Re: Is my hpux box using DNS server? (1371 Views)
Reply
Regular Advisor
mogiro
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 1 of 6 (1,371 Views)
Accepted Solution

Is my hpux box using DNS server?

Hi,
I have a rp8420 with HPUX11.11. I see it has a DNS server configured in /etc/resolv.conf but I think it is not using it as the nsswitch.conf us:
hosts: files [NOTFOUND=return UNAVAIL=continue] dns [NOTFOUND=return UNAVAIL=continue TRYAGAIN=return]

Am I right?
Thanks in advance.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Robert-Jan Goossens
Posts: 7,384
Registered: ‎04-04-2000
Message 2 of 6 (1,371 Views)

Re: Is my hpux box using DNS server?

Hi,

Yes your box is using DNS, it will first search the /etc/hosts file then ask the dns server. Try to resolve an IPadress or hostname with the nslookup command,

Regards,
Robert-Jan
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
mogiro
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 3 of 6 (1,371 Views)

Re: Is my hpux box using DNS server?

mmm, so I have another question now.
if it is using DNS first, why when I issue a nslookup machine.domain it answers:
*** Can't find server name for address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx: Non-existent domain
I'm sure I introduces rightly the DNS server IP's and the machine I am asking for on the nslookup exists...
Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
James R. Ferguson
Posts: 21,184
Registered: ‎07-06-2000
Message 4 of 6 (1,371 Views)

Re: Is my hpux box using DNS server?

Hi:

> if it is using DNS first, why when I issue a nslookup machine.domain it answers:
*** Can't find server name for address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx: Non-existent domain

This is a standard response for either a simple or fully qualified name lookup that fails.

Regards!

...JRF...
Please use plain text.
Exalted Contributor
Steven E. Protter
Posts: 33,806
Registered: ‎08-15-2002
Message 5 of 6 (1,371 Views)

Re: Is my hpux box using DNS server?

Shalom mogiro,

Either the host name being looked up does not exist, or the server is not communicating correctly.

Based on your nsswitch.conf configuration and prior posts and the error message, I'd say you are using a DNS server and its not answering your query.

nslookup has an interactive mode that will let you look up a host name from any DNS server you choose.

If the HP DNS/BIND package is installed, you get dig which has more varied options for testing DNS environment, even if you never use it as a server. dig is standard on Linux.

SEP
Steven E Protter
Owner of ISN Corporation
http://isnamerica.com
http://hpuxconsulting.com
Sponsor: http://hpux.ws
Twitter: http://twitter.com/hpuxlinux
Founder http://newdatacloud.com
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Bill Hassell
Posts: 14,178
Registered: ‎05-29-2000
Message 6 of 6 (1,371 Views)

Re: Is my hpux box using DNS server?

Use nsquery rather than nslookup. It is much more useful in tracing the steps in resolving a hostname or IP address:

nsquery hosts www.hp.com
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation