Preventing Excessive Broadcasts (1543 Views)
Reply
Advisor
Seth Horila
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-09-2005
Message 1 of 6 (1,543 Views)

Preventing Excessive Broadcasts

My Network consists of primarily HP 5300xl switches. I have had an issue with other network domains on our WAN (external to my building and out of my control), that have caused disruption on my network due to excessive broadcasts. What measure do I take in preventing this from happening in the future? I am linked to the WAN by a gig fiber connection. No meshing. We utilize and share vlans across the WAN depending on what the use is. Each building is on its own data vlan.

Thanks
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Matt Hobbs
Posts: 1,555
Registered: ‎03-25-2002
Message 2 of 6 (1,543 Views)

Re: Preventing Excessive Broadcasts

You could try enabling the 'broadcast-limit' feature.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 3 of 6 (1,543 Views)

Re: Preventing Excessive Broadcasts

hi Seth
please you send me your 5300 show log print


cenk
cenk

Please use plain text.
Advisor
Seth Horila
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-09-2005
Message 4 of 6 (1,543 Views)

Re: Preventing Excessive Broadcasts

It appears that the excessive broadcasts were caused by a loop in two ports at another building. If I use broadcast limit, I suppose it might cause issue with Norton Ghost? Will using STP on the port that links my core switch up to the WAN help in this scenario? Here is one of the logs from my end switches.

W 05/16/08 07:56:17 FFI: port 49-Excessive Broadcasts. See help.
W 05/16/08 07:57:56 FFI: port 49-Excessive Broadcasts. See help.
W 05/16/08 08:00:09 FFI: port 49-Excessive Broadcasts. See help.
W 05/16/08 08:00:53 FFI: port 49-Excessive Broadcasts. See help.
W 05/16/08 08:02:32 FFI: port 49-Excessive Broadcasts. See help.
W 05/16/08 08:04:33 FFI: port 49-Excessive Broadcasts. See help.
W 05/16/08 08:04:55 FFI: port 49-Excessive Broadcasts. See help.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 5 of 6 (1,543 Views)

Re: Preventing Excessive Broadcasts

hi Seth
you make enable spanning tree on all network switch if you see same eror on your switches
you run protect-port command on edge switch.

stp some loops creations unaware ;stp trun of on switch bpdu packet dedect ,because not include bpdu loop packed on switch stp unaware this loop.And you see most excessive broadcast eror.

there fore you make on egde switch enable protect port command for other loops.


for example loop protect on 2600
2626(config)# loop-protect
disable-timer Set time in seconds to wait before attempting to
reenable a port.
[ethernet] PORT-LIST Specify the ports that are to be added to/removed from
loop protection.
transmit-interval Set time between packet transmissions.
trap Specify loop protection traps that are to be
enabled/disabled.
cenk

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Slow perfomance
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 6 of 6 (1,543 Views)

Re: Preventing Excessive Broadcasts

Guys need to check, user reporting slow performance on site. As per log do see too many CRC alignment errors.

port B4-Excessive CRC/alignment errors
port B4-Excessive CRC/alignment errors
port B4-Excessive CRC/alignment errors
port B4-Excessive CRC/alignment errors
port B4-Excessive CRC/alignment errors

Can this be the cause of the slow perfomance...Also, their is single switch onsite....
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation