Re: RAID5 (757 Views)
Reply
Regular Advisor
Lisa Dingman
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 1 of 12 (757 Views)
Accepted Solution

RAID5

[ Edited ]

Would someone please verify what the correct process would be to increase RAID5. We converted from a rp5470 to a rx6600 with the OS mirroed on one disk and have a 3 disk RAID5 configured. We purchased 3 more disks and HP came out and wasn't able to add all 3 disks at once so added that single disk.
This is the output from saconfig:
saconfig /dev/ciss4 -N |more:
******************* SmartArray RAID Controller /dev/ciss4 ********************

Auto-Fail Missing Disks at Boot = disabled
Cache Configuration Status = cache enabled
Cache Ratio = 25% Read / 75% Write

---------- PHYSICAL DRIVES ----------

Location Ct Enc Bay WWID Size Status

Internal 1I 1 4 0x5000c5000f34f155 146.8 GB OK
Internal 1I 1 3 0x5000c5000fc8999d 146.8 GB UNASSIGNED
Internal 1I 1 2 0x5000c5000fcbc5dd 146.8 GB UNASSIGNED
Internal 1I 1 1 0x5000c5000fcb8331 146.8 GB OK
Internal 2I 1 8 0x5000c5000f3d6679 146.8 GB OK
Internal 2I 1 7 0x5000c5000f3a1161 146.8 GB OK
Internal 2I 1 6 0x5000c5000f35ed29 146.8 GB OK
Internal 2I 1 5 0x5000c5000f2880d1 146.8 GB OK

---------- LOGICAL DRIVE 0 ----------

Device File = /dev/disk/disk3
RAID Level = 1+0
Size = 139979 MB
Stripe Size = 128 KB
Status = OK

Participating Physical Drive(s):

Ct Enc Bay WWID
2I 1 8 0x5000c5000f3d6679
2I 1 7 0x5000c5000f3a1161

Participating Spare Drive(s):

None

---------- LOGICAL DRIVE 1 ----------

Device File = /dev/disk/disk5
RAID Level = 5
Size = 279964 MB
Stripe Size = 16 KB
Status = OK
articipating Physical Drive(s):

Ct Enc Bay WWID
1I 1 4 0x5000c5000f34f155
1I 1 1 0x5000c5000fcb8331
2I 1 6 0x5000c5000f35ed29
2I 1 5 0x5000c5000f2880d1

Participating Spare Drive(s):

None

(EOF):

We have 2 more disks to add and then add them to the RAID5 setup. Would this be correct:

saconfig /dev/ciss4 -R5 -p 1I:1:3 -p 1I:1:2
saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E1 -p 1I:1:1 -p 1I:1:2 -p 1I:1:3

Also is a reboot required and will the above statements both add the disks into the RAID4 and expand vol group1. I apologize if this is something obvious, I have no formal training and have been in sys admin for a year so am basically with the help of man pages am teaching myself.

 

 

P.S. This thread has been moevd from Storage > Planning to HP-UX > sysadmin. - Hp Forum moderator

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,395
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 2 of 12 (757 Views)

Re: RAID5

You want to extend an existing logical drive, right?

This command will reate a NEW logical drive!

# saconfig /dev/ciss4 -R5 -p 1I:1:3 -p 1I:1:2


To add a new disk to an existing drive (Example):

# saconfig /dev/ciss3 -E 1 -p 1:3
Logical drive 1 expanded from 3 to 4 physical drives


To extend the logical drive 1 (Example):

# saconfig /dev/ciss3 -E 1 -c 100
Logical drive 1 extended from 87.9 GB to 100 GB in capacity



Now it depends - with hp-ux 11.23 you need to deactivate the volume group in order to use vgmodify to adjust the LVM settings to the new size - wit a current 11.31 you can do this online.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Honored Contributor
Víctor Cespón
Posts: 2,397
Registered: ‎11-09-2007
Message 3 of 12 (757 Views)

Re: RAID5

http://docs.hp.com/en/J6369-90051/ch03s02.html

Expanding the Capacity of an Array
saconfig /dev/cissX -E -p [-p ...]

saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E 1 -p ...

Then:

Extending the Capacity of a Logical Drive
saconfig /dev/cissX -E -c

saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E 1 -c 682
Regular Advisor
Lisa Dingman
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 4 of 12 (757 Views)

Re: RAID5

When HP was here they did to add the single extra drive(was correct?) they did a '-p' with the 3 items separated by ':' below?:
saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E 1 - p 1I:1:1

So to verify, I can do the following to add other 2 and increase RAID:

saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E 1 -p 1:2 -p 1:3
saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E 1 -c (gbsize)

I understand that you basically have 'n -1' size so we will have 6 146 g drives, would I be save to increase to 700G?
Regular Advisor
Lisa Dingman
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 5 of 12 (757 Views)

Re: RAID5

Forgot to mention we are on 11.31, so no problem with doing on the fly? Am going to read over doc suggested.
Regular Advisor
Lisa Dingman
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 6 of 12 (757 Views)

Re: RAID5

Have read the doc, will do the following:
(Since HP did the saconfig -E with 3 args to the x:x:x is that a problem? Does it matter that ours weren't added in order(4 - 8 added before 1-3) Am ok to continue as below:


1)# saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E 1 -p 1:1 -p 1:2 - p 1:3
2)saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E 1 -c 430

I alwasy have problmes converting to gb -we have OS on 2 disks, want to inc vg01 from 286G to 700G, bdf below:
# bdf
Filesystem kbytes used avail %used Mounted on
/dev/vg00/lvol3 1048576 295736 747064 28% /
/dev/vg00/lvol1 1835008 316000 1507232 17% /stand
/dev/vg00/lvol8 8912896 1240072 7616880 14% /var
/dev/vg00/lvol7 15368192 7115768 8188008 46% /usr
/dev/vg00/lvol4 5242880 1413312 3799752 27% /tmp
/dev/vg00/lvol6 15368192 10631208 4700008 69% /opt
/dev/vg00/lvol5 131072 18944 111296 15% /home
/dev/vg01/lvol1 286654464 94516631 180129303 34% /datatel
DevFS 11 11 0 100% /dev/deviceFileSystem
#
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,395
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 7 of 12 (757 Views)

Re: RAID5

I assume you have an smart array P400 controller.

You see

Location Ct Enc Bay WWID Size Status

Internal 1I 1 3 0x5000c5000fc8999d 146.8 GB UNASSIGNED

This means

Controller 1I (capital i = internal)
Enclosure 1
Bay 3

so you specify a disk like this

-p 1I:1:3

My examples were from a sa6402, the notation is different.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
Lisa Dingman
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 8 of 12 (757 Views)

Re: RAID5

Thank you, yes have p400 controller, so will do:

1)# saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E 1 -p 1I:1:1 -p 1I:1:2 - p 1I:1:3
2)# saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E 1 -c 430

There is no problem doing on fly? HP had problm trying to do multiples, is there a reason multiple drives wouldn't work (several -p entries vs a single -p)
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,395
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 9 of 12 (757 Views)

Re: RAID5

Syntax is

saconfig /dev/cissX -R [-S ]
-p [-p ... ]
[-s ] [-c ]

... each drives needs a -p ... ;-)

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
Lisa Dingman
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 10 of 12 (748 Views)

Re: RAID5

Ok I must be blind, don't I have that?
'saconfig /dev/ciss4 -R5 -p 1I:1:3 -p 1I:1:2'
saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E1 -p 1I:1:1 -p 1I:1:2 -p 1I:1:3

Just finished both a hardware and software conversion so if I miss something you are more than likely right but I have the -p's - is that what you are referring to?
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,395
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 11 of 12 (748 Views)

Re: RAID5

Just do

# saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E 1 -p 1I:1:2 -p 1I:1:3

only, then extend the capacity.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
Lisa Dingman
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 12 of 12 (748 Views)

Re: RAID5

For some reason we are unable to attach the 6th disk to the RAID configuration. I tried attaching it as a spare and it saw it and the disk was fine. The HP rep is at a loss to find out why, thinks maybe cannot have 6 disks in a RAID 5, but that seems odd, he has basically turned it over to us. At this point the last disk is assigned as a spare and I want to be sure that extending the size of VG01 can be done on the fly and if the following statements would be correct? Is a reboot required?

saconfig /dev/ciss4 -E 1 -c xxx
(what would I use for xxx to increase the gbit size of vg01 to the available space on the twonew disk drives(1I:1:1, and 1I:1:2) VGO1 is now 286654464 kbyes and I want to increase it to the most possible from the two added 146G disks.

# bdf
Filesystem kbytes used avail %used Mounted on
/dev/vg00/lvol3 1048576 295792 747008 28% /
/dev/vg00/lvol1 1835008 316000 1507232 17% /stand
/dev/vg00/lvol8 8912896 1437080 7421472 16% /var
/dev/vg00/lvol7 15368192 7115848 8187920 46% /usr
/dev/vg00/lvol4 5242880 1412848 3800216 27% /tmp
/dev/vg00/lvol6 15368192 10631208 4700008 69% /opt
/dev/vg00/lvol5 131072 23208 107048 18% /home
/dev/vg01/lvol1 286654464 130872260 146052844 47% /datatel
DevFS 11 11 0 100% /dev/deviceFileSystem


The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.