Re: Fibre Channel installation issue (820 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
Brian M Welch
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 1 of 25 (820 Views)
Accepted Solution

Fibre Channel installation issue

Here's my issue:

I downloaded the depot from HP for our adapter (A5185A), and run the swlist -d @ /path/to/depot , and that comes back as expected. I run a swreg to register the depot, works great! Now the issue is this: In swinstall, I switch to the depot I just registered, and mark the depot for install. swinstall marks the depot as 'partial'. The install runs, and states the fileset is already installed. Thought this was pretty bizarre, rebooted the system and ioscan still shows the adapter as unclaimed. Nothing in the kernel refers to our adapter. Running insf -e does not help the ioscan.

Anyone have any ideas?
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,451
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 2 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

Whatever A5185A is, it is not a FC adapter.

But A5158A is.

Now it would be helpful to provide more details, like the driver version, the OS version, the server model ....

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Frequent Advisor
Brian M Welch
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 3 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

I stand corrected, the adapter is A5158A.

The OS is HP-UX 11.0
Server is a J5600 Visualize Workstation
The driver version is B.11.00.10

Frequent Advisor
Brian M Welch
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 4 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

I should also mention that we will not be updating the OS on this system. It's a crash and burn system used for development.
Honored Contributor
Tim Nelson
Posts: 3,727
Registered: ‎06-01-2000
Message 5 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

My thoughts.

1) if you are sure the driver is installed then check the kernel. Is there any fc* listed in /stand/system. If not add the appropriate device drivers, rebuild kernel and reboot.

2) remove the supposidly installed FC drivers and reinstall

3) force the reinstall of the driver.

The reinstall of the driver would add the modules to the kernel.

Frequent Advisor
Brian M Welch
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 6 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

Tim,

Thanks for the response! Here's a glimpse of /stand/system

* Drivers and Subsystems

DlkmDrv
GSCtoPCI
PCItoPCI
SCentIf
arp
asio0
asp
audio
autofsc
beep
btlan3
btlan6
c720
c8xx
cb
cdfs
clone
core
diag1
diag2
dlkm
dlpi
dmem
echo
fc
fc_arp
fcgsc
fcgsc_lan
ffs

We've tried to force a reinstall as well, no dice. Another thing I should note is that there are no td files associated with this device.
Trusted Contributor
Juan M Leon
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎01-14-2003
Message 7 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

I agree with Nelson, that there is possible you have the FC drivers not loaded in the kernel.

I had something similar when I install FC cards to a rp4440.

read the following link:
http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=1110120
Trusted Contributor
James George_1
Posts: 252
Registered: ‎02-04-2002
Message 8 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

well, make sure you have installed the HBA / adapter properly. try removing it and re installing it ..

Rgds / james
forum is for techies .....heaven is for those who are born again !!
Frequent Advisor
Brian M Welch
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 9 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

lsdev output:

# lsdev | grep -e 'td' -e 'Class' -e 'fc'
Character Block Driver Class
46 -1 netdiag1 unknown
142 -1 fcgsc_lan lan
143 -1 fcT1_cntl unknown
144 -1 fcp unknown
240 -1 td unknown
Trusted Contributor
James George_1
Posts: 252
Registered: ‎02-04-2002
Message 10 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

It looks like you have to add the td/fcd modules in the kernel and reboot.

See this posting :

http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=1110120



Rgds / JAmes

forum is for techies .....heaven is for those who are born again !!
Honored Contributor
Sandman!
Posts: 2,220
Registered: ‎01-13-2005
Message 11 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

Most likely the td module has not been configured into the kernel as shown by the output of the lsdev cmd. You would need to configure td into the kernel regenerate the kernel and reboot.

~hope it helps
Honored Contributor
Sandman!
Posts: 2,220
Registered: ‎01-13-2005
Message 12 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

Hit the button prematurely. Could you post the output of the following cmd. It will tell whether the tachyon driver for A5158A Fibre Channel card has been configured into the kernel:

# kmsystem -q td
Frequent Advisor
Brian M Welch
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 13 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

I think we're on the right track! Here's the output:
# kmsystem -q td
kmsystem: Invalid module, subsystem or driver name : td
Honored Contributor
Sandman!
Posts: 2,220
Registered: ‎01-13-2005
Message 14 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

Is the software for the Fibre Channel card installed? Post output of cmd below:

# swlist FibrChanl-00
Frequent Advisor
Brian M Welch
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 15 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

Not there. Now, we have come full circle. I downloaded hpux__11.00_09141034.tgz from HP which is the driver, and it's required dependencies. I follow the instructions here: http://h20293.www2.hp.com/portal/swdepot/displayInstallInfo.do?productNumber=A5158A

No dice. In SAM, under kernel config> configurable parms, # of tach adapters is set to 0. Under drivers, the drivers are there!
fcT1 Out Out Driver Static N/A Fi â
â â fcT1_cntl Out Out Driver Static N/A Fi â â
â â fcT1_fcp Out Out Driver Static N/A Fi â â
â â fcgsc_lan In In Driver Static N/A HP â â
â â fcp Out Out Driver Static N/A Fi â â
â â fcpmux Out Out Driver Static N/A HP â

Frequent Advisor
Brian M Welch
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 16 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

Here's updated kmsystem output:
# kmsystem | grep -e 'td' -e 'fc' -e 'Module'
Module Configured Loadable
fc Y -
fcT1 N -
fcT1_cntl N -
fcT1_fcp N -
fc_arp Y -
fcgsc Y -
fcgsc_lan Y -
fcms N -
fcp N -
fcp_cdio N -
fcparray N -
fcpdev N -
fcpmux N -
netdiag1 Y -
ssrfc N -

Also, here's what we DO have in swlist:
# swlist -l product | grep -i fibre
FCMassStorage B.11.00 Fibre Channel Mass Storage
HSCFibreCh B.11.00 Fibre Channel/9000 Product
PHKL_19416 1.0 Fibre Channel Mass Storage Driver Patch
PHKL_23939 1.0 Fibre Channel Mass Storage Driver Patch
PHNE_15537 1.0 Fibre Channel cumulative patch

I guess the gist of what we need to know is based on what of the following needs to be added to the kernel and where do we get 'td' from>?

Trusted Contributor
Juan M Leon
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎01-14-2003
Message 17 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

Looking at your previous post does not seem to be installed.
Can you look in the /var/adm/sw/swinstall.log and swagentd.log file to check for any errors in the software installation.

That will help yuo to find out what happened with the install.
Trusted Contributor
Juan M Leon
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎01-14-2003
Message 18 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

BTW the td you get by issuing the following command
#-> lsdev | grep -e 'td' -e 'Class' -e 'fc'



Note: would you mind to assing some points.
thanks
Exalted Contributor
Steven E. Protter
Posts: 33,806
Registered: ‎08-15-2002
Message 19 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

Shalom,

Check the server doc at http://docs.hp.com and see if the card is installed in a supported slot. Just because it fits does not mean it will work.

I'm not even sure the card is supported on that system. http://partsurfer.hp.com It probably is, this thread has had a lot of people look at it.

SEP
Steven E Protter
Owner of ISN Corporation
http://isnamerica.com
http://hpuxconsulting.com
Sponsor: http://hpux.ws
Twitter: http://twitter.com/hpuxlinux
Founder http://newdatacloud.com
Frequent Advisor
Brian M Welch
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 20 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

Juan, Here's the output of the lsdev command, and td shows up, albeit unknown.
$lsdev |grep -e 'td' -e 'Class' -e 'fc'
Character Block Driver Class
46 -1 netdiag1 unknown
142 -1 fcgsc_lan lan
143 -1 fcT1_cntl unknown
144 -1 fcp unknown
240 -1 td unknown

Additionally, we found this document, which should be helpful. http://www2.itrc.hp.com/service/cki/docDisplay.do?docLocale=en&admit=-1335382922+1190158866196+28353... I'll update the thread as more information is available, and I thank everyone for their input!
Honored Contributor
Sandman!
Posts: 2,220
Registered: ‎01-13-2005
Message 21 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

As it is a J5600...the software product you need is A5158A. Check out the URL below for the correct software product for your J5600 WS.

http://h20293.www2.hp.com/portal/swdepot/displayProductInfo.do?productNumber=A5158A

...and see the HBA driver support matrix below:

http://docs.hp.com/en/10260/FCI-SM-td3.htm
Honored Contributor
Tim Nelson
Posts: 3,727
Registered: ‎06-01-2000
Message 22 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

Back to your full circle comment.
Why did "A5158A B.11.00.10 PCI Tachyon TL/TS Fibre Channel" not install.

We need to troubleshoot why. Your swlist did not show the above product. If the above product is not installed then we will not be able to get the card to work.

Honored Contributor
Sandman!
Posts: 2,220
Registered: ‎01-13-2005
Message 23 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

>Tim:
Not full circle :-) as there are two s/w bundles available for the A5158A card. Just wanted to make sure that Brian downloaded the correct one as I suspect that this may be the reason why the s/w product is not getting installed.

~cheers
Frequent Advisor
Brian M Welch
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 24 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

Sandman,

The link that you specified points to a driver / depot bundle that started this thread. I verified the depot I have is identical to the one you link to using swlist -d @ /path/to/depot .

I have some ideas on the subject, but I'll reserve them until I am able to reboot this server. I'll make the changes tomorrow, and update this thread afterwards!

Again, thanks all for the input!
Frequent Advisor
Brian M Welch
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 25 of 25 (820 Views)

Re: Fibre Channel installation issue

UPDATE:

I figured the best thing to do would be to run swinstall, and mark the packages to be reinstalled. The process stops when changes to the Kernel are to be applied. We get an error -1, and an error -71, prompts us to abort.


Ok,

So, we figure, let's use swremove, and get rid of the bundle, and try it again, from the top. It gets to a point and prompts us to check other dependencies, and locks up. We have to kill the process because at this point, 99.9% of the cpu is being used by swremove.

To summarize, we can't reinstall. We can't remove. We can't manually make the changes in the Kernel to enable or modify the number of drivers.

Any input is still greatly appreciated!



The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.