Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help (678 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
peter_h
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Message 1 of 17 (678 Views)

Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

Hi,

I have an HP procurve 2650 that I need a little bit of help with.

I've set up a a test bench with a router, the HP switch and an access point. The access point has the ability to do multple SSID broadcasts and VLAN tagging.

What I am trying to do is broadcast 2 SSID's, one tagged and one untagged via the AP. The ap is then connected to the Procurve 2650.

From here is where I need help. The AP is in bridge mode and all the DHCP leases are handed out via the router. However, the router does not handle VLAN's.

I am trying to create a static route for the tagged data to the router. However this is not working. I can grab an IP and see the router as the gateway but I can not ping the router and the router can not ping me. However, I show up in the lease table.

can someone give some advice?
Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 2 of 17 (678 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

hi Peter
please send me swich sh run and sh route print

cenk
cenk

Occasional Advisor
peter_h
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Message 3 of 17 (678 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

I'm sorry, I'm not following. Do you want me to email it to you?
Valued Contributor
RicN
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
Message 4 of 17 (678 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help


I think what Cenk Sasmaztin wants you to do is to do a "show running-config" and save the result to a text-file, which you then attach here in the thread.

If you do that than we all can see the config and learn from the solution of your problem.
Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 5 of 17 (678 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

hi peter
please write

#show run

----command on switch and copy this print result on notepad
cenk

Occasional Advisor
peter_h
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Message 6 of 17 (678 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

Here is the running config

hostname
snmp-server contact
snmp-server location
ip default-gateway
ip routing
no timesync
snmp-server community "public" Unrestricted
vlan 1
name "DEFAULT_VLAN"
untagged 1-32,49-50

ip address 192.168.30.1 255.255.255.0
no untagged 33-48
exit
vlan 40
name "VLAN40"
ip address 192.168.40.1 255.255.255.0
ip helper-address 192.168.0.9
tagged 45-48
exit
vlan 50
name "Nomadix"
untagged 33-48
ip address 192.168.50.1 255.255.255.0
exit
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.0.9
no stack
password manager
password operator

192.168.0.9 is the IP of the router.
Vlan 40 is tagged, Vlan 50 is untagged.
AP is plugged into port 47. Router is plugged into port 48.

Nothing else is plugged in to any other port.
Occasional Advisor
peter_h
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Message 7 of 17 (678 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

Here is the running config

hostname
snmp-server contact
snmp-server location
ip default-gateway
ip routing
no timesync
snmp-server community "public" Unrestricted
vlan 1
name "DEFAULT_VLAN"
untagged 1-32,49-50

ip address
no untagged 33-48
exit
vlan 40
name "VLAN40"
ip address
ip helper-address
tagged 45-48
exit
vlan 50
name "router"
untagged 33-48
ip address
exit
ip route
no stack
password manager
password operator

is the IP of the router.
Vlan 40 is tagged, Vlan 50 is untagged.
AP is plugged into port 47. Router is plugged into port 48.

Nothing else is plugged in to any other port.
Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 8 of 17 (678 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

YOUR CONFÄ°G
hostname
snmp-server contact
snmp-server location
ip default-gateway
ip routing
no timesync
snmp-server community "public" Unrestricted
vlan 1
name "DEFAULT_VLAN"
untagged 1-32,49-50
ip address 192.168.30.1 255.255.255.0
no untagged 33-48
exit
vlan 40
name "VLAN40"
ip address 192.168.40.1 255.255.255.0
ip helper-address 192.168.0.9
tagged 45-48
exit
vlan 50
name "router"
untagged 33-48
ip address 192.168.50.1 255.255.255.0
exit
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.0.9
no stack
password manager
password operator


MY CONFÄ°G
*********PLEASE READ BE CAREFULL (WAY 1)*****************
where is the 192.168.0.0 network interface on switch
switch unreach this network very normaly
**********************************************************
*****please change vlan 50 ip address
for example 192.168.0.10/24
*********************************************************
**********************************************************
*****set up on access point device
ssid 1 for vlan 40 tagged
ssid 2 for vlan 50 untag
ssid 3 for vlan 1 tagged

and connect interface 47
**********************************************************

you can create multiple dhcp scobe on dhcp server
and dhcp server connect vlan 50 untag port
for example interface 33


dhcp server connect vlan 50
nic ip address 192.168.0.11
subnet mask 255.255.255.0
default gateway 192.168.0.10

create scobe
scobe 1 (for vlan1)range 192.168.30.60----200
255.255.255.0 route 192.168.30.1
scobe 2 (for vlan40)range 192.168.40.60----200
255.255.255.0 route 192.168.40.1
scobe 3 (for vlan50)range 192.168.40.60----200
255.255.255.0 route 192.168.0.10
**********************************************************
Ä°NTERNET ROUTER
you can must be static route command on internet router
for vlans

ip route 192.168.40.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.10
ip route 192.168.30.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.10

and connect router only vlan 50 untag port for example
interface 33

**********************************************************

my switch config

hostname
snmp-server contact
snmp-server location
ip default-gateway
ip routing
no timesync
snmp-server community "public" Unrestricted
vlan 1
name "DEFAULT_VLAN"
untagged 1-32,49-50
ip address 192.168.30.1 255.255.255.0
ip helper-address 192.168.0.11
tagged 47
no untagged 33-48
exit
vlan 40
name "VLAN40"
ip address 192.168.40.1 255.255.255.0
ip helper-address 192.168.0.11
tagged 47
exit
vlan 50
name "router"
untagged 33-48
ip address 192.168.0.10 255.255.255.0
exit
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.0.9
no stack
password manager
password operator
cenk

Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 9 of 17 (678 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

MY CONFIG

*************WAY 2**********
*********************************************************
my router config
create sub interface on router lan interface and for each sub interface one dhcp scobe cisco router connect interface 50

interface FastEthernet0/0
no ip address
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface FastEthernet0/0.1
encapsulation dot1Q 1 native
ip address 192.168.30.2 255.255.255.0
!
interface FastEthernet0/0.2
encapsulation dot1Q 40
ip address 192.168.40.2 255.255.255.0
!
interface FastEthernet0/0.3
encapsulation dot1Q 50
ip address 192.168.50.2 255.255.255.0
!

ip dhcp pool vlan1
network 192.168.30.0 255.255.255.0
default-router 192.168.30.1
ip dhcp pool vlan30
network 192.168.40.0 255.255.255.0
default-router 192.168.40.1
ip dhcp pool vlan50
network 192.168.50.0 255.255.255.0
default-router 192.168.50.1
!
line con 0
line vty 0 4
login
*********************************************************


*********************************************************
my switch config******
hostname
snmp-server contact
snmp-server location
ip default-gateway
no timesync
snmp-server community "public" Unrestricted
vlan 1
name "DEFAULT_VLAN"
untagged 1-32,49
tagget 50
ip address 192.168.30.1 255.255.255.0
no untagged 33-48
exit
cenk

Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 10 of 17 (678 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

vlan 40
name "VLAN40"
ip address 192.168.40.1 255.255.255.0
tagged 49,50
exit
vlan 50
name "router"
untagged 33-48
ip address 192.168.50.1 255.255.255.0
exit
tagged 49,50
***********************************************************
my access point config

*****set up on access point device
ssid 1 for vlan 40 tagged
ssid 2 for vlan 50 untag
ssid 3 for vlan 1 tagged

and connect interface 49
***********************************************************

good luck



cenk

Occasional Advisor
peter_h
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Message 11 of 17 (677 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

Thank you for the reply, it is much appreciated.

Unfortunately, I can not do scenario 2 as the router does not handle VLAN's.

Can you please elaborate on this part in Scenario 1?

"create scobe
scobe 1 (for vlan1)range 192.168.30.60----200
255.255.255.0 route 192.168.30.1
scobe 2 (for vlan40)range 192.168.40.60----200
255.255.255.0 route 192.168.40.1
scobe 3 (for vlan50)range 192.168.40.60----200
255.255.255.0 route 192.168.0.10
"

At this time, untagged VLAN 50 is working.

Tagged VLAN 40 is not.
Occasional Advisor
peter_h
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Message 12 of 17 (677 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

Here is new running config

hostname "ProCurve Switch 2650"
snmp-server contact
snmp-server location
ip default-gateway
ip routing
no timesync
snmp-server community "public" Unrestricted
vlan 1
name "DEFAULT_VLAN"
untagged 1-32,49-50
ip address
no untagged 33-48
exit
vlan 40
name "VLAN40"
ip address
ip helper-address
tagged 48
exit
vlan 50
name "router"
untagged 33-48
ip address
exit
ip route
no stack
password manager
password operator

router config
static route IP

AP is plugged into port xx, router into port xx.

As a note, VLAN 1 is not being used.
Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 13 of 17 (677 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

OK... SCENARIO ONE

***********************************************************
dhcp server connect vlan 50 untag port(int 34)
nic ip address 192.168.0.11
subnet mask 255.255.255.0
default gateway 192.168.0.10







"create scobe
scobe 1 (for vlan1)range 192.168.30.60----200
255.255.255.0 route 192.168.30.1
scobe 2 (for vlan40)range 192.168.40.60----200
255.255.255.0 route 192.168.40.1
scobe 3 (for vlan50)range 192.168.0.60----200
255.255.255.0 route 192.168.0.10


**********************************************************

my switch config

hostname
snmp-server contact
snmp-server location
ip default-gateway
ip routing
no timesync
snmp-server community "public" Unrestricted
vlan 1
name "DEFAULT_VLAN"
untagged 1-32,49-50
ip address 192.168.30.1 255.255.255.0
ip helper-address 192.168.0.11
tagged 47
no untagged 33-48
exit
vlan 40
name "VLAN40"
ip address 192.168.40.1 255.255.255.0
ip helper-address 192.168.0.11
tagged 47
exit
vlan 50
name "router"
untagged 33-48
ip address 192.168.0.10 255.255.255.0
exit
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.0.9
no stack
password manager
password operator
***********************************************************
ıNTERNET ROUTER
you can must be static route command on internet router
for vlans

ip route 192.168.40.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.10
ip route 192.168.30.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.10

and connect router only vlan 50 untag port for example
interface 33

*****************************************************

*********************************************************
*****set up on access point device
ssid 1 for vlan 40 tagged
ssid 2 for vlan 50 untag
ssid 3 for vlan 1 tagged

and connect interface 47
**********************************************************





cenk

Occasional Advisor
peter_h
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Message 14 of 17 (677 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

Hi, can this be done without a separate DHCP server? Meaning, can I use only the router?

Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 15 of 17 (677 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

you can must be create 3 dhcp scobe on router
is this possible for your router ?



cenk

Occasional Advisor
peter_h
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Message 16 of 17 (677 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

Hi,

I am not sure what a DHCP "scobe" is. Do you mean a scope?

I have the ability to add multiple DHCP pools.

Are you suggesting I create a separate DHCP pool per vlan?
Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 17 of 17 (677 Views)

Re: Procurve 2650 VLAN and IP Routing help

you can must be create multiple dhcp scobe on router for each vlan


dhcp scobe :
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/139904

example configuration cisco router on multiple dhcp scobe


nterface FastEthernet0/0.1
encapsulation dot1Q 1 native
ip address 192.168.30.2 255.255.255.0
!
interface FastEthernet0/0.2
encapsulation dot1Q 40
ip address 192.168.40.2 255.255.255.0
!
interface FastEthernet0/0.3
encapsulation dot1Q 50
ip address 192.168.50.2 255.255.255.0
!

ip dhcp pool vlan1
network 192.168.30.0 255.255.255.0
default-router 192.168.30.1
ip dhcp pool vlan30
network 192.168.40.0 255.255.255.0
default-router 192.168.40.1
ip dhcp pool vlan50
network 192.168.50.0 255.255.255.0
default-router 192.168.50.1
!
cenk

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.