Show devices (22 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
Isaac_4
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎01-05-2000
Message 1 of 7 (22 Views)
Accepted Solution

Show devices

Hi every body:

I need to know if in DS10 o ES40 exist some command like Search in BCH on RP Hp models RP where you can made a rescan for scsi devices where you add a new disk with out reboot all server

Thks

The time is gold
Honored Contributor
Ivan Ferreira
Posts: 6,957
Registered: ‎05-07-2004
Message 2 of 7 (22 Views)

Re: Show devices

I don't fully understand your question but, to rescan devices in tru64 v5, you use:

hwmgr scan scsi

To display the devices you can use:

hwmgr v d
hwmgr show scsi
hwmgr view hierarchy
Por que hacerlo dificil si es posible hacerlo facil? - Why do it the hard way, when you can do it the easy way?
Frequent Advisor
Isaac_4
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎01-05-2000
Message 3 of 7 (22 Views)

Re: Show devices

The scan that i need to made is in firmware >>> prompt
The time is gold
Honored Contributor
Ivan Ferreira
Posts: 6,957
Registered: ‎05-07-2004
Message 4 of 7 (22 Views)

Re: Show devices

You normally don't need to rescan devices at >>> prompt, but if you need to do it, you must issue the INIT command.
Por que hacerlo dificil si es posible hacerlo facil? - Why do it the hard way, when you can do it the easy way?
Honored Contributor
Steven Schweda
Posts: 9,107
Registered: ‎02-23-2005
Message 5 of 7 (22 Views)

Re: Show devices

> [...] with out reboot [...]

> [...] firmware >>> prompt

Huh?

Is there some actual problem you're trying
to solve?
Honored Contributor
Hein van den Heuvel
Posts: 6,589
Registered: ‎05-19-2003
Message 6 of 7 (22 Views)

Re: Show devices

> The scan that i need to made is in firmware >>> prompt

Just say ">>> SHOW DEVICE"
Or ">>> SHOW CONFIG" ?

Optionally use INIT or Power-cycle ?

fwiw,
Hein.
Frequent Advisor
Brendan Murphy_5
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-14-2005
Message 7 of 7 (22 Views)

Re: Show devices

All the above is true, unless you count SAN devices as SCSI attached. If that's the case then they will not show up at the SRM >>> prompt. You'll need to run wwidmgr to view SAN connected devices.

To show HBA Adapters
>>> wwidmgr -show ada

To show all presented LUN's
>>> wwidmgr -show wwid

To set a particular LUN as a volume visible at the SRM >>> level (4 max I think)
>>> wwidmgr -quickset -udid

Once you have used the wwidmgr command, you will have to run the "init" command in order for the SRM >>> to reset correctly, otherwise you will not see consistent information. something to do with memory I think.

regards,

Brendan
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.