Show devices (20 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
Isaac_4
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎01-05-2000
Message 1 of 7 (20 Views)
Accepted Solution

Show devices

Hi every body:

I need to know if in DS10 o ES40 exist some command like Search in BCH on RP Hp models RP where you can made a rescan for scsi devices where you add a new disk with out reboot all server

Thks

The time is gold
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Ivan Ferreira
Posts: 6,957
Registered: ‎05-07-2004
Message 2 of 7 (20 Views)

Re: Show devices

I don't fully understand your question but, to rescan devices in tru64 v5, you use:

hwmgr scan scsi

To display the devices you can use:

hwmgr v d
hwmgr show scsi
hwmgr view hierarchy
Por que hacerlo dificil si es posible hacerlo facil? - Why do it the hard way, when you can do it the easy way?
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Isaac_4
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎01-05-2000
Message 3 of 7 (20 Views)

Re: Show devices

The scan that i need to made is in firmware >>> prompt
The time is gold
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Ivan Ferreira
Posts: 6,957
Registered: ‎05-07-2004
Message 4 of 7 (20 Views)

Re: Show devices

You normally don't need to rescan devices at >>> prompt, but if you need to do it, you must issue the INIT command.
Por que hacerlo dificil si es posible hacerlo facil? - Why do it the hard way, when you can do it the easy way?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Steven Schweda
Posts: 9,067
Registered: ‎02-23-2005
Message 5 of 7 (20 Views)

Re: Show devices

> [...] with out reboot [...]

> [...] firmware >>> prompt

Huh?

Is there some actual problem you're trying
to solve?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Hein van den Heuvel
Posts: 6,580
Registered: ‎05-19-2003
Message 6 of 7 (20 Views)

Re: Show devices

> The scan that i need to made is in firmware >>> prompt

Just say ">>> SHOW DEVICE"
Or ">>> SHOW CONFIG" ?

Optionally use INIT or Power-cycle ?

fwiw,
Hein.
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Brendan Murphy_5
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-14-2005
Message 7 of 7 (20 Views)

Re: Show devices

All the above is true, unless you count SAN devices as SCSI attached. If that's the case then they will not show up at the SRM >>> prompt. You'll need to run wwidmgr to view SAN connected devices.

To show HBA Adapters
>>> wwidmgr -show ada

To show all presented LUN's
>>> wwidmgr -show wwid

To set a particular LUN as a volume visible at the SRM >>> level (4 max I think)
>>> wwidmgr -quickset -udid

Once you have used the wwidmgr command, you will have to run the "init" command in order for the SRM >>> to reset correctly, otherwise you will not see consistent information. something to do with memory I think.

regards,

Brendan
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation