Re: problem with Xmanager Can't open display (758 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Eric TAO
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-02-2007
Message 1 of 9 (817 Views)
Accepted Solution

Problems when start CDE from Reflection X

Hi ALL,

I just installed a HPUX 11i V1 on rp4440. it's working fine with telnet and REXEC shell, but, when i try to use Reflection X to start the X Windows, it prompt me "The Desktop Messaging System could not be started". What should i do with this? i have no idea on it, since network and hosts are already configured properly.

Please help.

Thanks
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Cheryl Griffin
Posts: 2,701
Registered: ‎05-11-2000
Message 2 of 9 (817 Views)

Re: Problems when start CDE from Reflection X

ths can be a sign that name resolution is not working correctly

nslookup ip --> returns hostname
nslookup hostname --> returns ip address
check /etc/hosts, /etc/rc.config.d/netconf, etc.
since this is a new system it's likely that you need to run set_parms to set the correct parameters
"Downtime is a Crime."
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Bill Hassell
Posts: 14,170
Registered: ‎05-29-2000
Message 3 of 9 (817 Views)

Re: Problems when start CDE from Reflection X

Reflection/X is simply an Xwindow emulator so before you try to start CDE (the Desktop manager), use telnet to login to your HP-UX server, then use:

export DISPLAY=$(who -muR | awk '{print $NF}'):0.0

to set your PC's hostname or IP address. Now run xclock from your telnet session. If the clock pops up on your PC, everything is setup for Xwindows and you now have to setup the CDE Desktop Manager on HP-UX.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Eric TAO
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-02-2007
Message 4 of 9 (817 Views)

Re: Problems when start CDE from Reflection X

Hi Cheryl and Bill,

Thanks for your reply, actually, I did follow you 2 instructions to fix the CDE problem, but, the same error message keep prompts to me, anyway, below is my results:

1. nslookup ip/hostname = successful to resolve

2. configured "export DISPLAY=$(who -muR | awk '{print $NF}'):0.0" via REXEC under Reflection X, and then type "xclock" = successful to show the clock popup on my PC.

And now, what should i do? where can i setup my CDE? many many thanks

Eric TAO
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Robert-Jan Goossens
Posts: 7,384
Registered: ‎04-04-2000
Message 5 of 9 (817 Views)

Re: Problems when start CDE from Reflection X

Hi Eric,

How do you resolve ip's/hostnames, DNS or the local /etc/hosts file?

# ll /etc/nsswitch.conf
# cat /etc/nsswitch.conf

If you don't have the nsswitch.conf file, cp the /etc/nsswitch.files to the nsswitch.conf.

Reagrds,
Robert-Jan
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Eric TAO
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-02-2007
Message 6 of 9 (817 Views)

Re: Problems when start CDE from Reflection X

Hi Robert-Jan,

Yeah, it's working now, many thanks for your help.

BTW, if i would like to create new user with the root privilege, then, is it just simply assign into UID 0?

Best Regards
Eric TAO
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Robert-Jan Goossens
Posts: 7,384
Registered: ‎04-04-2000
Message 7 of 9 (817 Views)

Re: Problems when start CDE from Reflection X

I would suggest not to create a second root user, have a look at sudo.

http://hpux.connect.org.uk/hppd/hpux/Sysadmin/sudo-1.6.8p12/
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
unix_3608
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-05-2011
Message 8 of 9 (767 Views)

probelm with Xmanger Can't open display

Hi Experts,

 

While executing the xclock command on local user prompting below error messages.
lc$ xclock
Error: Can't open display: 10.37.93.100:0

Exeuted below steps.
#/usr/dt/bin/dtconfig -e
# /sbin/init.d/dtlogin.rc stop
# /sbin/init.d/dtlogin.rc start

export DISPLAY=10.37.93.100:0
Still same problem....

 # grep -i 177 /etc/services
xdmcp        177/tcp                 # X Display Manager Control Protocol
xdmcp        177/udp                 # X Display Manager Control Protocol

Please suggest..

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 24,697
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 9 of 9 (758 Views)

Re: problem with Xmanager Can't open display

>Error: Can't open display: 10.37.93.100:0

 

Where/what is 10.37.93.100?  Do you have an Xserver running there?

Also, I typically have to use:  ... :0.0

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation