Daylight Savings

Hello,
Im just wondering on VMS we have to change the time to match daylight savings.
I think in Tru64 /etc/zoneinfo/sources/europe does this for us?

Does the UK come under the EU?
And does max mean forever after ??

Rule EU 1996 max-Oct lastSun 1:00u 0

Anyone can confirm this ?

Many thanks
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Steven Schweda
Posts: 9,068
Registered: ‎02-23-2005
Message 2 of 4 (146 Views)

Re: Tru64 Daylight Savings

> [...] on VMS we have to change the time to
> match daylight savings.

Really? Mine changes automatically. (And
has for many years.)

> Does the UK come under the EU?

Are you asking _me_ which time zone you're
in?

> And does max mean forever after ??

A Web search for "timezone rules" suggests
that:
The word maximum (or an abbreviation)
means the maximum year representable as
an integer.

So, that's probably as close to "forever
after" as one can get in this context.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Martin Moore
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-19-2003
Message 3 of 4 (146 Views)

Re: Tru64 Daylight Savings

You can check when your Tru64 system is scheduled to make a DST transition in 2010 (or any other year) like this:

zdump -v /etc/zoneinfo/localtime | grep 2010

On my system, which is in the US Eastern time zone, this returns:

/etc/zoneinfo/localtime Mon Oct 25 13:54:37 2010 EDT
/etc/zoneinfo/localtime Sun Mar 14 06:59:59 2010 GMT = Sun Mar 14 01:59:59 2010 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/zoneinfo/localtime Sun Mar 14 07:00:00 2010 GMT = Sun Mar 14 03:00:00 2010 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/zoneinfo/localtime Sun Nov 7 05:59:59 2010 GMT = Sun Nov 7 01:59:59 2010 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/zoneinfo/localtime Sun Nov 7 06:00:00 2010 GMT = Sun Nov 7 01:00:00 2010 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

This shows that the system transitioned from Eastern Standard Time (EST) to Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) on March 14, and it will transition back to EST on November 7.

Martin
Every complex problem has a solution that is simple, elegant--and utterly wrong.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Francesca Watts
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-21-2004
Message 4 of 4 (146 Views)

Re: Tru64 Daylight Savings

Sorry Steven, I didnt articultae myself properly.
Thanks Martin that was exactly the answer I was looking for.

Many thanks both for your help & time.

Francesca
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation