Re: Autobooting vPARS (28 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
Pam Meyer
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
Message 1 of 6 (28 Views)
Accepted Solution

Autobooting vPARS

I'm looking for some opinions on autobooting vPARS.

I'm currently managing 2 rp7420's, each with 3 vPARS all running HP-UX 11iv1 (11.11). The two production vPARS (one on each 7420) use the internal disk for vg00, the other 4 vPARS (dev & test) use SAN-attached disk from an EVA6000 for their vg00s. Three of the 6 servers run Oracle Databases, and the other 3 servers run Oracle Applications mounted from the Database servers - I know, it's dumb, that is in the works to correct.

The servers are not located in a "real" datacenter - they are in a computer room in the company's building - so there is no generator power. And the building has had problems with power outages.

The vPARS are currently NOT configured to autoboot. And I'm wondering if it's a good idea to do so. Originally I thought yes, but after working with the environment for several months, I'm second-guessing that.

I'm looking for opinions on whether autoboot is a good idea for this environment.

Thanks in advance.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Johnson Punniyalingam
Posts: 2,246
Registered: ‎09-22-2008
Message 2 of 6 (28 Views)

Re: Autobooting vPARS

>>'m looking for opinions on whether autoboot is a good idea for this environment<<

personally, I wish to control my reboots, so I don't mess with auto-booting and autoboot options.
Problems are common to all, but attitude makes the difference
Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
BUPA IS
Posts: 236
Registered: ‎10-14-1997
Message 3 of 6 (28 Views)

Re: Autobooting vPARS

Hello,
Although it might be a pain if you are not around when the failure happens, in this circumstance I would stick with autoboot off since reboots caused by power glitches more often than not tend to leave things in mess.
Watching things come up means you can take evasive action sooner .

We had a similar problem in remote building.
they did not want the cost of going to a full UPS. We persuaded them that a dedicated feed to the computer room with a power conditioner which has a about a 30 to 60 second hold would be a viable and cheaper option. It allows the system to ride through the utility company switching events and spikes from things like the lift motors.
And so far we have not seen any of the server up and down nonsense we had before.

I hope this is of some help
Mike
Help is out there always!!!!!
Please use plain text.
Exalted Contributor
Steven E. Protter
Posts: 33,806
Registered: ‎08-15-2002
Message 4 of 6 (28 Views)

Re: Autobooting vPARS

Shalom,

If you want the systems to come up after an unexpected outage, you need to set them to autoboot.

Pretty simple vparmodify command.

But if there is a sudden loss of power the auto boot might not work.

This hardware likes a steady power supply. It might be prudent to get some store purchased UPS in there.

SEP
Steven E Protter
Owner of ISN Corporation
http://isnamerica.com
http://hpuxconsulting.com
Sponsor: http://hpux.ws
Twitter: http://twitter.com/hpuxlinux
Founder http://newdatacloud.com
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Javed Khan_1
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎05-29-2007
Message 5 of 6 (28 Views)

Re: Autobooting vPARS

Hi,

Also make sure that when you have set the auto boot flag fro vpar , you boot disk auto file sting should be

/stand/vpmon -a

This will load all vpar which has auto boot flag set.

Javed
Never Give Up
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
Pam Meyer
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
Message 6 of 6 (28 Views)

Re: Autobooting vPARS

Talked to the IS Director and because of the environment here, autoboot will not be used. Thanks for your input. :)
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation